We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cabins are tooooo small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Hill Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bear Hill Lodge to your Saves list
Bear Hill Lodge
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cabins are tooooo small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

it was a lovely place, but you couldn't swing a cat in the cabin, we had a cabin for two couples, it was tiny, one person in the kitchen at a time, great location, great staff, but the cabin was TINY

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    126
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
61
133
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

My boyfriend and I set off on our road trip from Lake Louise up the Icefields Parkway without any idea where we would stay at the other end - we randomly picked out Bear Hill in the guidebook as a Sat Nav address. We couldn't believe our luck when we pulled up at this gorgeous place and they had a cabin left! Very comfortable and quiet - situated away from the main strip of town (walkable distance - probably half a mile) so its peaceful. The cabin was spotless and very comfortable. There's a supermarket not far down the main road for supplies, and Jasper is a beautiful place. You won't go far wrong basing yourself here if you want to see the stunning scenery, its also a perfect place to relax. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

This was our splurge accommodation on an otherwise budget backpack accross Canada. It was so worth it. The location was amazing - wake up to mountains (though that's probably true of most places in Jasper). It's a short walk out of town - enough for it to seem quiet but easy walking distance to the main street.

Our room was amazing - so warm!! Really clean and cosy and had everything you needed. We had a Queen Cottage which had a little kitchenette which was well equipped. The bed was really comfy and the bathroom was a decent size.

Overall, it was brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

The room was clean and comfortable. The location was quiet and close to restaurants and town center. The staff were friendly and capable. Breakfast was included and was of good quality. The price was competitive with other Jasper locations. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning at a future date.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The Forest cottage was even more comfortable and well laid out than even a comfort room at Coast Edmonton Plaza. The washroom is more spacious than the Days Inn, Prince George . About the soap way better than the disaster we had at Days Inn Prince George. We had been upgraded into a Colin room for the 2nd night after our journey to Prince George and back with VIA rail. I found the entire room way better than a Fairmont Empress, Victoria (Deluxe sea view room). All in all a warm and soothing stay we had with Bear hill lodge. The breakfast was awesome especially with bakery from Bears Paw which is included in the Forest cottage. Looking forward to going back soon, may be next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

This was our second hotel out of seven on our roadtrip from Clagary to Vancouver. The hotel is set slightly outside the centre of Jasper and I would estimate it took 15-20 minutes to walk into town.
After reading some reviews I was fairly nervous and if your expecting the Hilton, go someone else, but for our two night stay in Jasper it was perfect.
There is no getting away from it, the lodges are small, with one double and one single bed in the room. If you're a couple then the single bed is perfect to rest your cases on. The bathroom is also small, but very clean and with sufficient towels. I took towels on this trip after reading somewhere on here that the towels were so thin. Granted, they're not amazing, but they do the job - do not weigh down your case with towels!!
The breakfast was fine. Toast, fruit salad and gorgeous muffins and cakes from the bakery in town.
My only complaint and I don't want to put anyone off, was the extractor fans in the bathroom are very loud and when the ajoining cabin failed to turn there's off, the noise was very clear in our room. My husband knocked next door and they kindly turned it off, but there is no way you could have slept with it on.
We sat outside both evenings on the picnic bench and if your lucky, Elks wonder around the grounds and one even settled for the night not far from our lodge. Lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We booked two cabins for an extended family getaway. The location was excellent with many amenities located within walking distance. Our bungalow was very well equipped and comfortable. The towels and TV could stand to be replaced. The beds were OK. I slept well but they are small. There was no vacancy while we were there but even though it was full, it remained quiet. The other guests we did meet were very friendly and very tolerant of our family get togethers outdoors. I would definitely stay here again and would love to make it a yearly event as I found it suited our needs perfectly. The staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Hill Lodge

Address: 100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bear Hill Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bear Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hill Hotel Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Hill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.