We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Scenic Drive, Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 4B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Lethbridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Old outdated, no microwave, no fridge, old television, old carpet, dingy bathroom. Spend some money before nobody comes. Sucker once not twice. Same money some other place twice the room. Food was good,personal was polite

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We certainly apologize that we left you with a less than positive experience. We do recognize that the hotel is a bit dated in some of its decor and we will be improving on this in the future. Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding the food provided and the personal attention that you received from the Associates of the hotel. We believe that our employees are the life blood of the hotel that enjoy providing the personal service to our valuable guests.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincere regards,

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    72
    77
    47
    53
See reviews for
89
46
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The Lodge is very nicely appointed;it's rooms, while dated, are comfortable and spacious. The lack of a renovated bathroom separates it from really good hotels (desert rose toilets?). Check-in is reasonably efficient, showers are excellent (temperature and pressure), and cleanliness is notably a high priority. Facilities are clean and well maintained. The beds and bedding were excellent. HVAC systems are efficient and reasonably quiet. From a facilities viewpoint there is much to recommend this property. Lastly, in a place as drab as Lethbridge, the tropical courtyard does raise one's spirits.

Sadly, the customer focus of the front-line staff fails to equal the promise set by the facility.
1) breakfast buffet included in room rate - bacon is emptied by 9 am and never refilled. Coffee is served cold.
2) arriving at the lounge 20 minutes prior to close we are greeted by - not a welcome - but an admonishment that closing time was in 15 minutes; oh, and the kitchen is closed ( this is a real pet peeve of mine - you are open until you close)
3) told directly that the hotel shuttle's only purpose was to move guests to and from the airport. In a near empty hotel, there was zero opportunity to receive a ride to a local restaurant ( one much nearer to the property than the airport).

I have to be careful here, we received excellent service at check-in and some real efforts from some in the restaurant. Overall though, very disappointing.
If I return to Lethbridge, I will look very hard at other properties.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge. We were all thrilled to read that for the most part you were satisfied with the hotel and the service. We certainly apologize for falling down on some items which we thank for bringing to our attention. I can assure you that what you experienced is not the norm as we take service provided to our guests very seriously and pride ourselves in trying to go that extra mile. Clearly on this day we failed to do that and we will be addressing each item for success.
Thank you for recognizing that the courtyard offers a tranquil ambiance for our guests. It certainly is unique and offers our guests the opportunity to sit in lush botanical gardens with running water under natural sunlight.
We so hope that you give us another opportunity while visiting Lethbridge.
Safe travels,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel
and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

As a previous long-time Lethbridge resident, I didn't think twice about reserving a room at the Lodge recently; it used to be 'the place'. However, things have changed drastically. The carpet in the room was stained. Not one thing has been updated. Original furniture, original tv, original bathroom, damaged screen window. Can't comment on the restaurant but just the shape of the room was enough to ensure I never go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments regarding your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge. We certainly apologize that you left with a less than positive experience of our hotel. We place guest service at top of mind as well as the cleanliness of our hotel. We do agree that we have become somewhat dated, however we attempt to maintain the condition and cleanliness. Our Housekeeping and Maintenance Manager will inspect the areas for the stained carpet and address this immediately.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we do hope that you give us the opportunity to provide you with that personal service we have become known for.

Regards,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel
and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Gave the Lethbridge Lodge a second chance and was not disappointed. Booked directly through the hotel and got specified requests met. The only thing which I thought was going to be in the Premier Room was a fridge which was not there. Usually there is but I did not bother to request. All in all very satisified. Visited the lounge which serves great drinks but the service was extremely slow perhaps because they were understaffed. Still one of my favorite hotels in Lethbridge.

Room Tip: Book directly through hotel, request top floor with view of Atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for the wonderful comments you provided on your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We appreciate you and your family providing us a second chance on meeting your expectations. It is more convenient for our guests who require specific room types to book directly with the hotel or through our website. Booking directly with the hotel will provide you with that personal service we have become known for. We certainly apologize that your room did not have a fridge and microwave. However you will be pleased to know that we are in the process of increasing the number of rooms in our hotel to have these amenities for our guest's request.
I can honestly say that the staff were thrilled to read your comments and appreciate you and your family giving us that second chance. We understand that from time to time we may "drop the ball" however we always strive to improve and especially on the recovery.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went the Lodge for breakfast a couple of Saturdays ago. Not good at all. One meat, sausages,
was offered. Two types of scrambled eggs, deepfried potato cubes. The rest was canned fruit
make your own waffles and toast. Some cereal and milk. The juice container was empty.
Lastly the buffet tables were a mess. The Lodge has been our last choice for quite a while and it will continue to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so very much in taking the time to provide us valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We certainly appreciate viewing the breakfast buffet through the eyes of our guests and in discussion with our Executive Chef we have begun to make improvements on this service. I am excited to say that in the near future, the breakfast buffet at the Lethbridge Lodge will be spectacular. In the meantime we will ensure that two breakfast meats are offered and that all items are consistently maintained and refreshed.
We so do hope that you provide us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and perhaps make the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel one of your first choices to stay while visiting.

Safe travels,

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had our hockey team stay at the lodge for the weekend. We enjoyed having everything under one room so the kids did not need to be carted around.
Staff were very pleasant and efficient and made the stay enjoyable. Free breakfast was good and the lunch we had catered for the team was great

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review of your recent visit to the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. The staff was thrilled to read that your Team enjoyed their time with us. The Lethbridge Lodge has become a sports team destination for the fact we offer guest rooms that can easily accommodate four people comfortably and all the services you require are under one roof. Our guests enjoy having a pool situated in an atrium of live botanical trees under natural sunlight. It provides a tropical experience even when it’s a bit cold outside. This provides sports team the leisure and activity right in the hotel. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast buffet to sports teams so that they can start the morning right.
Please contact Amanda who is our Sport Team Sales Manager to book your future accommodations and team buffets.

Yours in hospitality,

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I travel quite a bit, this hotel was really neat! The Atrium was great, we really enjoyed our dinner in the lounge, and it’s nice to have an indoor dinner in the middle of winter but have it feel so much like a summer night :)

The room was just OK, some wallpaper pealing off the wall, the furniture set up was very strange; everything was pushed together on the wall so most of the wall was empty. Our toilet broke in the middle of the night, which wasn’t a huge deal its one of those things that just happens.

I was very disappointed that the back entrance near my room did not seem to lock at night, I went out for a cigarette at 11 pm and the door was unlocked and it didn’t appear they had it set up for room key access, which made me think it does not lock ever. There is a night club in the back as well so at 11 pm that door should 100% be locked. My room did not have a chain lock (or something similar) either which I have never seen before. If I stayed again I would request to not be in the back of the hotel.

The Breakfast was pretty good except the staff were not friendly at all, no one even spoke to us during our breakfast, no how is everything, nothing. (It was a buffet, we had free breakfast vouchers)

I would stay again only because of the Atrium and the lounge in it, the food there was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We were all thrilled to read that you enjoyed the atrium of the hotel. It is very unique for a hotel to have live botanical plants surrounded by running brooks under natural sunlight provided by the many skylights in the roof. The area can offer a tropical feeling inside when it can be cold outside.
I appreciate you sharing your comments regarding the condition of the wallpaper. I have shared this with our Maintenance Manager and his team and we will ensure that our inspections take care of this immediately. I also value your comment regarding the rear door of the hotel. I have contacted a security company to upgrade the lock and ensure that it is accessible with an electronic room key.
Thank you again for your glowing review and the valuable suggestions to assist us in improving our service to you ..... our valued guest.

Sincerely,

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 320 Scenic Drive, Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 4B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Lethbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Lethbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tropical Experience in the Heart of Lethbridge. A great hotel offers more than just a good sleep and amenities. The Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre promises a unique experience unlike any other in Lethbridge. Step through our doors and you will be immersed in a New Orleans-style indoor Tropical Courtyard. Surrounded by a large indoor garden with tropical palm trees, you'll soon forget the wind, rain, snow or heat from the outdoors. Stroll through the gardens, enjoy a soak in the hot tub, take a refreshing dip in the pool or sip an exotic tropical drink in our courtyard lounge. Let our year round oasis take you a way from it all! In addition to our unique tropical oasis, you will also find all the things you would expect from an outstanding hotel, including 190 cozy guestrooms and suites, three on-site dining and entertainment choices, ample complimentary parking, complimentary in-room WIFI, banquet and meeting space and recreational amenities. Most rate plans include a deluxe buffet breakfast, served daily in our restaurant (group bookings may have alternate arrangements). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lethbridge Hotel
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel And Conference Centre Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.