We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hit it just perfectly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Ice Field

Columbia Ice Field
Columbia Ice Field Highway | Highway 1, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$173*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier...
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Jasper
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Attraction details
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We hit it just perfectly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

When we visited in June, the weather had been overcast and rainy. It cleared up that evening and was perfect for the next day. We took the trip to the top of the ice field and were delighted. it was worth every penny.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    274
    95
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Once in a lifetime, truly recommend. Guide was "Wes" truly a legend
Mountain lion tracks in the snow and the ice falls absolutely beautiful

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A MUST TO VISIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

WOW- if you really want to see what pure water looks like- see this place. Glacier water has a deep blue tint caused by pressure when glaciar was formed. you can see this under the snow and you will think you are standing on glass ! MUST MUST SEE THIS PLACE, excellent education for kids

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It was really wonderful to walk on the Glacier at the Columbia Icefields, The transport to the fields from the visitor centre is on the big all terrain vehicles huge....

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sad to see the glacier slowly disappearing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Because I come from Alberta it's hard for me to rate this. I have been going to the Columbia Ice Fields for about 35 years so I know what it looked like back in the day and it really has changed quite a lot. The walking trail at the base of the glacier has a very good, informative and well narrated signs along the route. If you have never been there, I would recommend it as it is in the heart of the rockies. Make sure to dress warm, yes even in the summer months. .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Ice Field also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Columbia Ice Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Ice Field, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.