We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent host and convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juniper House
Save
You added Juniper House to your Saves list
713 Maligne Avenue | Box 2545, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 66 Jasper B&B and Inns
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent host and convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

On our arrival Jennifer was so friendly, helpful and informative about the area and places to eat. She sat down with us and talked us through the local map and indicated places she felt we would enjoy.

The King Suite was just as advertised on the website and had an excellent shower room. Although breakfasts are not supplied, there is a local bakery/tea room not far from the house (5 - 8 min. walk away), and there is a coffee maker, toaster, fridge, etc. in the kitchenette of the King Suite, should you wish to self-cater.

All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Loved our stay in Jasper and really glad we chose the Juniper House. The location was just minutes walk away from the town and there were many trails we could pick up for walks both long and short. We stayed for four days and did not bother taking the car out once.

The accomodation is very modern and roomy. We rated it as very good value for the location. Our landlady gave us a very warm welcome and an informative introduction to Jasper and the surrounding area. She was always available and willing to help throughout our stay and seemed genuinely interested in us enjoying our time in Jasper.

Jasper itself is a great place to stay and a big contrast to Banff which we also loved. If you are in the area, the Juniper House is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

As travelers from the USA, we had never stayed in a private home before. The idea of sleeping in somebody's spare room was a bit scary, but finding an affordable hotel room in Jasper in July was out of the question, so we trusted TA and called Juniper House.

What a good decision that was! We stayed in the Queen Suite, which was spotlessly clean and a bargain at under $100/night. For that rate we had everything you'd find at a hotel...queen bed, our own bathroom, tv, refrigerator, closet space, coffee and tea in-room, and complete privacy. In some respects, it was nicer than a hotel room - thick fluffy towels, a huge bathroom, little extras like wine glasses, corkscrew, and of course our hosts' friendly advice and recommendations. The property was a quick and easy walk from the restaurants and shops of downtown Jasper.

Thank you Jennifer and Brent! If we are lucky enough to return to Jasper someday, we would love to stay with you again!

  • Liked — Clean and spacious
  • Disliked — Squeaky bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location is great, 2 minutes from the town centre and very close to nice walks. Jennifer was a lovely host, she had a wealth of information about the area for us, specific to the weather and conditions at the time so that was really helpful.

The accomodation is in the basement with access from the back garden, and free parking there. It has it's own door so no need to bother the host. The rooms were spotless and nicely decorated and very comfortable. We stayed in the smaller suite but as the other was free Jennifer did offer us it for a cut down price, it looked great. The shower was the best we found in Canada. They have free internet access too which was a great bonus.

The room had a fridge, kettle, cable tv, en-suite and control of its own heating. Overall it was a great bargain, cheap and great accomodation.

  • Liked — Location, friendly owner, very clean.
  • Disliked — Leaving shoes at backdoor.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

Nice room, comfortable queen bed, very nice hostess, spacious bathroom. Parking included.

The room is in a basement that I didn't like, cold linoleum floors, although in winter floors are heated.

  • Liked — location, clean, wireless internet
  • Disliked — basement room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperhouse, Owner at Juniper House, responded to this review, June 25, 2008
Radiant heating controlled by thermostat located within suite and always accessible to guests for their comfort...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

we stayed in mid july 2007. the owners (brent and jennifer park) were very nice and helpful and a good source of knowledge of the local area. they also keep a bit of literature on hand for reading or usage during the trip.

we stayed in the king suite for 4 nights. the decor was wonderful and the bins were emptied each day and the kitchen area was also tidied as well most days we stayed.

the bed was quite comfortable and the shower was the probably the second or third best that we had in our entire trip. there is a shoes rule - you have to leave your shoes at the top of the stairs (the suite is in the "basement" part of the building). there is natural light that comes in as there are windows and the windows can be opened, so don't worry about claustrophobia

we would recommend staying there. the only thing that i'd have to say (which wasn't a problem for me) is that there are stairs. they aren't steep or there's not a lot, but it wasn't easy for us to get our luggage down them because the stairwell is not terribly wide (we had a lot of luggage).

  • Liked — location, cleanliness and a beautiful place to stay and wonderful hosts
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

Excellent en-suite accommodation for two couples with kitchen/lounge area. Clean, warm rooms. Owner very helpful and supplied huge selection of local details. Just a 5 minute walk to restaurants and shops (useful supermarket and bakery for breakfast supplies). Easy parking on quiet residential street.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness, cleanliness
  • Disliked — No breakfast supplied; note there are steps down to rooms.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper House

Address: 713 Maligne Avenue | Box 2545, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.