We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Local Public Eatery

Local Public Eatery
579 3rd Street, Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-487-5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 151 Restaurants in Medicine Hat
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: kind of like your living room, just with better food and people to serve you beer. …fanatical about craft beer and rotating new selections every day
Brooklin, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Local has a fantastic patio, with some great food selections! The restaurant inside looks like a nice atmosphere as well. The service was okay (servers bringing food to the wrong tables on the patio numerous times). The beer wasn't cold, and water was served at room temp without ice. The burger and fries were great! I would return for the food and the patio!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great find in Medicine Hat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We were on a cross Canada trip and had stopped in Medicine Hat. We picked this place from Trip Advisor. It was the perfect place. It was like a trendy Toronto pub located in Medicine Hat. They had a great beer selection although the food menu was a bit limited. We decided on the burgers and they were amazing. Make sure you order the yam fries on the side. Service was excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“18% service charge for sitting at the bar????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Myself and 3 of my friends were out for a few drinks last Saturday afternoon and came across the local. We took our seats at the bar and had a few beers, great choice of beers it was to. We decided to have some bars snacks, chicken wings and things. When we got our bills to leave there was an 18 % service charge on our bill????? Not 18% on our food but our overall bill, so basically charged for being served beer???? To top things of when paying the bill the bar tender had the ordasity to ask if we wanted our 6$ each change thinking he was getting a tip........... Get little bar with good food but people need to be made aware of the cheeky service charge for not really getting service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We ate here for my son's birthday. Staff was friendly and the food was good. I had the steak sandwich with fries, the fries were not the best that I have had as they were crisp even with gravey. I would go back just not order the fries.
The signs on the restrooms where a little confusing. Had to check them twice to make sure I went to the men's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A Nice change for Medicine Hat to have a great Pub/restaurant downtown! Friendly servers, simple menu, great food, and many Beers on tap!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Public Eatery also viewed

Medicine Hat, Alberta
Medicine Hat, Alberta
 

Been to Local Public Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local Public Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.