We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hit it just perfectly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Ice Field

Columbia Ice Field
Columbia Ice Field Highway | Highway 1, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
17808527034
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$73*
and up
Jasper Rafting on Sunwapta River: Class III
Ranked #3 of 40 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We hit it just perfectly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

When we visited in June, the weather had been overcast and rainy. It cleared up that evening and was perfect for the next day. We took the trip to the top of the ice field and were delighted. it was worth every penny.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GilGerretsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Once in a lifetime, truly recommend. Guide was "Wes" truly a legend
Mountain lion tracks in the snow and the ice falls absolutely beautiful

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMountainsOzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A MUST TO VISIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

WOW- if you really want to see what pure water looks like- see this place. Glacier water has a deep blue tint caused by pressure when glaciar was formed. you can see this under the snow and you will think you are standing on glass ! MUST MUST SEE THIS PLACE, excellent education for kids

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 8079AASHISH_TRIVEDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It was really wonderful to walk on the Glacier at the Columbia Icefields, The transport to the fields from the visitor centre is on the big all terrain vehicles huge....

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianna742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sad to see the glacier slowly disappearing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Because I come from Alberta it's hard for me to rate this. I have been going to the Columbia Ice Fields for about 35 years so I know what it looked like back in the day and it really has changed quite a lot. The walking trail at the base of the glacier has a very good, informative and well narrated signs along the route. If you have never been there, I would recommend it as it is in the heart of the rockies. Make sure to dress warm, yes even in the summer months. .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Ice Field also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Columbia Ice Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing