We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marmot Lodge

Marmot Lodge
86 Connaught Dr, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
(780) 852-4544
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 77 Restaurants in Jasper
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Jasper National Park, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We ate at embers steakhouse for dinner this evening , we made a reservation and it was setting up to be a wonderful dinner. First off, our drinks took over 20 minutes to arrive after we ordered them. Our service didn't seem to know very much English so after our order I asked "do you understand" she replied yes. The food we did get was great , but we ordered wine with the meal that ended up being cancelled because our dinner came and we'd finished it before the wine arrived. The person I was with ordered a small steak in hopes to have crablegs with it, once the steak arrived , I asked about the crab legs , she looked confused (as though she had forgotten) and ran to the kitchen , she then returned to say they had run out but didn't tell her. We had ordered 40 minutes prior , which seems to be enough time for communication with her kitchen. Had potential to be an amazing evening but was ruined quickly by the service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Staff training needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

On the occasions we ate there which were mostly at breakfast time. The tables were on sometimes sticky where they had not wiped and cleaned properly. There was food on the floor and when I mentioned this around our table no action was taken to clear it up.

Some of the food was poor and not very warm. Breakfast potatoes were extremely poor, They were best describes as soggy and tasteless instead of crispy.

It seemed to me that staff required some training in the maintenance of a reasonable restaurant environment.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“There are far better places.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were dissatisfied with the menu selections and the prices did not match the quality. Yes the location is convenient if you are staying at the lodge but there are so many wonderful choices in Jasper you really should try other dining options.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Went for a beer, came back for some food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just to be clear, we actually sat in Embers, the pub side of the restaurant, in front of the fire. While the full menu is available here, we chose to eat off the Embers pub menu. We had the nacho's. The food was good, service was great and friendly. In fact from the moment we stepped in, about three different people asked us if we had been served.
They serve a large 20 oz pint as of this writing, for about $6 which is probably the cheapest real pint we came across in Jasper.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Every meal was excellent with great service and a very cosy restaurant. There were 6 in our party and we were all very impressed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmot Lodge also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmot Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.