We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings but good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Save Saved
You added Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Ski & Stay 3 for 2
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Jasper
Geel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings but good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately their were some issues which are important to mention. If you book a room there, make sure you have one with a view to the outside and not the inner patio. We first had a room looking at their restaurant and pool, which was very noisy. We stayed their for 3 nights in total and decided to ask for an upgrade (before the first night) to a room with an view to the outside. The staff quickly took care of our request and we were given a new room for the remaining 2 nights. The bathroom was quite small in both rooms. It seems that the hotel could use a renovation (the reception was being renovated during our stay!).
We had both breakfast and one dinner in the hotel's restaurant (Walter's). The breakfast was good with lots of things to choose from. However, one time we were seated in their wine-room, which was very chilly and noisy because of the air-conditioning. This was a strange choice because there was plenty of room in the restaurant itself. Another time the waiters completely forgot our table, so we only received our coffee and water after we had finished eating, which was a disappointment. The dinner we had was a different experience. The restaurant was full, but the food was prepared fast and tasted good. The portions are small, on the other hand, and the food is overpriced. Overall we had a good stay in the hotel but we had some issues on different domains. I think there are better alternatives in Jasper, which are probably cheaper as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Maarten92,
Thank you very much for taking the time to recognize our staff at Sawridge Jasper. Our team takes great pride in their work and we all try our absolute best to provide outstanding guest service at all times. As you mentioned, we are completing some major renovations to our lobby and reception area, and will continue this fall with renovations to one third of all guest rooms. If you wish, you can follow the upgrades - simply "Like" our page on Facebook and watch the renovations as they happen. I apologize for your dining experience, and have shared your concerns with our Food and Beverage team. We hope to see you here again, on your next visit to Jasper and western Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    297
    119
    46
    25
See reviews for
168
298
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
earth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The place looks like your average mid price Hampton inn, minus the stuffed animals in the lobby, but they'll charge about two times what some will pay in US for similar facilities...for 50 bucks extra you will get a room with a view, in our case some big garbage cans and the industrial look of the railway. As other guests observed, the pool occupies a large part of the inner lobby, so everything reeks of chlorine, plus everybody stares at you while you are soaking. The walls at the pool are adorned with a long list of strange restrictions and dire legal warnings, the sauna was cold and the temperature could not be adjusted... they will nickel and dime you for everything but the free wi-fi: the in room entertainment is grossly overpriced, there is no more than a little coffee bag in a room with 4 people, there are no free HD channels or HBO, no free breakfast or at least a cup of coffee in am and so on...The good part: the staff is nice, rooms are clean and the food at the lobby restaurant is ok, but not memorable. They seem to cater to a senior/corporate audience, for family fun look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear gogugigi,
At Sawridge Inn Jasper, we take all of our guest concerns and comments very seriously and we will certainly take your comments into consideration as we continually seek to improve our guest experiences. If you wish to discuss your stay with us further, I encourage you contact me directly at cwoo@sawridge.com. It will be my pleasure to discuss these matters with you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Sawridge Inn on the outskirts of tiny Jasper. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. However, the pool, dining, and lobby areas are in one longhouse with a high vaulted ceiling. So, significant humidity and the smell of chlorine is present in the lobby and dining areas. People with a sensitivity to such an environment should not book here, despite it being a very nice hotel. Lots of walking paths are nearby. There's a free Internet station to the right of the lobby. The soap, shampoo and related products are made by a First Nation (i.e., Native Canadian) company.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped as a quadrangle, with rooms facing both outward and inward. Inward rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear KrazyCanadian,
We are very glad to hear that the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms during your stay with us at Sawridge Jasper. The Mother Earth Essential products that we offer in our rooms are a product that we are very happy to have and are a source of numerous compliments from our guests. We look forward to your next visit to Sawridge Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good-sized room. Nice bathroom. Only complaint is that we were facing the pool and it was very noisy when folks passed through the area when exitIng the sports bar after midnight. Rather far from town. Pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Kathleen W,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit to Sawridge Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north bay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I originally chose this hotel because my son works there. But I continue to return because the hotel is so clean, the staff are very friendly and accommodating, the on site restaurant has a good breakfast buffet and an excellent dinner menu & wines. On a rainy, damp day, we used the pool and hot tub, and just relaxed in our Queen Bed Suite. Only about a 10 minute walk into town to browse shops, and see local sites. Although I didn't visit the spa on this trip, I have before and they have a good array of services at reasonable rates.

Room Tip: If you are there during good weather months, I would suggest you try to book a room with a balcony t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you Dante 1956 for your kind comments. Being able to visit family in a location such as Jasper can only be described as magical. We very much appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit to Jasper National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I cannot find any fault. The room I stayed in was more spacious than I'd anticipated and the view out the window was beautiful. The food was fantastic, and the staff were professional, friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend the Sawridge, and I would happily stay there again on my next (eventual) visit to Jasper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear FionaJ,
Thank you for your comments. Hearing that "we are the best hotel you have stayed at", especially when coming from a seasoned traveler from Australia is extremely gratifying. I can assure you your comment is very much appreciated by our entire team. We trust you will enjoy a similar experience throughout your entire stay in our fine country, and return home with long lasting memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Family stayed at the Sawridge back in April. And its amazing to see all the changes the hotel has had since my husband and I worked there(8+ yrs ago). I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in Jasper. The rooms were clean,the beds, comfortable,the staff were excellent, and I would stay Again and Again!! The hotel has come a long way in such a short time! Cheers to the friendly staff&managment at The Sawridge!! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you McLeansX4 for your kind comments.
We certainly appreciate that your family had an enjoyable return visit to Jasper National Park, and a pleasant stay at the Sawridge Inn Jasper. Indeed, the hotel has been subject to numerous upgrades in the last few years, and plans for a complete renovation of all guest rooms are currently underway, which should see all rooms completely renovated by April 30 2015. Thank you for noticing the improvements made as we are working real hard and investing greatly to ensure our product continues to meet our clients' expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel
Sawridge Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park
Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.