We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Galt Museum & Archives

Galt Museum & Archives
502 - 1st Street South, Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 0P6, Canada
403-320.3898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Lethbridge
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was not near as interesting as was let on when we paid. There was one exhibit about lethbridges history. and a few photographs downstairs. There was a function going on and was rather loud. Kids were running around everywhere, unsupervised. For a museum, it just wasnt my cup of tea.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Thursday night visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The museum is open until 9 pm on Thursdays. We noticed the building returning to our hotel on Wednesday night - it is very pretty lit up by lights.
I arrived at about 6:30 and it was a busy place. There was a meeting of the Friends of Medicare and a presentation by someone from the Royal Tyrell Museum on 'sea monsters'.
The presentation was very enjoyable as was the time I spent in the gallery. I could easily go back to see more and the visit was well worth the $6 I spent for entry. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Affordable entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This museum is always interesting although it is small. The staff are friendly and approachable. The indoor exhibits are easily read and well designed. Not a lot for children to participate in although one of the local service groups had an activity outside of the exhibits--no mention as to whether or not the museum customers were allowed to participate-we didn't ask.
The outdoor signage for the walking paths is good but with high winds and cold temperatures, we did not walk about and am certain we missed a lot of valuable history about the region.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“History in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very informitive and interesting the building has so much character and the view of the coulees and surrounding area is wonderful. The full window view is exceptional, The outside landscapeing around it isvery suited, thay offer wonderful programs for Children and the gift shop has an excellent assortment fo gifts. The Best is the view of th Galt itself as you turn off Scenic drive towards it ,it is like stepping back in time..................1

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Family Programs and Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Galt Museum is an under utilized gem in Lethbridge.
They have family programs that run on Saturdays.
Adult programs on Thursdays.
The programs are educational, informative and a lot of fun for people of all ages.
There is also archives downstairs. Displays on the main level.
Very rich in history and information.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galt Museum & Archives also viewed

 

Been to Galt Museum & Archives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt Museum & Archives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.