We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper to your Saves list
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Snowdays at Sawridge
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a beautiful room with balcony facing the mountains with a patio door. I agree with other travellers due to its location - have to drive into town. Breakfast would have been nice but there is a Tim Horton's now in downtown Jasper. When we were there - they were renovating the front lobby. Pool, hot tub and sauna were nice. No one was using them. Also had a spa and laundry facilities. Excellent parking - fast check in and out! Special thanks to Eric (from Guelph, ON) who was so personable on the front desk! One concern they do allow pets...and while I'm a pet lover and owner...was concerned about the cleanliness of the carpets due to pet visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the parking lot facing west. There are room that face the interior and will over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Donnad9,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We will be sure to pass the thanks on to the Front Desk Team. Being a pet friendly hotel can definitely raise the question about the carpets. We have a specific inventory of rooms that are used as pet rooms.
These are subject to a thorough cleaning after every check out. We do our absolute best to ensure that all of our rooms are kept to an equal standard of cleanliness. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Sawridge Jasper on your next trip to the Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    362
    152
    53
    26
See reviews for
198
377
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

You can't miss this hotel, its the last building before you leave town to the north, you could not get any further out if you tried. OK it's a small town but it still means a 10-15 minute walk or a drive to get to the town centre.

Facilities are OK, nothing special. Typical noisy air-con. You can easily overhear TV and conversations in adjoining rooms. Breakfast on the low end of average.

Seems to cater mostly to coach tours and conference groups.

Room Tip: You can overlook the inside for a quieter room, but that means no view. If you get an outside room y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear DaveCardiff_UK,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. We value your feedback and assure you that your concerns have been passed on to our Management team. We will take your comments in to consideration as we are always focused on enhancing our guest experience. We trust that you enjoyed your Canadian vacation and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

While the hotel was just a bit too far to walk into town, it was lovely and quiet. The room was a good size, we had a balcony, and everything was very clean. The staff were also very helpful. Would have been better if breakfast had been included in the price (as it was almost everywhere else we went), but I would still recommend staying here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear tuitrish,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to Jasper and to Sawridge Inn on your next visit to the Canadian Rocky Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I and 4 friends stayed at this hotel for one night recently. Even though, on the map, it looks like it is located at the fringe of the town, Jasper is small, and it is within a very short driving distance from the town center. You can probably walk there as well, within 10 minutes or so.

The hotel is very nice, and even at the beginning of the tourist season in Jasper, we were able to get 3 rooms at less than $150 per room per night, with BCAA discount. That's a wonderful deal. The breakfast buffet is also reasonably priced and can really fill you up before your Rocky Mountain adventures for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear PK_of_Vancouver,
We are very glad to hear that our location and facilities accommodated you well on your vacation to Jasper. Thank you very much for taking the time to share these comments with us on Tripadvisor. We look forward to being your hotel of choice again on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately their were some issues which are important to mention. If you book a room there, make sure you have one with a view to the outside and not the inner patio. We first had a room looking at their restaurant and pool, which was very noisy. We stayed their for 3 nights in total and decided to ask for an upgrade (before the first night) to a room with an view to the outside. The staff quickly took care of our request and we were given a new room for the remaining 2 nights. The bathroom was quite small in both rooms. It seems that the hotel could use a renovation (the reception was being renovated during our stay!).
We had both breakfast and one dinner in the hotel's restaurant (Walter's). The breakfast was good with lots of things to choose from. However, one time we were seated in their wine-room, which was very chilly and noisy because of the air-conditioning. This was a strange choice because there was plenty of room in the restaurant itself. Another time the waiters completely forgot our table, so we only received our coffee and water after we had finished eating, which was a disappointment. The dinner we had was a different experience. The restaurant was full, but the food was prepared fast and tasted good. The portions are small, on the other hand, and the food is overpriced. Overall we had a good stay in the hotel but we had some issues on different domains. I think there are better alternatives in Jasper, which are probably cheaper as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Maarten92,
Thank you very much for taking the time to recognize our staff at Sawridge Jasper. Our team takes great pride in their work and we all try our absolute best to provide outstanding guest service at all times. As you mentioned, we are completing some major renovations to our lobby and reception area, and will continue this fall with renovations to one third of all guest rooms. If you wish, you can follow the upgrades - simply "Like" our page on Facebook and watch the renovations as they happen. I apologize for your dining experience, and have shared your concerns with our Food and Beverage team. We hope to see you here again, on your next visit to Jasper and western Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The place looks like your average mid price Hampton inn, minus the stuffed animals in the lobby, but they'll charge about two times what some will pay in US for similar facilities...for 50 bucks extra you will get a room with a view, in our case some big garbage cans and the industrial look of the railway. As other guests observed, the pool occupies a large part of the inner lobby, so everything reeks of chlorine, plus everybody stares at you while you are soaking. The walls at the pool are adorned with a long list of strange restrictions and dire legal warnings, the sauna was cold and the temperature could not be adjusted... they will nickel and dime you for everything but the free wi-fi: the in room entertainment is grossly overpriced, there is no more than a little coffee bag in a room with 4 people, there are no free HD channels or HBO, no free breakfast or at least a cup of coffee in am and so on...The good part: the staff is nice, rooms are clean and the food at the lobby restaurant is ok, but not memorable. They seem to cater to a senior/corporate audience, for family fun look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear gogugigi,
At Sawridge Inn Jasper, we take all of our guest concerns and comments very seriously and we will certainly take your comments into consideration as we continually seek to improve our guest experiences. If you wish to discuss your stay with us further, I encourage you contact me directly at cwoo@sawridge.com. It will be my pleasure to discuss these matters with you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Sawridge Inn on the outskirts of tiny Jasper. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. However, the pool, dining, and lobby areas are in one longhouse with a high vaulted ceiling. So, significant humidity and the smell of chlorine is present in the lobby and dining areas. People with a sensitivity to such an environment should not book here, despite it being a very nice hotel. Lots of walking paths are nearby. There's a free Internet station to the right of the lobby. The soap, shampoo and related products are made by a First Nation (i.e., Native Canadian) company.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped as a quadrangle, with rooms facing both outward and inward. Inward rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear KrazyCanadian,
We are very glad to hear that the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms during your stay with us at Sawridge Jasper. The Mother Earth Essential products that we offer in our rooms are a product that we are very happy to have and are a source of numerous compliments from our guests. We look forward to your next visit to Sawridge Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jasper
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.