We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice romantic spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pyramid Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Pyramid Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pyramid Lake Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Coast Pyramid Lake Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Jasper
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice romantic spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and clean rooms. The view from our room was amazing but since anyone can just walk by your window on the way to their room we didn't really keep the curtains open. The hot tub was nice but the change room left a little to be desired. The floor was wet and ice cold. No lockers either. So don't take valuables down. The water in the shower has lots of minerals so women, be aware with your hair! Mine felt like straw!

So cozy with the fireplace! But we could hear people above us walking and showering, and the blanket is a slippery material and was on the floor most of the night. Otherwise the bed was comfy!

Will be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    108
    51
    38
    21
See reviews for
75
120
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were surprised to see this resort open as we passed by en route to the island. A hockey rink, skating paths and curling rocks were set up on the lake, and hot cocoa was served at the hut. Not sure if it was only for guests, but we went up to the restaurant for lunch. The waitress told us they are now open year round... but the sign said only Thursday to Sunday, not sure what was accurate.
The chef tried hard, but the quality of the food/service was not great. The waitress sneezed on the entire platter of full water glasses and cutlery, then served them to us anyways. The chicken wings and fries had soaked up too much oil in the luke-warm deep fryer, and our son found a huge hair in his sandwich on his last bite. UGH. We left thirsty, and more than a little grossed out. But it's open :)
Great view, this place has potential.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPMJasper, Manager at Pyramid Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to Pyramid Lake Resort. This is the first winter in close to 10 years the resort is open however we are operating the restaurant on limited days of operation. Currently the restaurant is open for dinner Thursday to Saturday nights, and Friday to Sunday for breakfast and lunch. We regret any confusion this may have caused.

We also appreciate the candid comments on the service and the food and have reviewed these comments with the restaurant staff in order to improve our offering.

Thank you to all those guests who have taken the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

-Beautiful rooms, phenomenal scenery. We went in late Nov 2012, gorgeous! and will definitely be back in the summer. but its a beautiful drive, hotel is worth the drive.
-Its a 10 minute drive from the Jasper town site
-The pool and restaurant are closed for the winter which sucks. The bonus is that there are numerous restaurants in Jasper that will deliver.
- If you want a lake view make sure you request it when you book and when you get there cause I requested it at booking and when we got there we had a 'lake' view if you could see through all the tree branches..

Room Tip: -request lake view when you arrive and when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We recently stayed for one night at the Pyramid Lake Resort. The front desk staff was wonderful both at check-in and check-out, very friendly, informative and efficient. The room itself is average but clean with great views. This is a neat getaway place and has a modernly rustic feel. The fireplace in each room is romantic (and warms the place up when it's -30) lol. Being away from the town itself makes it very quiet, however if you are there for nightlife it might not be right for you. We will be going back in February and taking the kids with us to do some skiing, and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights for a last minute get away.
The resort is well located out of the town,

What we liked :
- The amazing fireplace in the room for the romantic side
- The make up remover and shower cup for my wife
- The breathtaking view on the lac and the mountains from the cabin is awesome
- The outside fireplace in front of the ice rinks
- The quality of the service and the the food at the restaurant
- The attention of the restaurant manager
- The quiet place 5 minutes from the town without traffic and light pollution
- The extra pillows and blankets provided in the room
- The safe in the room that 5 stars hotel don't have
- The sufficient guest parking just in front of the room
- The fireplace again, for the heat

What we didn't like:
- The staff at the reception that don't have knowledge about their facility and packages offered at the resort
- The keys were recorded for 1 night and we had to go back to the reception after moving back and forth our staffs on the second night
- The very small fridge which was full of ice in the freezer

The overall was a great experience for a romantic and quiet get away that we recommend to any couple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Pyramid Lake Resort consists of a series of mountain chalet style log cabins set in a slope overlooking Pyramid Lake. The location is the main attraction of this resort. It is located towards the end of a narrow winding road above the Jasper townsite. The location is very quiet, especially in winter. The cabins look over Pyramid Lake, which is surrounded by beautiful mountains. The views from the rooms are spectacular. At the end of the road is Pyramid Island, which you can reach by a small bridge. This scenic island is often chosen as the setting for weddings. There is a small skating rink across the road from the hotel. There are cross country ski trails in the area, and the perimeter of the lake is also great for skiing,

The resort's restaurant, the Lakeside Pub, offers great food. The portions are not huge, but each dish is inventively prepared and presented. We found the food to be delicious.

The rooms are spacious. The decor is homey, comfortable and done in mountain style. We stayed in Executive Loft #33. Our room had two stories and two bathrooms. The upper loft with its A-frame ceilings didn't have a lot of head room above the walls. But it does have huge windows with a beautiful view. We had two flat screen TVs and a fire place. Each floor also has a mini fridge built into a cabinet. There is a coffee maker but no microwave.

The loft bathroom has a tub but no shower,although the main floor bathroom has a full bath/shower. The hair dryer is in a bag hidden behind the door in the main floor bathroom. Our room was clean and everything was in good condition.

The door handles are a bit stiff to turn, and the card keys require a bit of effort to insert.

The resort allows dogs, which was a plus for us. Dog owners should be aware that there is a wolf pack in the area that has been known to prey on dogs.

There are no plug ins for your vehicle at the executive lofts, but there are plug-ins at the other cabins which we were able to use.

I would recommend Pyramid Lake Resort for anyone who appreciates comfortable accommodation in a quiet and beautiful wilderness setting. It is very quiet and peaceful and the location is spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Location is beautiful 2 ice rinks for skating and hockey were flatted down in the lake. The room clean but too small, not enough blankets and pillows for the number of persons.
the bathroom need complete renovation. Doesn"t worth the price. Beautiful architecture, but not a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pyramid Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramid Lake Resort

Address: Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Coast Pyramid Lake Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pyramid Lake Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pyramid Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Pyramid Lake Hotel Jasper
Pyramid Lake Jasper
Coast Pyramid Lake Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyramid Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.