We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Longer Greasy Gus's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L & W Restaurant

L & W Restaurant
Hazel & Patricia St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
(780) 852-4114
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 77 Restaurants in Jasper
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“No Longer Greasy Gus's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I grew up in Jasper and the place to go for a bite after the bar was Greasy Gus's. Not any more. Gus has gone main stream but has taken his fantastic cooking skills with him. The L & W is a very nice place to eat now.Calamari and escargot appys were wonderful. Souvlaki, Linguine Alfredo and burgers were very tastey indeed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    84
    48
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cd'A, Id.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Return to excellence.....as expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have learned after several trips to Jasper over more than 20 years that L & W will always provide us quality meals that have never disappointed. The menu is large and varied and that can either be good for the diners or else a nightmare for the proprietor to master. We feel L & W has paid their dues well as they have been serving the public longer than we have been coming to Jasper. L & W is our home base for dinner and a drink in the evenings every visit. I don't see that changing soon. By the way, If you get a dinner with their baked potato, you are in for a small slice of happiness. Even if your meal comes say with rice, you can ask for a baked potato and you will get both on your plate. It will come with a tray of butter, sour cream, and real chopped bacon. Truly wonderful! L & W, we shall gladly return next time we visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rustington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This restaurant had the most extensive menu that we found and had something for everyone
The service was good and the restaurant itself very nicely decorated with planting and lots of mini fairy lights it was lovely at night. Also has a large conservatory area. Above all the food was really good too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Delivery Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

When we come to Jasper, we always order Pizza delivered to our hotel for the kids as a special treat. L & W has always made great pizzas for us, with fast delivery. We would never think of ordering elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville,KY
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good Local recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A local person highly recommended this restaurant. Had a very good meal on two nights. Wide range of food on menu. Lasagna, pizza, steak, fish, etc.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L & W Restaurant also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to L & W Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L & W Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.