We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country
722 Redcliff Drive SW, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5E3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Medicine Hat
Brooks, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Amazing service and friendliness. Hot Tub and Pools very accessible. Workout room and dry sauna difficult to find despite sign, worth the search. Small dorm-size room, but comfortable., Breakfast :-).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplussc, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for staying with us. I am pleased you found our services friendly and our facilities comfortable. We look forward to your next visit with us soon. Maybe next time we can have you try one of our larger room types with vaulted ceilings and large living area.

Until then, thank you from our entire team at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country Medicine Hat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    65
    41
    19
    10
See reviews for
51
45
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is one of the strangest Best Westerns I have ever stayed in. First of all, the place is a maze. It seems like every time they needed a couple more rooms, they just added them. The hallways go up and down and around and have ramps and stairs all over the place.

The hallways were dated. My room was half updated and half from the 70's. It was nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was really good and had a selection of hot and cold foods. I would have liked some fruit other than bruised apples and bananas.

The Wifi is strong and I was able to stream movies on NetFlix and get some work done. The age of the place shows in little things like noisy pipes and varying water pressure and temperature.

I think this hotel knows that the facility isn't quite as nice as some of the newer Best Westerns. As a result, they charge less (I paid $50 less than I normally pay at a Best Western) and they make an extra effort to be friendly and helpful. Every staff member I encountered was a pleasure to interact with. Their customer service, low price, and cleanliness make this a place I would stay in again.

Room Tip: Other reviewers here seem to indicate that some of the rooms have been modernized. I would ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplussc, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Let me start by saying yes we do have a very unique property here. We have grown from 30 rooms to 122 with 3 different add-ons over the years. This being said we do have some areas that are more updated that others but we will soon be working towards yet another renovation in the near future to bring all rooms up to date.

Certainly glad to hear you found our rooms clean and the beds comfortable as well as the breakfast enjoyable. We are proud of our unique little hotel and the services we provide so it brings us great joy to hear you found us a pleasure to interact with.

We look forward to your next visit with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Hotel is a good deal for your dollar, clean, two pools, exercise room, ect. But the real treat is when you go down in the morning for a hot breakfast, they offer cereal,toast,sweed baked goods,eggs,susage, waffels,and Gordon Robertson.
Gordon greets you with a big smile and " how are you!" and if you look at him you will notice that he is listing and interested in what you say. Gordon will give you history of the town and all of the great places to go. Gordon will get you maps and you can tell that he is proud of his town and realy loves to help people. I have spent many nights in hotels and the Gordon's of the world are the ones that make your day start off as best as it can. If you ever get the chance to get to Medicine Hat trust me Gordon is worth the stop

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplussc, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our property. Gordon, our breakfast bar attendant truly is a joy to have around. His personality and willingness to go out of his way to make our guests feel welcome and taken care of is nothing short of paramount. I will be sure to personally deliver your comments onto him which I am sure he will be most humbled by.

Again, thank you for your review and of course for your business. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you are travelling the Trans Canada this is a good place to stop. All hotels on our route (Calgary to Regina) seem expensive. This is a typical highway chain - standard, clean rooms (we have stayed 2 times). A couple of small pools. Breakast buffet very adequate. We found the staff very friendly and we slept well. One of the attractions is the Tumbleweed restaurant next door (see separate review). You are close to the highway but not disturbed by it. We would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplussc, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay with us! I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us and fellow Trip Advisor users your feedback. Your comments and concerns are very important to us and most certainly appreciated. We look forward to one day welcoming you back to our hotel on your next journey across Alberta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Overnighted for one night with 4 people and booked via a travel site. The $120/night was pretty pricey and the room was small and cramped. We parked at the back but ended up moving the car to the front well-lit lot. The room was on a long hallway which was loud until midnight and then noisy again very early in the morning when the cleaners started getting supplies ready. Beds were OK except for the small pill pillows - who thinks this is a good idea? Front desk staff were very good, and the guy handling breakfast was fantastic! Overall an average hotel at best - but overpriced for what we got.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It's the only BEST WESTERN in Medicine Hat!

It's the best hotel on this site of Medicine Hat and it certainly benefits from the shortcomings of it's nearby competition. If you need to be on this side of the Hat this hotel is a no brainer. Just make sure you pay to stay in the newer part of the facility as the older part is a maze of hallways, the pool area is dim and well suited to 70's themed parties. The older rooms are clean but they need reno's as they are dated and some of the bathrooms are in very poor shape, loose floor tiles, claustrophobic shower enclosures.

Last two times I stayed at this property I stayed in the one of the upgraded rooms on the east (front) side of the building with a jacuzzi. After filling the tub and firing up the jets the wierd brown foam and scum bubbles convinced me a shower was a better choice.

Staff are great and the rates are reasonable. Definately a diamond in the rough on this side of the Hat!

Room Tip: UPGRADE! The older wing is rough and needs updating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country

Address: 722 Redcliff Drive SW, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
122 rooms including 25 Jacuzzi Suites. Free deluxe continental breakfast, two indoor pools and whirlpools, fitness room, 24hr business centre, free airport shuttle, guest laundry, free parking, in room movie & Nintendo system, fridges in all rooms, microwaves in most, in room coffee, free morning newspaper and free local calls. Close to Shopping, Dinning, Museum, Bowling, Parks, Golfing, Hospital, CFB Suffield and Cypress Hills Provincial Park. Visit us at the intersection of TransCanada Highway & 7th St SW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sun Country Hotel Medicine Hat
Best Western Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country Medicine Hat, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.