We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room - need better info on breakfest plan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Geikie Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta TOE 1EO, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Edmonton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice room - need better info on breakfest plan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Loft Unit booked for one night. Very clean and comfortable. Also encountered a drunk sleeping at the bottom of the stairs on Sunday morning. If you stay in a normal room (as friends did) you don't pay for using the glasses and coffee cups. In the loft you are charged if you don't leave them clean ($15). Also, at most best westerns, the breakfest is complimentary - not at this one. Would still go back but ask more questions before booking.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    363
    192
    77
    42
See reviews for
290
354
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Booked through Inghams, be aware your transfer from Calgary airport is 5 and a half hours!- through stunning scenery. The hotel is is at the top end of Jasper, 10 mins from shops/bars. Room had 2 double beds in. Presumably they would put 4 adults in this room. If this is your idea then forget it- you'll be fighting for space. 2-3 people is the max.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. You get a safe, coffee maker and ironing board. There is also a flat screen TV, with about 70 channels on it. Most of them are of ice hockey. Free WIFI access was useful. The room gets incredibly stuffy. We had to open the patio door to circulate some fresh air through the night. There is a nice shower over a bath which is 1 foot deep.
There are ski lockers located downstairs for you use, 2 sets of skis and boots will fit in- they are not heated.
The hotel is actually a motel with a block of rooms in a separate building. It was quiet during the week, but filled up at the weekends with weekend visitors. Some were rowdy and on a sunday morning we found someone sleeping in the hallway which doesn't look good.
Breakfast is a basic cereal/pastries/toast affair unless you "upgrade" for cad$6 and you can have bacon/sausage/egg instead. Nothing to get excited about either way.
Should you eat here in the evening, there is a good selection of dishes, and the ones we had were as nice as anywhere in the town.
There is a small swimming pool available, a jacuzzi, a sauna and a steam room that is heated to about boiling point- you'll not last 5 mins!
All the staff were very nice, especially the bar/restaurant.
The ski bus to the Marmont ski area stops right outside at 8-05am and 9-30am. The first one will get you there for 8-50, just ahead of the lift opening.
The journey back takes about 25 mins.
One other thing, we saw some Elk right outside our balcony, which was pretty cool..but the mice were more suprising- but your are in a National Park after all.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

We stayed one night in November, we read the reviews on line and decided to give it a shot. We arrived around 3 on a Saturday afternoon hoping for a full kitchen suite. Unfortunately, there were none available (should have prebooked but we wanted to look around the townsite at all of our options first). The front desk staff was excellent, she offered us to look at a Queen Loft room with a small kitchenette. We immediately felt that the room would suit us just fine and took her up on the offer. With our AAA it cost $121.50.
The main area consisted of the bathroom, small kitchenette, 2 kitchen chairs with a small table, TV, loveseat and a chair. In the corner was a beautiful wood burning fireplace :). Upstairs (the stairs were extremely narrow and steep) was the loft suite. This included another TV, dresser and the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on...EVER. We really can not say enough about how comfortable it was. The room was very clean.
There were a few things that bothered us about the room, but nothing that will keep us from going back.
1. The bathroom is at the front door, so if you have to go in the middle of the night, you have a long way to travel.
2. The staircase up to the loft suite was very narrow and steep. This made middle of the night bathroom breaks a bit of a challenge.
3. We are not excited about continental breakfasts, we usually opt to order off the menu or enjoy a breakfast/brunch buffet from time to time. While a continental breakfast (until 10am) was included with our stay, the hotel magazines showed that the restaurant also offered full menu and buffet breakfasts. When we arrived at the restaurant at 10:10am the doors were locked. They were no longer serving breakfast. This could have upset more than it did, however, it seems with this being the "LOW" season in Jasper, not many shops or restaurants were open at all. We got used to this, and it eventually became a joke with us.
4. The kids from down the hall were running up and down screaming. I can't put much blame on the hotel for this, the parents should have taken control of the situation. When we returned from dinner at 9pm, all was nice and quiet. No other problems.
Overall, we were very happy with our stay here. The fireplace was a nice touch. We will definately be back, maybe in the summer months when more things are open for us to enjoy :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here. The loft room was quite the deal. The bed and pillows were comfortable. We had a kitchenette and a working fireplace. The kitchenette had all the dishes and pots we would need. The balcony had a great view of the mountians. The pool area was beautiful. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The restaurant was very expensive and there was no complimentry breakfast, which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

The first time I stayed here I was seven, and now as an adult I still love this hotel. (all rooms have been renovated) We stayed in a room with a loft and sitting area. This is a perfect hotel for a family. There is a lot of room and a kitchenette if you would like to make a meal. The fireplace is a nice touch too. We ate in the restaurant twice, for dinner and breakfast. The staff were gracious and kind to our children). We have stayed in the basement suite too, and it was room as well.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

From the reviews I read of other hotels in Jasper, the Best Western is above average. The hotel is clean and well located, although it is towards the far end of the main street. That being said, the walk into downtown is less than 10 minutes. The hotel offers free parking and free wireless internet, and has a decent restaurant on site. It is an all around good, safe bet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Iinitailly we were a little disappointed in arriving at the Jasper Inn, probably because we had stayed at some lovely holidays, on our trip before reaching Jasper, and this is obviously a motel and not a hotel, with all those extra luxuries. We had also heard mixed reports of jasper, so we probably arrived thinking of Jasper as somewhere to stop off to sightsee around the area only and not to stay in Jasper. We however, stayed here 2 nights, and really enjoyed Jasper, and actually really liked our spacious abode at the Inn. Our appartment, had a kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and lounge with a log fire. It was all very clean and very pleasant. We had dinner the first night, at the restaurant on site, as it was late and we weren't sure how long a walk it was to the centre. Food was okay but nothing special, good for location to the appartments though. Also had breakfast there in the morning, buffet breakfast. Would not recommend breakfast there unless you want it for ease of being close to the rooms, as for a cheaper price we found an amazing Italian restaurant , called Cassios Trattoria, in the town centre, opposite the Jasper Train Station, that did breakfasts, cheaper, bigger and a million times better, although you obviously have to walk to that meal. Also had dinner at this Italian, we loved it so much, and again food was amazing and very good prices!! As for Jasper itself, we really loved the place, with it's shops and cafes. It was about 10-15 minute walk from the hotel, if you went through the houses instead of the main high street. Really enjoyed visiting the Icefields from there, and we saw our first bear whilst driving back from Maligne Lake!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites

Address: 98 Geikie Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta TOE 1EO, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jasper Hotel Jasper
Jasper Inn Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.