We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive first visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Hotel Medicine Hat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Hotel Medicine Hat to your Saves list
Coast Hotel Medicine Hat
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3216 13th Ave SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Sherwood Park
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Impressive first visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I am often through "The Hat" and I have a regular hotel that I have visited over the years. I had not called ahead for a reservation but, as I was driving past this hotel, I was drawn in by their proud proclamation on their sign out front, "2014 Housekeeping Award". I swung into the parking lot and as I entered the lobby, I was greeted by two very friendly front desk staff. This property is very serious about smoking. I have never been a smoker so I didn't mind signing a separate form at check in, stating that I agree to pay a $200.00 surcharge if I smoked in my room. No big deal other than I also faced a 9" x 12" sign in my room stating that, "Smoking on the premises will result in immediate cancellation of a guest's room!" And let's not forget that $200.00 fine. No big deal for me but, smokers beware. I really do not have a negative other than perhaps to point out that the curtains are made out of diaphanous material and if you are sleeper that requires darkness to slumber, this may be a drawback on the longest day of the year when it stays light until 10:45pm. The hallways reminded me of my grandmother's house, that slight hint of bleach combined with the smell of age that comes from an older property. The room was definitely clean. The bed had just the right amount of firmness and was replete with four very large pillows, perfect for sitting up in bed and finishing paper work. I slept like a baby. The rate was $30.00 below my usual hotel and that was without using the Coast loyalty card. The continental breakfast is a moderate affair with various pastry items each wrapped individually. For my stay there was no fresh fruit available. I will visit them again when I am next through Medicine Hat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
17
14
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We checked into our room late Saturday evening. The first thing we saw was a hotel staff member walking across the lobby in bare feet. I thought he was a lifeguard--but the hotel doesn't have a pool. Guests from a wedding party were smoking, drinking, and fighting in the parking lot. My husband who is in law enforcement found this to be a very uncomfortable situation. The room was clean, and you can tell that they are trying to make this a nice hotel. We stayed in a room right next to two double doors that opened and closed early into the morning. The hotel did quiet down though around 12:30 am. We had booked the government rate of $109.00 for a double room. At checkout we were charged $129.00, and told that was the government rate. It is clean but not quite worth $149.00 a night. Guests should also be aware that it is next to a nightclub, although our issue seemed to be with obnoxious wedding guests and not the nightclub patrons.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderhoof, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had our two labrador retrievers with us when we stayed overnight in Medicine. They charged a $10 fee for the room to have pets and the front desk staff were very welcoming. Beds were comfortable.The continental breakfast included yogurt and a fruit salad, plus french toast that you could heat up in the toaster. There was noise in the hall at about 2 am by some people that didn't seem to understand what time it was, but other than that, we slept well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at this location from Apr 18-20,2014 during a visit to relatives and have stayed there during each visit and will continue to do so. The hospitality and service of the front desk staff is #1. When we booked in we had problems with the heat in the room as well as the cleaning carried out by the cleaning staff the next day ie: dirty coffee cups and wine glasses, no coffee and towels not disposed of. We discussed this with the fromt desk clerk who advised this staff member was new and she would bring it to the attention of her boss and in the meantime moved us from a normal room to a jacuzzi suite at no added cost. In addition my wife had lost a ring that was precious to her and was uncertain if took it on the trip or not and when we returned home a call was waitting for us that it had been found and they would send it to us. My hat off to the front desk staff as there service is #1 and in general the Hotel is very clean and neat and this service from the cleaning staff was certainly not the norm. They know how to look after the clients and my HAT OFF TO YOU.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Rooms were old and average at best. Pukey coloured paint on the walls with tacky pictures on them. Bathroom was TINY and cramped. The big heavy lady at the front desk was very crabby and rude. There was no microwave in the room and had to unplug a lamp to plug the fridge in. Not enough electrical outlets. Curtains were very thin and the light came right through the room forcing me to wake up at 5 AM. That's the part I hated the most. Do not stay in a room at this place if the window faces east. Room was VERRRRY stuffy and I felt like I was suffocating. Rooms were clean however. Restaurant and bar were closed for renovations at the time so I can't comment on those.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

great reception
room was immediately upgraded
great lobby, location
very lovely paintings on the walls
spa in lower level
great breakfast area for all
certainly a great place to relax after a busy day.
the rooms are great in decor

Room Tip: nice jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at the Coast for 3 nights stayed on the bottom floor, room 212, the room was dated but clean. Bed was horrible and you could hear every sound made in the hallway and outside. Hotel is walking distance to a few great restaurants and Tim Hortons across the street. The continental breakfast is usual toast, muffins, cereal etc. - the coffee was good enough that I didn't bother going across the street to Timmy's. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Price per night was on the cheaper side compared to other hotels in the area. I would stay here again but only for one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Days Inn - Medicine Hat
Days Inn - Medicine Hat
#1 of 18 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#6 of 18 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
0.1 mi away
Imperial Motor Inn
Imperial Motor Inn
#10 of 18 in Medicine Hat
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country
#8 of 18 in Medicine Hat
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Hotel Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Hotel Medicine Hat

Address: 3216 13th Ave SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coast Hotel Medicine Hat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have 32" Flat Screen TV, Free in room coffee, Iron, Local Cable. Newley Decorated rooms, Great rates, Group Rates Available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coast Hotel Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Medicine Hat Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Hotel Medicine Hat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.