We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Geikie Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta TOE 1EO, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night when passing through Jasper on our trip between Calgary and Vancouver. The hotel rooms are in different buildings and one of the buildings looks to have been refurbished more recently the the others

We were lucky (being in the refurbished section) and managed to get a suite overlooking the internal garden (and parking lot) the room had it's own balcony and upstairs bedroom. Coffee and tea making facilities were included, the kitchenette had a fridge, cooker and microwave.

Downstairs was the living area, kitchenette and bathroom. Lots of room, all facilities were clean.
The hotel is at one end of the town and is a good 10 minute walk to the shops and restuarants.

Check in was efficient although the reception area is a bit 1970's the quality of service was good. the hotel also has a restuarant but we didn't use it.

Would stay here again but wouldn't come here for the character and charm of the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    362
    192
    77
    42
See reviews for
289
354
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed with the hotel sold out (July long weekend). Check in was reasonable considering this. Not all rooms are in 1 building, so you will need to drive and park near your building. FYI this hotel has no elevators and no air conditioning. We booked a king bed but received a queen bed in a loft suite. There was a little kitchenette but no eating utensils? So strange! A little fire place too but no wood. Maybe because it was summer and this room was very HOT! Despite leaving the patio door open till we went to bed and opening the skylight window we got little to no sleep. Also note that the sun rise will wake u as the loft skylight window has a cheap blind on it that keeps little to no light out.
This hotel is at the far end of the shops strip and is a .5-1 KM walk to a good place to eat or shop at.
Due to the location of this hotel and that the temperature can not be adequately regulated, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear MyDanesRock

We are very sorry to hear that you would not stay with us again and disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We would like to take this opportunity to explain a few of the issues that you encountered.

We do provide one complimentary fire log if a guest wishes to use the fireplace in their room. We are sorry that you did not find the cutlery. There is a drawer that pulls out from the table in the kitchen where it is located. Sometimes it is missed and our apologies for any inconvenience.
Our location in the mountains surprises us with very few days requiring A/C. Fans are supplied in each room with extra fans available if required. Our apologies for your uncomfortably warm experience.
Our location offers our guests a quieter experience than the downtown area which is a close 10 minute stroll.
We would welcome the opportunity to make amends should you be travelling in our area in the future.
If you are willling to give us a another try and with a different room type, please contact the General Manager and quote reference # J612
Sincerely
The Best Western Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I loved this place from the minute we walked in. We had a loft room and in the morning we had a friendly crow would come and sit on sky light and peck on it. The location is perfect, fresh fruit from reception every day and the meal I had at the restaurant was the best lamb shank I have ever had! We had so much space to move around. Not cold enough to use our open fire. Only draw back was having to lug our suitcases up 2 flights of stairs as no lifts. Still I would highly recommend you stay here. Laundry facilities onsite.

Room Tip: Loft room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We tried two room types at this hotel:

Our first room was located in the motel-type building facing Geikie St (which, I should note, had very little traffic at night). We had a suite with a separate bedroom, full kitchen and sleeper sofa in the living area. It was very clean. It was nice to have the separate bedroom since we were traveling with children. Decor seemed a little dated and we found the room a tad dark. Later, we also tried a room with 2 queen beds on the same premises, but located in another building, behind the first building, looking out onto a pretty, Japanese-style garden. That building has more of a hotel feel to it. The room was spacious, felt newer, had a lovely balcony and huge modern bathroom. It was very nice and so quiet. But here, the family slept all together in one room!

There was a small issue with one of our rooms and it was dealt with very quickly and to our satisfaction by the friendly receptionists. So I would definitely go there again and recommend the place, as they are concerned with their customers' comfort and well-being and I was impressed with the way they solved our problem.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and the employees in the dining room were very helpful and hard-working.

We were not able to try the pool as it was closed for maintenance on the night we wanted to go swimming, but we did use the laundry facilities and were very impressed: they are spacious and bright and there are quite a few machines. Just be careful to finish up your laundry before they close the room at 10pm, or your clothes gets locked up for the night! :-)

On another note, we found that the hotel was an easy 10min walk to the shops and restaurants, through a pleasant residential area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Overall, I think it's a decent place to stay in Jasper. A few things about this hotel that we experienced:

- It's not in "downtown" Jasper where most restaurants and shops are but it's only a few minutes drive (Jasper is a small town and there are plenty of free parking lots around).

- Parking lot in the hotel can be full (or almost full) at times but we were able find a parking spot every time (though at one time we took the last spot at the back of the hotel).

- There was no air-conditioned but a fan was provided.

- Bed and blanket were not as comfortable as we would hope for (it was kind of bed set you see in an old style hotel) but I don't think it's a deal breaker when you consider this hotel.

- The rate did not include breakfast but the unit had full kitchen so you can save some money by cooking easy breakfast and brewing coffee yourself (that's what we did). Also, in June 2012 when we were there, they did charge C$15 for cleaning the dishes but you can avoid it by cleaning them yourself (again that's what we did and it only took us 5 minutes or so).

- Staff were helpful and friendly. They changed the room type for us at check-in based on our request in the booking (we wanted high floor but we originally chose room type that was only available at ground floor). They also advised us on how to book activities.

- Amenities seem to be good. There was a pool and a restaurant in the hotel though we didn't use any so I can't comment on them except that they are available.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have balconies (at least from what I saw) and don't have direct exposure to car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Although my wife felt the room smelled of a dog, after an airing, it was fine. We had a large room with fireplace and full kitchen, neither of which we used.

Check in was fast and friendly and although we were offered a 15% discount at their restaurant we didn't use it. We were too busy being on the go and enjoying the area.

All in all, it was a decent place to get a good night's sleep and the price was right.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We went to Jasper in May and stayed for a night in one of the suites. We had a room with a double bed, and then there were 3 single beds in the loft upstairs for the rest. The kitchenette was clean, the Living room well laid out with a couch, TV and fireplace. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was really good, lots to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites

Address: 98 Geikie Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta TOE 1EO, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jasper Hotel Jasper
Jasper Inn Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.