We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, overpriced, & very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jasper Park Golf Course

Jasper Park Golf Course
Old Lodge Rd | Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0 , Canada
780 852 3301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 attractions in Jasper
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This Stanley Thompson-designed golf course offers 18 challenging holes stretched over 6,598 yards at par 71.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overrated, overpriced, & very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

As per all old National Park courses, JPL is overrated & overpriced but is still a very nice play & worth splurging.
Score golf rates it #4 in Canada, too high in my estimation.
Pro shop service was not very good the day we played it. Tom met us at the bag drop & did a nice job of greeting, giving directions, loading the clubs etc. Once inside the pro shop I was not made to feel welcome. The pro shop staff were too concerned with running after members & aquantances to be bothered with me standing with my cc out wanting to pay. After the round I dropped the cart off, took care of my own bags & left without any of the staff offering assistance or asking about the round etc, like one would expect at a top rated course. The girls in the snack shacks were very friendly & good at their jobs.
The course itself is your typical older course, not very long, not overly difficult, but nicely laid out with great views of the mountains. Some of the greens were in pretty rough shape with patches sewed into them, but for the time of year, overall they were acceptable. When all was said & done, I enjoyed myself,it was a memorable day & I will go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Golfer's Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Jasper Park Golf Course lived up to its reputation as one the best in Canada. The course is interesting and well maintained and has some of the most beautiful vistas you will ever see on a golf course. If you are a golfer, this is one course you will want to be sure to play. Make sure you bring along a camera, as this course is worthy of not just golf but photography as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The best scenery of all the golf courses in the Rockies. Staff is great and course was in fine shape.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricey but pretty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is an expensive place and you would expect the best. The course is very scenic. The golf is challenging. It is one of those places you have to golf at least once. My experience was a good one but I have played places where you got better value.
I have two criticisms. For the price you pay you would expect a GPS Installed. I found determining the distances to be very difficult. On a course of this nature with large numbers of visiting players, it would greatly speed the rate of play. Our group took nearly 6 hours to play 18 holes. The other complaint was the condition of the greens. A number of holes had bare spots. one hole had two large tire tracks across my line of putting.
If you want good value, scenery, and good golf, I recommend Eagle Ranch in Invermere. This is a first rate facility! I golfed this the day after I golfed Jasper and the experience was far superior. The course is great fun and the facilities are excellent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Go Golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spectacular views however a bit pricey since it is a Fairmont property. Greens are very fast and heavy bookings leave one feeling rushed. The season is short here and can be chilly. Worth braving the elements for the rugged mountain experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasper Park Golf Course also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Jasper Park Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasper Park Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jasper Park Golf Course to your Saves list