We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cosy Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miette Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miette Hot Springs Resort
Save
You added Miette Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Range Road 275A, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Cosy Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We are regular customers at this resort and we love the cosy, rustic feel of the place. Yes, the cabins are a little old and run down, but it adds to the charm and the prices are reasonable. The restaurant is very good and the hot springs are a 3 minute walk away. The owners are friendly, although their manner is a little hard to get used to at first. We highly recommend this place for a short family getaway, or a romantic getaway for 2!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
41
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed three nights this August. Great motel. Rooms are perfect for couples looking for romance or R&R. 200 meters from the hot springs pools. At least three hiking trails leading from the parking lot that are between three and six klms long. We did two of them. The one on the far right side of the parking lot, that goes down the hill and to the left towards the old original hot springs site is O.K. but about two or three hundred meters past this, the trail seems to cross over the creek and up the hill ( pretty rugged ) for a few klms to nowhere! The trail just past the hot springs building goes staight up the mountain to a fantastic view area. It is rugged also, but once you get to the top, the view is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were recommended to stay here when visiting Jasper. What a huge disappointment, the staff were uninterested, chatted for ages and ignored you when try to buy an item. Our room was dirty and very very old, next to the staff accom, so in a remote area of the national park, we had noisy staff partying next to us, who also had alarms going off which sounded like cell phones. Don't stay here, spend more and get better service and quietness in the park.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, chose a cabin, we couldn't get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Cabins and motel rooms with kitchenettes at decent prices, well-managed and maintained. Hosts very friendly. Views are as good as the Canadian Rockies can provide. Two fine walks from camp grounds. Hot Springs have been an attraction for centuries and provide a fun place to warm-up if you go at times when school buses aren't filling the lot. Restaurant attached has Greek cook and excellent Greek food; otherwise fare is average -- but a long way to any 2nd choice.

Room Tip: Closes up early October, book early, about 50 miles North of Jasper and 15 miles off main highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I do appreciate the charms of this place for people who really like things rustic, but I'm not in that category. Since my husband likes roughing it, we occasionally stay in a cabin for a short while as a part of a longer trip, and I have, at times, enjoyed it! Unfortunately, this one didn't make either of us particularly happy. First, I was nervous about not having any written confirmation. I'm an avid planner and I always have proof of any reservation and/or deposit. Not having that caused me some anxiety as I knew the remote location would offer no other lodging option if there had been a mix-up.

The real deal breaker for me, though, occurred when we walked in the door. The smell of wood smoke was so strong that I could hardly breathe, and even though it was daylight outside, the cabin was very dark. Opening the blinds and turning on the lights didn't help; the lights were all very dim. We actually decided not to bring our luggage into the cabin because we didn't want the smoky smell to permeate all our things for three days.

We chose the location knowing of the long drive out of Jasper, but we thought the remoteness of the location and the possibility of seeing wildlife along the way would be worth it. We made a mistake; most of what we wanted to do was close to Jasper, and we never saw any wildlife on the road to the hot springs. The remoteness factor was lost at the resort, with cabins very close together and a motel right there, as well; it was a very active place! We could not feel a sense of privacy surrounded on three sides by people in such close proximity.

I understand that a lot of folks would be very happy with this location; it just didn't work for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice cabins, great hiking jump-off spot and natural hot pools. Good food. Over priced gift shop.
Easy to reach from North-east entrance to Jasper National Park. Drove highway 22 north from Glacier and recommend that route over the main road - highway 2 - for the scenic drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Cute and small...an older establishment i believe. Carpet and bedspreads nothing really special, but I loved the log walls(interior) and ceiling. We stayed in the motorlodge (rooms without kitchenette). We go by alright, but if it would have been really cold, the heater is very slow. Overall, a good stay. It's way back in

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miette Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miette Hot Springs Resort

Address: Range Road 275A, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jasper
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high in the Rocky Mountains inside Jasper National Park, our wonderful family owned and operated resort adjacent to the beautiful Miette Hot Springs. Our rustic resort offers cozy cabins, chalets, and motel rooms for your stay. Come join us in the restaurant and gift shop before or after your swim. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miette Hot Springs Hotel Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miette Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.