We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs serious makeover. But a GREAT POOL!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Redcliff Drive South-west | Alberta, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5E5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs serious makeover. But a GREAT POOL!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night with two kids and a dog. It is pet friendly. The rooms are small and dated and the carpet was green and old. The bathroom fan sounded like a jet engine. The counter was new and clean but the other parts of the bathroom were so old, probably impossible to clean. Walls and floors were dirty. The pool is great for kids and the attendant was scrubbing the windows and walls, I wish this much attention was given to the rest of the hotel. The breakfast....hmmm. Pretty basic.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha09786, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us Yes we are up grading the hotel

Hope to see you again


Marsha Perchaluk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    32
    27
    23
See reviews for
57
16
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The pool area was fantastic, my five year old had so much fun. The waterslide and baby pool were great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha09786, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thanks for your comments glad the kids like the pool and slide , they do have fun

Hope to see you again


Marsha Perchaluk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, On
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sorry to say but this place is very very dated. Nothing new about it at all. The positives were; the staff were very helpful and friendly, the waterslide was a plus with our grandson and what I liked most about the continental breakfast was the room - very spacious although dated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha09786, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your commnets on the hotel

Yes we are updating our rooms and the pool is great

hope to see you again

Marsha Perchaluk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparwood
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel appears modern on the outside and in the lobby. But once you get to the room that opinion changes. Rooms are dated. Updates have been done poorly. Beds are like sheets of plywood. On a plus the note the Waterpark is great. Will not stay here again though.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha09786, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay at the hotel , Glad to see that you Injoyed the water park ,


Marsha Perchaluk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have found on previous trips that we need to check the room before we check in...we did in this case and thought it was alright.

didn't start to find problems with it until we were already in the room....

this is NOT a NO SMOKING Hotel....we were close to whereever it is that you were aloud to smoke and found that the door that accessed the hotel had the smell of smoke coming under it...and then we opened the door ..as we wanted to find the ice machine, we were overwhelmed with stall smoke...it was unreal...
We are reformed smoker and this was quite disgusting.

then we started noticing little things...the mini fridge didn't really open as it got stuck on the carpet....and it didn't really keep anything cool let alone cold.

the microwave was unplugged, my husband plugged it in even though we weren't planning on using it. We found out in the middle of the night WHY it was unplugged as it went off at 4 in the morning....not sure why you would have a timer that would go off hours after being plugged in but it did.

We had a free breakfast here, as seems to be the norm these days, but we had a hard time finding where it was being served. We had been told the night before to go to this certain door..outside the building which we did, when we got there we found that the door was locked. Checked out a few others doors before going back to the front desk and asking WHERE the breakfast room was located....which ended up being across the way from the front desk, down a hallway, past the pool...I think...it smelled like pool.....up some stairs down another long hallway and then to the FORMER BAR and RESTAURANT...which was where the FIRST door we had tried was....

we mentioned to the woman working there that we had tried that door, and she told us that that door was NEVER UNLOCKED...seemed odd that the personnel working the front desk didn't know this. and IF that is the case WHY wasn't there a sign on the door tell folks where to do to be able to enter this part of the HOTEL....glad it was WINTER...

The breakfast room...TOO...had seen better days....not sure WHEN those were, but it was rather depressing...and very uncomfortable chairs...which I moved around until I found one that wasn't as uncomfortable.

Once we were done we had the long walk BACK to our room which was a wing of the hotel...we didn't dare walk through the smoke smelling hallway to try and find the breakfast room...we probably would still be looking...or have succumbed to the smoke....

Can't remember what else was wrong with the place, but it certainly HAD seen better days...the best thing that could have been done for the place was to put a match to it....it certainly was no comparison to the Best Westerns that we stayed in after that...unfortunately, this was poor planning on our part, we should have looked harder for a best western here....

Also found the staff at the front desk, couldn't see you when you came in, so we had to get their attention in order to check in.
Also the first person that was waiting on us, took a phone call just as she started to help us, and rather than put that person on hold continued to talk to them and ignored us...and then the other person working on the desk finally helped us.

Turns out the first clerk was talking to the owner saying how many reservations they had, etc...they were about to loose the one standing in front of them..was our opinion...guess we should have gone with our instincts and left right then....but we didn't.

So BEWARE....this is NOT the luxury home away from home place to stay....or better than home...to stay....

Room Tip: Look some place else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha09786, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I would like to thank you for yur comments on your stay at the hotel, I can not look up any information on your stay , because I have no Information on the comments I need a last name and the day you stayed with us .


Marsha Perchaluk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel was dated and the rooms were tattered...carpet lifting, stains on carpet, old duvets....

The real problems for me was that despite listing a fitness facility, it was closed for maintenance and other options were not made available. If a hotel advertises an amenity, it should inform the client that this amenity is not available due to renovations or other factors when the client is booking.

The other issue was that after checking in and waiting for my colleauge, the reception staff was walking around spraying this horrible and obnoxious "room freshner". I am not particularly scent sensitive (but many are), but this gave me a strong headache.

Will never stay here again, and certainly will not recommend it either.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha09786, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments on the hotel
Yes we are updateing all the rooms in the hotel and undergoing some delays in some areas of the hotel . Hope to see you again




Marsha Perchaluk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat

Address: 1100 Redcliff Drive South-west | Alberta, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5E5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat you will find all 85 of our guest rooms to be clean, confortable and easy on your wallet. We have many amenities to ensure you feel like you are at your "home away from home". From out indoor waterpark with waterslide, hot tub and kiddies wading pool, we are suited for all your travel requirements, from business, to teams and just for that special weekend getaway. We now have Bad Land Bar and Grill working with us to have a Full Breakfast Buffet in our Restaurant. Hours in the Restaurant 6:30am-10:00am Monday to Friday,6:am to 11am Saturday and Sundays. Come and Relax in the New lounge Bar 403.Great food, great staff great fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Medicine Hat
Travelodge Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Travel Lodge
Medicine Hat Travelodge
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.