We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tekarra Restaurant

Tekarra Restaurant
Hwy 93A South (Hazel Ave) | 1 km South of Jasper Townsite, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
(780) 852-4624
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 77 restaurants in Jasper
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Opened in June 1952, Tekarra Restaurant is celebrating its 60th anniversary. For the past 17 seasons Chef David George Husereau has been creating world-renowned dishes garnering wonderful reviews including The Foders Choice Award Winner for ‘Best of the Best’. This season we invite you to join us for a culinary experience where you will be treated to Chef Husereau’s locally inspired menu by our professional yet friendly staff.Located only 1 mile south of the Jasper town site, Tekarra Lodge has always been a favorite for Jasper National Park locals and visitors alike including such starlets as Marilyn Monroe, Joe DiMaggio, John Travolta, and Lance Armstrong. Our peaceful setting amongst the pine trees includes a wonderful outdoor patio where you may glimpse deer and elk while enjoying a gourmet meal or sipping an exquisite Canadian wine. The Tekarra Dining Room has a unique, inviting charm all of its own with the original wood decor creating a true Rocky Mountain feel. Whether you are dining for a special occasion or just to get away, Tekarra Restaurant can assure you a memorable evening.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best meal ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at Tekarra Lodge, which are log cabins, quaint, nice, and clean. The dining room was just across the way from our cabin. We thought we would stay close by so not to have to drive. We never expected such amazing food! Trio of sockeye salmon, tempura, on quinoa and smoked. The smoked salmon presentation-brought to the table with a glass cover over it. Once the top was lifted a waft of smoke came up, gorgeous!
The beef filet was cooked to perfection, the bison profitterolle (sp?) was divine and for dessert, creme brulee. The wine list was excellent, carried one of our favorites, Frog's Leap.
Certainly will be on the top of our list!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    92
    19
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Expected standard not met!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Staff were very pleasant and accommodating, although the chorizo was brought to the table (burnt & whole) after the dish that should have included it had been served, freshly ground black pepper wasn't offered. My fillet steak was excellent, although my wife's main course (Canadian seared scallops) contained only three scallops, expensive @ $43! The dessert menu was placed on table without being asked for! We are not in the habit of posting negative reviews, but when the bill arrived we were surprised by the waiter informing us that the tip ($20) had already been included!! (Overseas guests should have a choice whether to tip good quality or service)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had an absolutely outstanding dinner at Tekarra Lodge. Everything from the menu, to the quality of the food, to the atmosphere and ambience, and the service were outstanding. Although we ate at the Fairmont Jasper Lodge and in downtown Jasper, this was far and away our favorite dinner place. After dinner we walked to the sitting area nearby that looks out over the river and it was a great way to end a very memorable and enjoyable evening. For the quality of the food, this is a not to be missed stop in Jasper.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best of the Rockies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent ten days in Jasper and Banff with friends and all agreed that our dinner at Tekarra was the best. We all ordered different entrees and everyone was convinced that they made the best choice. The presentations for the different dishes were very creative and set the stage for a wonderful dining expierience. We also appreciated the professionalism of the staff. We had made reservations for ten and they had arranged a very nice table that accomodated all of us. Our waiter was very helpful in describing the various choices and got all all the orders correct. Also impressive was that they were able to serve all ten of us in in a timely manner. We will surely return to Tekarra on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Pretensions distract!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

About our 6th year going here...and now, enough! The whimsical plating truly was cute last year...this year, I found it tiresome. Only one main choice for vegetarians and no substitutions offered. Why not offer a chef choice of veggie sides? Some odd mixtures of taste...the truffle rissoto was great and my husband enjoyed the tofu dish. But, the price was not worth the food or the pretense.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tekarra Restaurant also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Tekarra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tekarra Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.