We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cheesecake Cafe

Cheesecake Cafe
2030 Strachan Road S.E., Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4J8, Canada
+1 403-487-5800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 164 Restaurants in Medicine Hat
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Premier Destination Dining in Medicine Hat. Full Service Menu with over 75 items. Dessert is our specialty so save some room.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I arrived at the restaurant around 8:45 pm looking for a bite to eat. We decided on the Chefs Salad. Our waitress suggested that because of the size of the salad we should have the lunchtime portion. The Chefs salad was very good, but, when we received the bill I noticed that we were charged $14.30 each. The regular size I believe was $16.95. The restaurant was closing at 10:00 pm and we felt very rushed by the staff. Overall, we felt slightly ripped off, therefore, We will not be back to this establishment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    15
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Albertan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Kids enjoy it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We arrived before six, appies are 1/2 price, so deep fried pickles x2 for the table. Kids were pretty happy.

Meals were pleasant.

Cheesecake is dear, at around $8 a slice it adds up quick, the pieces are huge, and everyone wants a different flavour, would be nice if they offered smaller pieces.
Eldest daughter wanted a particular flavour and was told it was sold out, however there was a whole one in the showcase of that flavour? ???

Kids like though, so it is a nice place to go as a family,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Undecided....... for now”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Have eaten here four times since it opened. Three times under the old owners and once under the new owners. The server we had (sorry forgot her name) has been with the store since it opened. Service was very good; service time was REALLY fast even at a moderately busy time. We didn't have cheese cake just dinner; my wife's Caesar salad although it looked great tasted watered down and my pasta again looked great but was kind of blah. We were seated quickly when we arrived but to a booth where the table top finish was all wearing away the kind of condition you would find at a local pub or bar not from a relatively newer restaurant that I believe is not even a year old yet, kind of a turn off from the get go.

So, not a really bad experience but nothing that left us saying "that was really good we should go again real soon" leaving us undecided........for now.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“TERRIBLE AWEFUL SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

went here and the restaurant was completely empty except for 2 people eating..... i waited at the front of the store (loudly) for 15 minutes to be seated.... waitstaff walked by me 3 times and i never got seated. I left and went across the street to Tony Roma's and had an awesome meal there.


WILL NEVER GO BACK AND WILL TELL EVERYONE I KNOW NOT TO GO AWFUL

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Albertan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

...not a shining star but everyone went home happy. The cheesecake is great , and plenty ample enough to share and then some. They were super accommodating in finding out what might or might not have nut allergens.

Our supper entrees were satisfying, just not wow. Likely this is the chain and not the individual restaurant.
We will certainly return for cheesecake.

Waitress was great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheesecake Cafe also viewed

Medicine Hat, Alberta
Medicine Hat, Alberta
 
Medicine Hat, Alberta
 

Been to Cheesecake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheesecake Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.