We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you call this a Fairmont?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Lounge

Emerald Lounge
Old Lodge Road | The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
+ 1 780 852 3301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 79 Restaurants in Jasper
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Unwind mid-day in The Emerald Lounge, a room that evokes a sense of relaxation. Or join us on our newly renovated patio, open during the summer months, to take in the stunning views of Lac Beauvert and Whistler's Mountain. This relaxed location hosts the perfect backdrop to sample a menu of Classic Cocktails or a cold pint of Big Rock Alberta beer. Join us throughout the day for a selection of light fare and shareables, gourmet burgers and authentically local entrees as you cozy up near the fire and recount your day exploring the Rocky Mountains. The Emerald Lounge - the perfect place to sit back and relax.
sherwood park, Alberta
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“you call this a Fairmont?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

very sorry service levels, - we were standing up to leave after waiting about 15 minutes at the table. unfortunately, we stayed and ordered against my better instincts. the server was very polite and very pleasant - it was not her fault, but upon souring the lounge when leaving you could sense that they were severely understaffed for the size they were trying to cover. Hard to imagine that this is the way a Fairmont hotel manages things, given my experience at other Fairmont hotels.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Service well”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food was average nothing to inspiring , drinks were good and that is were my romantic fantasy ends everything at this place left me wanting my money back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“You would think it would be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Emerald is part of the Jasper Park Lodge, part of one of the best run chains in the world. The home made honey ale and wheat beer where excellent. The food, well, sucked. We had to send back the fish because it had turned out to be fried leather. Our waiter was great about everything, hence, he brought up the review to average. Not going back. Would rather cook in room.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good quick food and service in great location - not cheap.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

After two day on the Rocky Mountaineer we weren't looking for a big meal. The lounge met our needs though, being part of the resort, it was pricey. We chose the bison burger which was lean, dense, flavourful and well presented. The italian wine was well selected and coffee was ok.

Service was excellent with staff adjusting quickly to an overflow in the outdoor area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A perfect Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Attentive, congenial waitstaff and a perfect Manhattan provided relaxation while looking out on the beautiful grounds of the Jasper Park Lodge. In addition, they are generous with spicy crunchy treats.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Lounge also viewed

 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Emerald Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.