We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST SUSHI we have ever had!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oka Sushi

Oka Sushi
Old Lodge Road | Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
+1 780-852-6052
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Jasper
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Oka Sushi is a small, intimate sushi bar located on the Beauvert Promenade at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. Run by Sushi Chef Tatsuhiko Okaki, Oka Sushi is a favourite among guests and locals alike. Sushi is always on the menu, with products shipped in from Japan and Vancouver. Any sushi lover will appreciate the high quality and warm customer service of this charming sushi restaurant.
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The BEST SUSHI we have ever had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We finally had the opportunity to try this restaurant. We are in Jasper often and Oka's is always filled to capacity which is very small and intimate. It was so good! Super fresh seafood and sushi created right in front of your eyes by sushi chef and owner Oka!
The rice was so soft and tasted like heaven - the fresh seafood was amazing! We ate the California Roll, Spicy Tuna Roll, Spicy Scallop Roll, Jasper Original Roll, Red Snapper Sashimi and Salmon Sashimi - and each and every bite was amazing! Our standards for sushi has been raised and we look forward to eating here again!
The restaurant is open 6pm - 10pm with a reservation seating at 6:30 pm and then walk in after that. We arrived at 8 pm and were able to be seated immediately.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Best we have ever had. Go is you love Sushi. My daughter and I go at least 2 times when we are there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This is what sushi is supposed to be! Must try the Octopus!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

After reading numerous great reviews I was hellbent about going out for sushi at Oka's.

They do take reservations at 6pm and 6:30. Keep in kind this place only seats 14 people; 10 at the bar and two tables of 2... It is tinier than you are imaging. You can fibd it in the basement at the Jasper Park Lodge.

We failed to make reservations and hadn't realized they are closed on Sunday and Monday (winter hours) We arrived at 7:45pm and really lucked out with being the first to get seated post reservation crowd.

Feeling adventurous we let Mr. Oka make whatever he wanted for us. I don't normally eat a lot of sashimi but I would highly recommend it here. We had raw albacore tuna, salmon, a chopped scallop roll, little sweet shrimp from Greenland, squid (the only thing I would pass on) Everything had a clean, fresh taste to it, the way seafood should be.

Mr. Oka gets his fish shipped 2-3x a week from Vancouver, you can tell he really takes pride in his work and only wants to serve the freshest fish possible. We also had a salmon skin roll and I will never be able to return to the inferior one we get from our reg sushi place at home.

I did tell the server I wasn't a fan of Octopus, she convinced me that this was the place that would win me over and she was right. It was served on rice with lemon and salt, it was delicious, texture was wonderful and who knew that it would be the one thing that I would be craving once I got home.

We did spend more on sushi here then we normally do but it was well worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Some of the best sushi in Canada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went to "Mr. Oka's" (aka Oka Sushi) last night. Having spent a considerable amount of time in Japan, we are generally underwhelmed by the quality of sushi in Alberta, but we were very pleasantly surprised by Oka Sushi. It's very small and they don't really take reservations, so you take what you can get there. Four of us sat at the sushi bar so that we could talk with Mr. Oka as well as watch his skilled hands work their magic on the fish and seafood. We declined to order anything specific and allowed the sushi master to come up with whatever he felt like. This included an octopus head roll, several mixed rolls, lightly seared hamachi and scallops and various sushi assortments, all accompanied by hot sake. The only thing that was a bit of a disappointment was the toro, but this was not due to the sushi master. It was pretty clear that the toro was not as fresh as the other fish. Still, what does one expect in December in Jasper National Park? We had a great conversation with the sushi master and other people at the bar, the service was spot on the entire time and I would highly recommend others go there. Do not be put off by some of the other comments about Oka Sushi (e.g., no hot food) and try it yourself, but be prepared to arrive as soon as they open (6pm) or wait until someone leaves as it only seats 10-12 people at a time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fresh and well prepared!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely little spot with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Priced very reasonably for quality and quantity. A must if you're in Jasper.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oka Sushi also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Oka Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oka Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.