We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evil Dave's Grill

Evil Dave's Grill
622 Patricia Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada
+1 780-852-3323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 77 restaurants in Jasper
Price range: $18 - $37
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Saskatoon,SK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Casual and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

House wine "twisted" pinot grigio was nice. Blackened salmon was tasty. Hell's Chichen (jerk chicken) was good but thermonuclear! Good service and OK prices $$ for casual and dining.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    278
    124
    36
    20
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Finally tried this place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've been going to Jasper for years, but have never stopped in and tested out Evil Dave's.

My overall review on the restaurant as a whole is pretty positive. The food was great, the service was pretty good and the atmosphere was relaxing. It's kind of pricey for what it is, but they do have really big portions, so it's alright value. They also are very alert of the uprise in people being sensitive to wheat/gluten; I really like seeing a restaurant take this initiative and responsibly post which foods have come into contact with said allergens.

The only two complaints I have about this place are the following:

- The decanters that water is served in are extremely filthy, and it wasn't just ours. I examined the other tables and could actually see that they were just as dirty. I don't know if it's something in the water or if they're simply just not cleaned properly, but it kind of irked me.

- Their debit machine was down and the only option was to leave and walk down the street to the bank to take cash out. I know this might not seem like a big fault, but in my eyes and for the sake of convenience this was some what frustrating. It also was irritating that they didn't compensate for their machines being down; I'm not one to carry cash ever, so you can see as to why this would bother me.

Other than that, I was impressed with the dining experience and would suggest it to others on the basis that Evil Dave's takes these complaints into consideration.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsDay13, Owner at Evil Dave's Grill, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Blake, first of all thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback good and bad. We have addressed the issue with the decanters, it was hard water stains and we are now polishing these after washing and they look 100% better. As for the debit machines being down, your frustrations are our frustrations. We recently changed service providers and have had some issues. Needless to say that has been dealt with as well and the problem remedied! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“amazing food, great option for those with dietary issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This restaurant was great, very considerate of dietary requirements and a whole heap of options. I am wheat intolerant and had a fantastic array of options available to me. The menu is a little expensive however being a holiday ski town it is to be expected. Will definitely return if we find ourselves in the area again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I ate here on one night of our 3 days in Jasper. Food was great! The food is original and priced accordingly. You pay a little extra, but its well worth it.

Service was fantastic and the site is clean and comfortable.

We will absolutely go again if we are in Jasper

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went to Evil Daves for New Years Eve! It was a packed house, but our food didn't take too long and it was excellent!
We have been to this restaurant and were happy to see the great food and service wasn't a one time event.

We will definiately return!
Try the soup! Both times it has been outstanding!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evil Dave's Grill also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park

Been to Evil Dave's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evil Dave's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.