We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably safe bet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Hill Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bear Hill Lodge to your Saves list
Bear Hill Lodge
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berkshire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reasonably safe bet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

We stayed here for 4 nights, in a Queen Cottage, late May, early June. The room was clean and comfortable and the kitchenette reasonably well equipped. We were in walking distance to the main town centre so plenty of restaurants to hand.
Was maybe a little overpriced, although probably no worse than many other places in this area. My only complaint was that their web site paints quite a lavish picture of the available breakfast. Sadly the reality proved very disappointing and, at $8 per person, I recommend investing in some goodies of your own and making use of the kitchenette in the room.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    126
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
61
133
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

This was the worst place we stayed on a two week trip in Canada. We were given cabin 3 which is right next to the main lodge, the laundry and ice room and a drinks vending machine! The room itself was tired and was sweltering when we arrived thanks to a gas fireplace that you can't turn off. The bed was also very hard and uncomfortable. Maybe it was just our cabin, but despite the good location, I certainly wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2006

Stayed at Bear Hill Lodge for 3 nights and were very impressed with the cabin and the staff. We had 4 people in our group and booked the "Deluxe" accommodations, which consists of two separate rooms with an adjoining door between them. The larger room had a kitchen, kitchen table, fridge, stove & oven, 2 double beds, large couch and two oversize chairs, large fireplace, TV and private deck which looked out at nothing but trees and deer! The second room was smaller, but still had 2 double beds, 2 comfy chairs, TV, fridge and another private deck.

Having arrived on a Thursday night during "off season" we pretty much had the place to ourselves - things picked up on the weekend and the "No Vacancy" sign was lit, however, it was very quiet and peaceful during our entire stay.

The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly, and we encountered about 4 or 5 different people depending on what time we visited the front office. Never did get around to using the hot tub, but the area it's in looked very nice.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lodge to anyone, and I'd certainly go back myself.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2006

The bear hill lodge is located in a like residential area. Its just a 3 minute drive away from the town centre which is quite small in comparison to Banff. We stayed for two nights in a cabin with two sleeping rooms. Everything was well maintained and clean. The rate was quite reasonable. So i would say that this lodge is a good choice and definitely better than staying again in one of those motels which are lookin all the same.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

This was one of the stays on our honeymoon. It was the least expensive of our accomodations however also one of the most memorable. We stayed in the most basic hut which comprised of a double bed, a single bed (to put our suit cases onto!) , TV, gas fire, and a recently refitted clean and tidy bathroom. Jasper is only a 10-15 walk away and great mountain views. We found it to be a good location to explore Icefields Parkway which was a 60 minute drive away. Well worth doing for the spectacular scenery! A nice continental breakfast was included. We could park the car right outside.

We had a great stay here!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2005

We arrived in Jasper one day early, and fell upon the Bear Hill lodge. The room was quite expensive, but well worth it. Good location as it was a little out of town - 5/10 minute walk. Room was beautiful (we stayed in one of the rooms above the reception) and I loved the large fire and high backed armchairs - great for romance! Nice, comfortable bed and fantastic spacious bathroom. Would definitely stay again, but would prefer price to come down a little.

Whilst in Jasper, if you like real ale, try the Jasper brewing co. - great range. Best food we had in the area was a 10 minute drive out of town at Pyramid lake (within their lodging complex) but the pizza place opposite the train track was good too.

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2005

We stayed in the Colin room just above the main building, which was pleasant enough and had some lovely views of the mountains. Unfortunately it did not have the balcony we were expecting (and payed more for) but just a landing at the top of the stairs with 2 very old and stained plastic chairs. But what really let this place down was the level of service. We would have appreciated a smile and a word of welcome before being asked for an imprint of our credit card and someone at reception who was a little more knowledgeable about the place. Don't stay here if you are expecting a homely atmosphere and welcome, but all in all still quite a good place to stay.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Hill Lodge

Address: 100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bear Hill Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bear Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hill Hotel Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Hill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.