We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Scenic Drive, Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 4B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Lethbridge
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just an average stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This property is in a good location and I was comfortable enough with my stay here, however, I believe the rooms are in need of a makeover, they are not up to the standard of similar properties I have stayed at. The staff were friendly particularly in the botaniCa restaurant where I had dinner and the buffet breakfasts.Overall I can only rate it as average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and providing a wonderful review of the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre during your recent visit. We appreciate the feedback our guests provide and we were certainly thrilled to read your review.

Thank you for acknowledging the friendliness and caring service of our employees. We believe they are the "lifeblood" of our business. We recognize that the hotel has become a bit dated in appearance and we have plans to improve on this in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lethbridge Lodge.

Sincere regards,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    68
    73
    47
    51
See reviews for
84
45
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the lodge. We visit lethbridge quite a bit but usually stay with friends. This time because I was taking a course I rented a hotel. When we visit our friends, we always hit up the Sunday brunch at the lethbridge lodge. I have always been impressed with the bunch, the hotel lobby & staff, as well they have a really cool court yard with plants, a pool and a bar. So I figured, it’s familiar, it SEEMS nice, I booked it.
Pros
Great location if you are visiting, located right on the coulee with access to lots of hiking trails. Also close to down town & restaurants.
Good Beds, with clean sheets and duvets (so happy about that, but funny because the bed stuck out like a sore thumb in the grubby hotel room)
Hot complimentary breakfast is quite impressive.
They have two friendly staff members – the girl who checked me and the blond waitressing the breakfast in the morning.
Cons
Rooms are very very dated, making them seem dirty. The kind of hotel that you leave your shoes on in the room. Garage sale type furniture, old worn couches, 1990 tube TV’s that hardly worked, carpet stains, dirty rusty shower head, cheap shampoos & conditioners.
Inner rooms surround the court yard – VERY loud with the pool, and just when you think the pool is closed and all is well, there is a bar in the courtyard that keeps you up even later. Also the inner rooms are very stuffy and warm, and the thermostat doesn’t work, no windows to open, just the door that looks over the noisy court yard.
Unfriendly staff, except for the two referenced above.
I asked for a half hour later check out, so I could come back to the hotel on my lunch. $50 dollar charge, for ½ an hour! No budging or willingness to accommodate.
Room service trays would be in the hall ways for over 24 hours. Dirty.
I'm going back to lethbridge in the near future for 2 nights....certainly not staying here.

Room Tip: Request an outside room, not one looking on to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We appreciate the feedback our guests provide and certainly strive to improve on items mentioned. We recognize that our hotel has become a bit dated in appearance and we do have plans to improve on this in the future. We will certainly share your positive comments with the Team and acknowledge the service provided by the employees you recognized.

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Safe travels,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hotel rooms clean and fresh, bedding and beds good. The hotel is built at the edge of the coulee and overlooks the famous high level train bridge. The indoor pool and garden area is reminiscent of New Orleans. The best part is the complementary breakfast buffet. Great food, good selection, replenished often, hot and tasty.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pools are great in the winter. The outside rooms on the north side overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a wonderful review regarding your recent visit to the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We were all thrilled to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the bed and the quality of the free hot buffet breakfast. We agree with you that when the weather outside gets cooler, sitting in the atrium of the hotel surrounded by tropical plans and running water with natural light streaming in, makes the experience even more wonderful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lethbridge Lodge in the near future.

Safe travels,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room we had was really quite dated. Straight out of the 80's. Sheets were OK but everything else was long past its due date for replacement - especially the lunky old tube type 25 inch TV and pinkish laminate counter in the bathroom. Hallway outside of our room sort of smelled musty as well? I didn't feel unclean - but it doesn't have that fresh feel.

We did not have one of the rooms that opened up onto the interior pool/lounge area. At firs I was disappointed but then heard form another guest that these rooms can be subject to noice from the pool, etc.

The interior lounge space is great though and I do not want to take away from that. The highlight was the included hot buffet breakfast. Very good. Location is pretty good as well - right down town. Restaurant staff were great - but the hotel desk staff left a little to be desired.

If they renovated the rooms this woudl be a top-notch hotel.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for an exterior facing room. If you have kids ask for an interior facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We were all thrilled to read that you enjoyed the Complimentary Breakfast Buffet that is offered to our overnight guests. Thank you as well for acknowledging our servers in botaniCa Restaurant.

We recognize that our hotel has become somewhat dated in its appearance especially with our rooms. We will be addressing this in the near future. We apologize if our Front Desk staff did not provide you that attentive service that we have become known for. I assure you this is not the norm and we will review this with the team in an effort to improve.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Lethbridge Lodge in the near future.

Sincere regards,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Husband has a sleep study in Lethbridge and so we booked a room with credit card to only find out afterwards that they require a deposit of $250 plus the amount of the room up front no matter what type of payment. Cancelled and booked elsewhere for cheaper room rate and no deposit with a credit card. The other hotel we booked at afterwards which is a big chain had never heard of any hotel ever doing that before.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a comment regarding the credit policy of the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We certainly apologize that you misunderstood the pre authorization of a credit card which is the normal practice for hotels to apply to credit cards upon arrival. We only require advance deposit at the point of arrival if our guests do not use a credit card. It is regrettable that this was not sufficiently explained and you were not able to enjoy the services provided by the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel. We will follow up with our Front Office and Reservation associates to ensure that this is explained appropriately to our guests.

We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you in the near future.

Safe travels,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Have stayed here befor and liked the place. However, on this occasion I arrived at about 815pm on a Sunday and was told that the restaurent and bar had closed at 8pm and there was no room service. After a long day driving I had to find somewhere to eat in town, Not Good! Think the hotel should make it clear of the lack of facilities on a Sunday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback during your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We appreciate the feedback our guests provide as it is our opportunity to make the improvements needed. We apologize that our restaurant was not available upon your arrival on a Sunday evening. Our restaurant is open from 6:00am to 10:00pm Monday to Saturday with Sunday closing at 8:00pm. We will certainly review the closing hour for Sunday with our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager and make adjustments where required to meet our guests needs.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Lethbridge Lodge in the near future.

Safe travels,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful hotel experience! Staff VERY friendly, as was the maintenance mam. We stayed here for a week. We switched rooms at the last moment as I missed the bunk beds available. The room service was great, couldn't ask for a better stay just sucked so much that our room was right outside the pool, and it was under maintenance. The breakfast there was unbelievably superb! Will definitely stay again if the pool is working.

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be great! Comfortable beds, and quiet overall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so very much on providing wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We certainly do apologize that during your stay our pool was out of order receiving its annual maintenance to ensure that we provide a safe and clean area for our guests to enjoy. We were thrilled to read that you appreciated the excellent service provided by our employees and recognizing our food quality served in our breakfast buffet and room service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lethbridge Lodge in the near future and I am sure that you will enjoy the pool and hot tub on your next visit.

Regards,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 320 Scenic Drive, Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 4B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Lethbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Lethbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tropical Experience in the Heart of Lethbridge. A great hotel offers more than just a good sleep and amenities. The Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre promises a unique experience unlike any other in Lethbridge. Step through our doors and you will be immersed in a New Orleans-style indoor Tropical Courtyard. Surrounded by a large indoor garden with tropical palm trees, you'll soon forget the wind, rain, snow or heat from the outdoors. Stroll through the gardens, enjoy a soak in the hot tub, take a refreshing dip in the pool or sip an exotic tropical drink in our courtyard lounge. Let our year round oasis take you a way from it all! In addition to our unique tropical oasis, you will also find all the things you would expect from an outstanding hotel, including 190 cozy guestrooms and suites, three on-site dining and entertainment choices, ample complimentary parking, complimentary in-room WIFI, banquet and meeting space and recreational amenities. Most rate plans include a deluxe buffet breakfast, served daily in our restaurant (group bookings may have alternate arrangements). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lethbridge Hotel
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel And Conference Centre Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.