We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome scenery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Ice Field

Columbia Ice Field
Columbia Ice Field Highway | Highway 1, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 19 attractions in Jasper
Type: Scenic Drives, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband is a professional photographer and luckily we had a good weather day for our visit to the Icefields. It was a special trip for my birthday. We took our time, stopped at many vistas along the way, had a picnic lunch near the Saskatchewan Crossing on the riverbank and, of course, it was a photographer's dream. Truly spectacular. We have been here many times before and each time gets better as there is just so much to see and cover in one day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    160
    60
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Did the drive twice as so beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

What views all the way, take your time as there are so many stop offs. We travelled up and back stopping at Jasper, Lake Moraine and Canmore, then back to Jasper. Really glad we did as it is hard to take in all the beauty surrounding you plus it gave us time to do a couple of hikes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Walk on the Glacier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

You travel from the center by bus to the location where you pick up your ice buggy. (There are only 23 in the world. 22 are there.) The buggy takes you down a 30+ degree grade to the glacier. There is a specifically outlined location where you able to walk. While the buggies move slowly, it gives you time to view the terrain.

Our guide filled an empty water bottle, so we could taste glacier water. I never thought I'd ever be on one more less taste it.

Since they are predicting the glacier will be gone in a few years, make it a definite stop on your trip to the rockies. I'm glad we can say we did.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield WI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Dont have to ever do that again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Expensive. Long lines. Waited for 45 minutes to get in a bus that took you to the snow cats (bus with different type of wheels) and they drove on the glacier with some good information from the guide. Dropped us off in high winds and freezing temps to slip and slide on the glacier for 15 minutes and back to snow cats and then to bus. I would have rather done the hiking tour that we passed on our way up. They don't advertise that option as you walk in the facility. That looked more interesting. In Wisconsin, we stand on ice and snow everyday. Not a glacier but feels the same and we dont pay $60.00 a person for the experience!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting exprience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

First time that we have been on an Ice Field, very interesting, we had a very guide, who explained everthing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Ice Field also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Columbia Ice Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Ice Field, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Columbia Ice Field to your Saves list