We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese run Japanese” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Makisu Sushi

Makisu Sushi
1517 Mayor Magrath Drive South, Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 218 Restaurants in Lethbridge
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Chinese run Japanese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

If you're looking for lots of Japanese, this is the place. It's a good value for the big eater. The food is relatively tasty and ordering on the menus is easy. My daughter bristles when the help is Chinese and not Japanese (what, people think all Asians look alike to us?).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great choice and food for all you can eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Came here for the lunch special and had a great choice, at 1st wasnt sure on how the fish would be but everything was great quality and bigger portions too.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusted”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The place was dirty and really messy. I was able to see in the kitchen and watched a man scratch his head over the rice pot as he was dishing it out. Wish I did not see that as I had already eaten. Food was poor. Suggest you go to another place for sushi. I will not go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ipad menus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I thought the ipad menu was a great idea. Good sushi for the area Vancouver has way better. I have nod had anything there that I didn't like

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Great Selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I absolutely love Makisu Sushi! This all you can eat sushi place offers a huge selection of options, including the chance to order a single coin of sushi at a time. This is great for people who are learning what they want.

Their ginger beef is the best in the City (sorry Hong Kong Gardens) and you must try their crunchy mango sushi.

Only go if you have time though so you can order a little at a time, find what you like, etc. Trying to go during a single lunch hour will be difficult. I love going with friends for a long lunch. At $15 for lunch, it is a steal!

Everyone must try this restaurant!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makisu Sushi also viewed

Lethbridge, Alberta
Lethbridge, Alberta
 

Been to Makisu Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makisu Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.