We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I ever stayed at” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Hotel Medicine Hat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Hotel Medicine Hat to your Saves list
Coast Hotel Medicine Hat
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3216 13th Ave SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I ever stayed at”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Rooms were old and average at best. Pukey coloured paint on the walls with tacky pictures on them. Bathroom was TINY and cramped. The big heavy lady at the front desk was very crabby and rude. There was no microwave in the room and had to unplug a lamp to plug the fridge in. Not enough electrical outlets. Curtains were very thin and the light came right through the room forcing me to wake up at 5 AM. That's the part I hated the most. Do not stay in a room at this place if the window faces east. Room was VERRRRY stuffy and I felt like I was suffocating. Rooms were clean however. Restaurant and bar were closed for renovations at the time so I can't comment on those.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
15
11
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

great reception
room was immediately upgraded
great lobby, location
very lovely paintings on the walls
spa in lower level
great breakfast area for all
certainly a great place to relax after a busy day.
the rooms are great in decor

Room Tip: nice jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at the Coast for 3 nights stayed on the bottom floor, room 212, the room was dated but clean. Bed was horrible and you could hear every sound made in the hallway and outside. Hotel is walking distance to a few great restaurants and Tim Hortons across the street. The continental breakfast is usual toast, muffins, cereal etc. - the coffee was good enough that I didn't bother going across the street to Timmy's. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Price per night was on the cheaper side compared to other hotels in the area. I would stay here again but only for one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Very easy to get to, close to the highway. Lots of restaurants around and easy to get to. We stayed in room 202 and it was right beside the laundry chute, so we heard the banging start at 6am, which was irritiating, so we didn't get a great sleep. Check out was at 11am, and we were just getting ready to leave at 11:05 and we get a call from the front desk saying that check out was 11am, why are we still in the room. This person wasn't very pleasant to say the least. When we went downstairs 2 minutes later, there was no one at the front desk for us to check out! That ruined the whole expericence for us for sure.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 202 - right by the laundry chute - banging starts at 6am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was glad we only had booked to stay one night, the room was ok nothing special, and we had to carry our suit cases up the stairs, we were offered a ground floor room but the comment was made that the rooms are nicer up stairs. The restaurant was closed and the hotel was out of town. The motel next door seem to have some undesirables staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Quite outdated room with old beds and pillows. Ended up eating breakfast elsewhere due to the limited options when we were there. Very small bathroom. Noise carried easily through the halls. The small desk made it extremely difficult to work. All in all, nothing really to complain about if you just need a bed for the night, but definitely nothing more than the basics.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very similar experience to Hughdillon's review of August 2013. Continental breakfast pleasant surprise. Credit union ATM, Co-op store and gas station close by. Convenient location. Room bit "tired". Overall enjoyable stay. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Hotel Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Hotel Medicine Hat

Address: 3216 13th Ave SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coast Hotel Medicine Hat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have 32" Flat Screen TV, Free in room coffee, Iron, Local Cable. Newley Decorated rooms, Great rates, Group Rates Available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Coast Hotel Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Medicine Hat Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Hotel Medicine Hat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.