We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confrontational Management in wrong LIne of Work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Hill Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bear Hill Lodge to your Saves list
Bear Hill Lodge
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Calgary
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Confrontational Management in wrong LIne of Work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Generally, Bear Hills' advertising does not match up with Bear Hills' reality. The site is dusty and the "park like" area pictured on the web site behind the studio units is nothing more than a utilities right of way between some private homes and a neighboring hotel parking lot. I must agree with the reviewer who noted that the Bear Hills management was confrontational. It was interesting to note in other reviews that there appeared to be a change for the worse with the new ownership a few years back. Our summer 2009 experience was quite negative. The units were very dark and worn. Bathrooms were in rough condition and the towels were like sandpaper. There is no dishwasher in the kitchen units (an appliance that I would consider a necessity in a kitchen used by myriad travelers), but there is a curt note informing the guest that you had better wash your dishes or you will be charged a fee! We bought disposables, as we were uncertain of the cleanliness of dishes that strangers had washed by hand (with rather worn and dirty looking dishcloths and tea towels). The unit we were in was a studio with the sleeping area near the kitchen area. The kitchen sink had a sleep-disturbing drip. Upon reporting this to the office after our first night, we were told they would not likely "get to it" during our stay and that we should perhaps leave a dish cloth at the bottom of the sink to catch the drips. We did this, and the cloth was drenched by morning. Obviously, a persistent drip existed. And we were not offerd aclean dish cloth to use for our dishes! Even so, we were told upon leaving a few days later (no one ever addressed the matter with us personally) that there was no drip. Management disregarded our side of the story entirely. Finally, there was a mix-up in the reservation (partly our fault) and when we returned to our unit on what we thought was our last night at the "lodge" we found all our belongings piled in the unlocked breakfast room. Staff had gone through our personal items and dumped them in a heap in dirty plastic cartons. We were told that "there was nothing they could do" and "for all we knew you had been in a accident and were dead". Not a professional approach. We were offered a discount on our bill, but that was little compensation for a ruined week. Avoid Bear Hills!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    125
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
57
133
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The BHL is located on the hotel-strip approx. 10 minutes by foot from Jasper's main drag.
We stayed for 2 nights and must have gotten one of the old units, called "forest cottage", bigger and apparently better units seemed available.
The unit was extremely small with a single and double bed and not much else. The dining table was so minimalistic that the coffee maker and ice bucket occupied the whole area. A refrigerator was not available. The only means of heating was the gas-fireplace which was hooked up to the thermostat, which work just fine. Unfortunately the fireplace made some banging noise all night which kept us awake, once we switched it off arctic freeze overcame us in a hurry. The bathroom was spacious enough and seemed recently renovated with Home Depot appliances, rather patchy than practical. Shower pressure was good and water temperature was hot. The bathroom did not have its own heating system and needed to be heated with the before mentioned fireplace, which was only possible if we left the bathroom door open for warm air to flow through. The open bathroom door however covered-up the corner-mounted TV completely....
The bed was a cheap foam mattress atop a home-build box, both of us had extreme back pain after the 2nd night. Most uncomfy bed we slept in ever!
A wardrobe was also not built-in, but rather a rack with a couple of wire hangers was all she wrote.
The unit was absolutely not soundproof, it was quiet for the most part with no one else walking or driving around, but once other guests arrived you could understand every notion, even with windows closed.

The breakfast room was very basic, but continental brekkie was ok, make sure you arrive early to get a table. Overall the hotel staff were friendly and polite.
Although the BHL sits on a nice patch of land with endless possibilities, it does not seem to be well maintained at all. The unit appeared extremely cheap and patched together, it reminded me of one of those old-style youth hostels, YMCA style!
For the rate charged one can easily find something a lot better or add another 20 bucks and stay at the excellent Patricia Lake Bungalows instead, if a cabin atmosphere is desired.

If we'd ever consider the BHL again I would have a look at a chalet room, stay away from the above mentioned cottage!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearHillLodge, Front Office Manager at Bear Hill Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
On our website we describe the Forest Cottage this way: "It's not large, but it's suitable for two guests for a couple of nights - or longer if you're good friends!" We recommend this B&B cabin for those seeking value accommodation for a short stay and not in need of much space.

The small table in the room is not intended as a dining table; larger accommodations with fridge and/or kitchen are available. However, if a guest does have a few items they need refrigerated they may always ask to use the refrigerator in the main lodge during their stay.

Mattress preference is very personal. We are proud of our high-density posturepedic foam mattresses and we get far, far more positive comments than negative. They are NOT cheap! We regret you didn't have a good sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Room was recently renovated and clean. Beds were relatively new and comfortable. Cleaning staff was good. Bathroom sink stopper was detached and the shower head was so loose that it sprayed water all over the bathroom. The office closed at 8 PM before we discovered these problems and we repaired them ourselves as we needed both sink and shower before the office opened in the morning. Wireless internet was provided but the reception was poor and cut out several times per hour.

We rented the chalet for it's wood fireplace. Unfortunately the firewood was green and no matches or lighter were provided. When we requested dry firewood the next day we got more of the same. We ended up buying firelogs the next day to heat the wood enough so that it would smolder and provide the scent of a wood fire.

When we reported the the deficiencies at check out, Management got confrontational. He did refund most of the cost differential between a queen room and the queen chalet with fireplace for 1 night without our requesting it.

While the fireplace problem was relatively minor, we had planned spending our anniversary curled up in front of a fire with a bottle of Champagne. Instead I spent an hour driving around Jasper trying to find firewood and matches and after being unable to find dry firewood, we drank the champagne while we tried to get the wood to burn.

There are other places to stay in similar condition and at similar prices. In the future we will stay at another place. If you don't want a fire or internet service it is acceptable

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed at the Bear Hill Lodge during our three summer holiday in August 2008 for two nights and had a fantastic stay. We had one of the Forest Cottages which was ample room for the two of us and was clean, relatievly modern and spacious. The bed was reasonable comfortable but you don't come to Jasper National Park to sleep! We had breakfast at the Lodge both mornings which provided an excellent mixture of cold food and set us up for the day. Sometimes the breakfast area would get busy and I could imagine they would run out of tables if everyone showed up at once!

We found this a great place to put our heads down after our days exploring the park and found it a great base to get around the park. We spent two nights in Banff afterwards so didn't use it as a base to explore south of the Athabasca Glacier.

  • Liked — Great cabin in a great location outside Jasper city centre
  • Disliked — Leaving Jasper National Park :o(
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

We stayed 3 nights in a Heritage Cabin in late October 2008. We have a small dog and usually stay at the Jasper Inn since it allows pets. We found the last couple of stays at the Jasper Inn unpleasant - the rooms where pets were allowed were dirty and very overpriced. The Bear Hill Lodge is directly behind the Jasper Inn, and always looked so clean and inviting, so we gave it a try.

The Heritage Cabin was extremely clean, well supplied and had everything we needed. It was very comfortable, the location was lovely, and we left feeling we got far more for our money than we've gotten anywhere else we stay at Jasper. We decided to book a cabin for Christmas, and the front desk staff could not have been more helpful in helping us with options and pricing. They even showed us cabins so we could select the one we wanted.

We would not hesitate to recommend the BHL to anyone. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Liked — cleanliness, quiet, it felt like no-one else was there although it was full
  • Disliked — restaurant not open for breakfast in fall/winter
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Reasonable price and good breakfast. No facilities for evening meal but loads of really good restaurants in Jasper.

  • Liked — Little bungalow with car parking outrside your door
  • Disliked — A bit small but larger rooms than ours were available
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed for one night over the Labour Day long weekend. Bear Hill Lodge is very conveniently located, easy to find (as everything in Jasper is), a short walk to the town and picturesquely nestled at the side of the mountain. The included breakfast consisted of the best muffiins and scones EVER, cereal, toast, yogurt and a nice bowl of mix fruit - as well as juice and coffee. The price seemed very high ($185 with taxes)but for Jasper it is in line. We did not have a cabin, rather one of the rooms upstairs in the 'lodge'. The room itself was spotless and provided all we needed - ie a bed, very small dresser and little table with two chairs. There was room for absolutely nothing else so fortunately there were only two of us!!!! Despite the fact that we thouroughly enjoyed our stayed and have no complaints about the friendliness of the staff, I would perhaps look for a 'b and b' next time simply due to price. As well, we were awoken very early with some strange noise below us that went on for several hours and virtually ended our nights rest - it sounded like a blender being continually turned on and off??? Our room was #35 - possibly a room to avoid. Other than the complaints about 'size and price' we found the cons others have mentioned completely unfounded during our stay... fortunately for us!

  • Liked — great location, gorgeous scenery
  • Disliked — size and price, weird noise in the a.m.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Hill Lodge

Address: 100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bear Hill Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bear Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hill Hotel Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Hill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.