We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bear's Den: 2 bdrm/kitchen suite in Jasper town

The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
Living Room
fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom 2
bathroom 2 with soaker bathtub/shower
Jasper
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
amblinaga...
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We were three adults and had the entire basement suite. The place is wonderfully decorated, very clean, and has everything you need including a full kitchen and washer/dryer, all of which we made use of. Can highly recommend the Bear's Den in Jasper. It is in town, so restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The decor, location, easy to book!
Liked least: Not much view from the basement
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AnthonyLA...
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - my only comment : book early.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family with 2 boys and rented both rooms, which is perfect for our family. Lydia was a great host and very helpful in providing advices on activities. (Indeed, she has been very helpful in helping me to find other alternative accommodation when our original plan could not fit with her availability. However, given the excellent comments from other TA users, we decided to change our plan to fit with her schedule. Hence, we have high expectations and are glad that we did change our plan.)

The apartment is very well maintained and the kitchen is well stocked / equipped with all the necessities we need for cooking. While the apartment is in the basement level (ie there are stairs that you need to walk down), the house is reasonably well-lit and you could still see the sky from the window. Jasper is a very nice town to stay and we would love to come back to stay in Bear's Den.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Full kitchen with both washing and drying machines. The apartment is well stocked of all necessities.
Liked least: Can't think of any.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
bigdogfan
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional comfort and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Bear's Den was a lucky find. Having researched the hotel accommodation in the area I decided I didn't want to book into any of the regular hotels or lodges but wanted something more personable. The Bears Den is a little gem. Gerry and Lydia have gone the extra mile to provide every sort of home comfort, even to the extent of providing a spare tooth brush for the unprepared or forgetful! There are 2 rooms / suites and we stayed in the more expensive one. It consisted of a bedroom with a very comfortable double bed, an open plan lounge / diner / kitchen and a bathroom with bath and shower above. Everything was spotless and in extremely good order. There was a tv and a good music collection plus an amazing DVD collection (bad weather no problem!!). No problem either with internet connection. In the kitchen area was a cooker, microwave, grill, toaster, coffee maker, fridge/freezer etc. The cupboards were stocked with all the basics so need to pack that bit of salt,cooking oil or condiment or worry about making tea and coffee. We used the washer / dryer and caught up with all our washing (washing powder provided of course!). An iron was provided too. In fact it was clear that a great effort had been made to cover every need or eventuality. If all this wasn't enough the Bear's Den is also a few minutes walk from the two main streets in Jasper so no need to drive if you don't want to. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Jasper and will be recommending to our family to book here when they make their tour of the Canadian Rockies. A word of caution though .... Book well in advance or you'll be disappointed ... this place is very popular and gets booked up early .. which is hardly surprising.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The thought that had gone into providing all home comforts
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
weemanbob
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GRRR eat place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

If youre looking for a B& B with excellent facilities and friendly and knowledgeable owners then look no furhter than The Bears Den in Jasper, Lydia and Gerry are very knowlegable about the area and as walkers themselves can give you guidance on all areas.
Opposite side of the street is the bears Paws pattiserie - what a place to feast we nearly never left the place!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: freedom as the suites are on their own floor.
Liked least: Basement
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
HikerDoc2...
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Super clean and well equiped apartment in Jasper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Terrific apartment for 2-6 people, super clean and fully equipped made our stay wonderful! With a fully equipped kitchen, utensils, BBQ and spacious 2 BR, 2 bath apartment we would cook, entertain, lounge after 10-12 mile hikes in this spectacular and majestic environment. Bring your own or rent videos if you wish up to date entertainment. Bring all connections if you with to link iPads to their up-to-date TV. The hosts were extremely helpful as excellent hikers and outdoors people. This is the option to consider rather than a motel / hotel room!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and well - equipped!
Liked least: I cannot think or anything they didn't provide!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dstring
Florida, USA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$232
/ Night
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Lydia E
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2011
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 17 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing