We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maligne Adventures

Maligne Adventures
616 Patricia Street | PO Box 1088, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
+1 866-625-4463
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #4 of 25 activities in Jasper
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Jasper's Best Rafting is available only with Maligne Rafting Adventures. Class 3+ white water on the Fraser and Sunwapta Rivers offer great splashes and incredible scenery. Family friendly runs on the Athabasca River are a great way to spend a day in Jasper National Park. Join our Wildlife & Waterfalls tour to enjoy the best of Jasper's lakes and waterfalls. Daily departures at 9:30 and 12:30 showcase Maligne Lake, Maligne Canyon and all the wildlife in between.
Flatts Village, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So much fun!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took the the Sunwapta rafting trip. I was a little nervous at first, but, the staff are really amazing and instill a lot of confidence and knowledge in what they do. I took my 2 boys, ages 13 and 18. This was the best part of their trip to the Rocky Mountains! Our rafting guide, Josh (I think it was Josh from London, Ontario), the best. Thank you!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    9
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Slave Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Short but sweet-Fraser River Rafting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am torn with this experience with Maligne Adventures. This review is for Fraser River Rafting only. This would be a better rating if there were either more rafting (1 Hour 15 min) or less travel (1 hour each way). Since it is both short rafting and long travel, I rate this trip 3 of 5. This is a good class 3 trip. I also liked the scenery and guides. There is little choice in Jasper for a better rafting experience and I am glad that I went, though I would not go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A highlight of our whole holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

It took some courage for me to take a Whitewater rafting trip, but it turned out to be one of the highlights of our whole holiday. I chose the Heritage run as it was a longer trip with just class 2 rapids, it was the right choice for us. The whole trip was incredibly well organised, we met at the Maligne Adventures centre in town and were driven to our starting point while being entertained and briefed on what to expect by our excellent guide Corey. On arrival at the raft departure point we were issued with our wetsuits and given a very detailed safety brief covering all possible outcomes. Then in groups of 6 we got into our rafts and spun off onto the river. Although we all had paddles we only had to use them in short bursts as Corey steered the raft most of the time and the fast flowing river propelled us forward. We were a mixed age group and there was excellent camaraderie in the raft, we all had great fun, assisted by Corey who was very entertaining, amusing and informative throughout the whole trip, yet clearly taking his duties seriously, breaking off to give us instructions where necessary.
The teenagers were in the front of the raft and got soaked several times as we paddled into the 7 sets of grade 2 rapids.The Heritage run is one of the longer trips and I would highly recommend it for anyone other than those seeking a much more challenging adventure.
While we were rafting, another member of the Maligne adventures team placed himself at strategic points and took some brilliant photos of us right at the point of the rapids action. While these kind of revenue boosting photos can be a waste of money, these were a brilliant souvenir of an exciting adventure that we couldn't have capture for ourselves. Overall, a fabulous trip and well worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked a rafting trip for our family of six. Parents and four kids ages 8 to 16 on the 5 mile run on the Athabasca river. Our guide was Tim and he was helpful, full of information and very good with the kids. We could not have asked for a better guide. The raft ride was a perfect combination of float and rapids for our first time out. It only made us hungry for more though! The kids had a chance to jump in the river for a quick swim in the river as well, the scenery was incredible and Tim had all the answers to our many questions about wildlife and the area. You are provided with wet suits (including booties) and life jackets. Instruction on safety is done before you get in the river, the paddling is not too much for young children and it is a whole lot of fun!

Our bus driver doubled as the photographer and took some incredible photos! The $25 price for the cd was reasonable and we bought it. We can hardly wait to go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wildlife and waterfalls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this trip to Maligne Lake to give me a break from driving. I was expecting a shuttle bus to the Lake, a trip on the Lake over to Spirit Island and then back to Jasper. How wrong! With our guide Katie, we had the most amazing day ever! Although billed as a half day tour, Katie was so generous with her time, that after ascertaining that none of us had a hair appointment that afternoon, she took her time to make sure we had the best experience. She was a super, knowledgeable and witty guide and she made sure that whenever we stopped, everyone had taken their photos before we set off again (we were a party of 8). The hike around the Canyon was terrific and armed with her knowledge, from now on I will always buy the correct Christmas tree that doesn't shed needles! The guides on the boat trip at the Lake were also friendly and entertaining. On the way back we spotted a beautiful elk and the highlight: a black bear. This trip was one of the highlights of our holiday and worth every penny. Katie, you do an amazing job!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maligne Adventures also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Maligne Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maligne Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maligne Adventures to your Saves list