We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average first impression” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Econo Lodge & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge & Suites
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1124 Mayor Magrath Dr S, Lethbridge, Alberta T1K 2P8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Trips, 1 Night Free*
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Lethbridge
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average first impression”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My kids and I stayed in Lethbridge for one night at the Econo Lodge. It was our first time staying there. I had called one month prior to reserve a room, and had one reserved with two beds, non smoking. We arrived around noon the day of our stay, and I thought i'd check in early, not necesarily to get into our room, but that we'd be returning later that night. The lady at the front desk said their computer was having issues, but it would be no problem checking in later. Well, we returned about 9 PM and was informed by the replacement staff that their computers were on the brink, and they double booked.After waiting to see what they would do, we were given the suite room, with a queen bed and roll out couch. My daughter slept on the couch, and wasnt impressed. The security chain on the door was ripped off, and there was a few stray hairs here and there, but the beds were very clean. For the price (they gve it to us for regular price) it was acceptable. The breakfast was good(muffins, bagels,etc.) if you didnt mind sitting on the lap of others in the cramped room. I would stay here again,if I needed a short one night stay. Oh, and the parking is perfect...for a very little car. The U-shaped lot is perfect for hit and runs.

Room Tip: The balcony walkway echoes throughout the upstairs rooms in stereo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis1979, General Manager at Econo Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear jcsch,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize for the issues that you encountered during your last stay. We are under a new management team and would love to make up for the unprofessionalism you experienced on your last stay. Thank you again and we hope that if ever in the area you will give us another try. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Kindest Regards,

Michael Davis
General Manager
Econolodge Lethbridge
1 403 328 5591
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
5
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
REGINA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I almost always review hotels before I go, but this time I didn't and I've learned my lesson. The front lobby is clean and inviting and front desk staff was friendly, that's where the pleasantries end. The room was run down, walls need to be repaired and washed or repainted, bathroom in serious need of repair, tub floor was permastained (we didn't shower), around the toilet needed to be scrubbed. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean, so at least we got a decent nights sleep. The location is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If I could give this Hotel a lower rating I would. The room was disgustingly dirty; it had an odor of stale air and body odor. The shower had dried on shampoo or bodywash on the shelf. If you walked around the room in bare feet you would leave footprints in the shower in the morning, that is how dirty the carpet was. These things my wife and I could work around but when we started finding bite marks on our bodies and then found FLEAS, yes fleas in the room that was the final straw. We checked out immediately. All I can say is that I am glad that we were not the one paying for the room, the company I work for was, and they have said that they will never book another room from this hotel or its affiliates ever again, same goes for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was one of the dirtiest rooms I've stayed in. As soon as you walked in the door the smell was bad. The carpet was dirty and cobwebs in the bathroom. The bed spread did not smell clean.
I would tell everyone not to stay there.Mold around the bathtub.

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Location:
The Econo Lodge and Suites in Lethbridge is located a little outside the city center in a typical motel/ shop/ fast food area. This motel offers both ordinary rooms and suites. It is recommended to arrive by car. The motel is easy to access from this mainroad. Even is the motel is located close to this road we were not disturbed by traffic noise.

Service:
The service was good and we were well greeted. We got good information about breakfast and admin stuff. The front desk ladies were very helpful and paid good attention to our requests.

Rooms:
The room was spacious and nice. They had discrete and modern furniture and decorations. There was a fridge and a microwave. The room also had two sinks. One in the bathroom corner and one in the separate room with toilet and shower. The room had a modern flat screen tv with a good selection of tv channels. It was possible to open the window and that was good because the aircondition was a little noisy during night time.

Breakfast was regular "motel breakfast".

Surrounding areas:
The hotel is a few minutes drive from downtown. There are plenty of options for food and also some shops in the area. We took a walk in the evening and we felt safe and secure.

We truely recommend the Econo Lodge and Suites in Lethbridge. We have been staying at several motels during our trip and this one felt like above average. We felt we got good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Nice centrally located hotel with clean rooms, all amenities for a short stay and a decent continental breakfast. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

At $104 the room was over priced, then to walk in and find beat up furniture, grout missing from around tiles in the bathroom, an undersized AC unit for the room, a fridge leaking water onto the floor the smell of cigarette smoke at the doorway, very disappointing. Unfortunately, we were too tired and it was too late in the day to keep shopping for rooms, but we won't be back. Disappointed with the Choice Hotel brand.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Address: 1124 Mayor Magrath Dr S, Lethbridge, Alberta T1K 2P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Lethbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Lethbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Canada, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lethbridge
Lethbridge Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge & Suites Lethbridge, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.