We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXPENSIVE!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Strachan Bay SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4Y2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had to pay over 200.00plus tax for a King sized bed. (NOT a suite.) The staff was very friendly and the location was good. It was also clean which is a plus. But overall very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Medicine Hat. I am unable to check the dates of your stay without your name information. Our rates do fluctuate with the demand in the city. You may have stayed with us during a time that was very busy. I appreciate the feedback on our property and am happy you were pleased with the cleanliness, breakfast and our staff. Should you like to discuss this further please call the property to see if you received any discounts that were applicable at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    56
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
16
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great hotel and Excellent room. Pool area was great and there was a lifeguard as well. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Had a suite and it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I like staying at the holiday inn. The staff are quite friendly, the breakfast was very good and most importantly the rooms were quiet, clean and spacious. The location is also quite close to dining and shopping. One thing that does concern me though is the price of the rooms. They are costly for a property like this and to be honest I think it is at least 30% too high. There are other new-ish hotels very close by which are far less expensive which may make me consider my options in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Several times we have stayed at the Holiday inn express in Medicine Hat. We have three children and have found the hotel to be very accommodating to us as a family.

Key points for us is the cleanliness of the entire facility, especially the rooms. Secondly the breakfast is enjoyable and a perfect setup for us. We have not always used the waterslide and pool, but the times we have it is a lot of fun (but a little cold)

Our last trip was December 17th and the staff was very accommodating with setup of two real cribs, provided by the hotel. This was a nice surprise as most hotels only have the "pack and play's".

For the area it’s probably on the higher end of $, but for consistently providing a nice stay we have not looked elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

In keeping with their HI Express reputation, the property was perfect for an overnighter. Close to shopping, restaurants and Trans Canada Highway #1. Only thing that peeved us off was the pool was closed a wee bit early for my liking. One does like to have a hot tub after a day on the road.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK. Highway noise is minimal on the Highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I stayed one night in the hotel. It follows the HI Express usual good standards except when I lifted the clock radio up it (and the table it was on) had quite a lot of sticky substance on it, plus the cord was frayed with the wire showing. Needless to say I unplugged it.

Room Tip: If you plug in the address to your GPS, you end up at a Days Inn about 2 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I've not had a problem with any of the rooms that I've had over the past few years. Everything has been clean and functioning. The Holiday Inn Express breakfast is good with me. I find the staff friendly and helpful. The excerise room is basic and is what you would expect in a small hotel. I do agree that this location does charge much more than the other Holiday Inn Express hotels that I use in Alberta and Saskatchewan.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat

Address: 9 Strachan Bay SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Medicine Hat Alberta s newest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites.. You will find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Medicine Hat. Located just off the Trans Canada Hwy #1 across from the Medicine Hat Mall and only 5 minutes from the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede grounds. You are within easy walking distance from the brand new Southland Crossing shopping and dining area. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Medicine Hat is 10 minutes from Medicine Hat's Historic Clay District and Medicine Hat's newest golf course, Desert Blume. Enjoy a swim in our crystal-clear pool, blast down our water slide, or relax in our whirlpool. Burn some energy in our fitness center and help melt the stress away. When it s time to get connected we know what you need high-speed wired and wireless Internet, cable, sports and movie channels. Start your day with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast, with 57 different items and now 2 hot items each day. From standard rooms to kitchenettes to executive Jacuzzi rooms, KidSuites and our Deluxe Southland Suite-with a board room, we can accommodate any traveler s needs visiting Medicine Hat, Alberta! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Medicine Hat Hotel Medicine Hat
Holiday Inn Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Medicine Hat
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Medicine Hat Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.