We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to see blue ice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Ice Field

Columbia Ice Field
Columbia Ice Field Highway | Highway 1, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Columbia Ice Field like an insider
Top Rated
$194*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier...
Ranked #4 of 41 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“First time to see blue ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ride into Columbia Ice Fields on an a large all terrain vehicle with experienced drivers to see a blue iced glacier. It's incredible to imagine that this glacier has melted so much and will continue as we travel in a diesel powered vehicle to visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    289
    99
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Definitely worth a visit, never seen anything like it. It is a shame it is melting. It is a short but steep hike up, could be a hard work for elderly people, I am 31 and I had to stop to catch my breath.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Take your hat and gloves.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Enjoyed our trip up the Glacier, it was very snowy and very cold by the time we got onto the Glacier .Apparently it snows frequently so be prepared, warm clothes essential .We did have to wait a while to get onto coaches to take us to the special Glacier transport.If you have a choice pick a sunny day to go ,but you never can tell in the mountains.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What an education.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Simon was our driver and educator. The information he told us about the Glaciers kept the adults and children interested and entertained. Even at the end of the season he was still interested in making sure we enjoyed our visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“World Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Absolutely a must for anyone traveling to Banff or Jasper. This icefield is gigantic. Yet, it has lost much of its bulk over the past hundred years. Markers show where the glacier stood at times in the past. You can walk or take a tour of the icefield. Truly, this is a once in a lifetime opportunity.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Ice Field also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Columbia Ice Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Ice Field, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.