We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Bistro and Lounge

Olive Bistro and Lounge
6 Pyramid Lake Rd, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta AB T0E 1E0 , Canada
780-852-5222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 79 Restaurants in Jasper
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Greek, Tapas
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Westerose, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Service, food and atmosphere were exceptional. A little pricy but very accomodating and friendly service.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    75
    25
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Went there on the weekend and the waitress was amazing. Service was really very good because of the waitress. I had ordered the chicken chipotle salad and I thought that I saw avocados on the menu. However, when I got my saald which was kind of small, there were no avocados and I thought that perhaps I had misread the menu. When I got my bill though, it said chicken and avocados on the bill itself. So that kind of left me disappointed that they had left avocados out of the dish. Perhpas it wouldn't have been so small if it had avocados. The rest of the food was very good. And the tomato soup was amazing.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“OK, nothing to rave about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had dinner here 1 night. The food was ok. What we didn't like is the server being in our face lot of the time we were there. 1 minute after she brought out the food, she was asking what the first bite was like. We hadn't had the chance to have our first bite. And it kept going. I don't call that good service. I call it a crawl job for the tip. I find it degrading for the server and that was the only reason I didn't tell her to leave us alone to eat our dinner in piece.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quite impressed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We went not once, but twice to Olive Bistro, in order to test the theory that they make great food and have a good atmosphere. We weren't disappointed.
Granted, some items didn't knock our socks off, fries are fries and naan is bland..but salads yummy, bison burger juicy, chickpea curry dish (very nice),carrot curry soup(over the top), home made breads(awesome)..enough for our thumbs up votes! Enough variety and daring here.
Restaurant is clean but not modern or thematically "together". It has its charms, open skylight window area, good live music, an impressive musician's wall of posters, relaxed lounge area and nice choice of bevies.
Servers are polite, warm, but slightly frazzled at times. Structure? Don't know...but quite attentive when required. A bit slow, but if its the kitchen there's enough "good vibe" ambience to keep one chill.
The owner Darryl (hope I spelled it right) was a star, charming, welcoming, gracious and professional.
Not a cookie cutter establishment nor a 5 star snob spot, but a place to eat a comforting meal, laugh, relax and just enjoy.
Kudos: accomodation was made for my food "challenges" and I am very tickled with the care they took to ensure my dining experience had no glitches.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent though like much in Jasper, pricy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We went with our daughter who works in a Jasper hotel and regularly recommends this to customers - who regularly thank her afterwards. We had the coconut prawns, bruschetta, strip loin, lamb, lasagna, salmon and desert - so a good broad selection from the menu. Everything was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed. It wasn't cheap, but great food and great service. I'd recommend stopping in for the "Banana Split" dessert if nothing else. I was really too full to eat it, but didn't let that stop me!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Bistro and Lounge also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Olive Bistro and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Bistro and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.