We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlander” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overlander Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Overlander Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Overlander Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 6118, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T7V 1X5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overlander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is an excellent alternative to the hotels in Jasper National Park. It is less than 5 km from the entrance. Clean rooms, friendly staff. The menu has changed and is maybe less interesting than the previous menu. In the Miette building the wifi connection is non-existent but clients can use the hotel lobby (with free coffee).

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building. They have a nice view and have wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    58
    37
    26
    14
See reviews for
48
136
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
drayton valley, alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked a package at this lodge to treat my wife for her birthday. Room, wine and cheese platter, 4 course dinner in the dining room, and continental breakfast. We arrived at 6 PM on a Friday night and the scenery was nothing short of spectacular. We were greeted by Michelle at the front desk. She was very pleasant and we felt welcome immediately. Our room was not huge but very clean and comfy. All of the amenities one would need. Very happy to see no TV or phone. Who would need television with all the natural beauty [including my wife!] surrounding us. Wine and cheese was delivered to our room shortly thereafter [by Michelle] and was thoroughly enjoyed. Our dinner reservation was for 8 PM and the entire experience as well as all 4 courses were exquisite. One of the most enjoyable dining experiences of my 54 years. The food was fantastic, and what a great menu. We will absolutely be returning to the Overlander in the future. We highly recommend this very special place. I read some of the reviews before we went and I truly believe if you cannot appreciate this place you are better off at home. People complaining about no TV or phones in the room?? Truck noise from the highway.....certainly not enough to be disturbing in any way. We will be back with family and friends. Thank you! It was awesome!

Room Tip: Mountain view is excellent but not necessary. Walk outside and see the mountains everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed at the Overlander Lodge three times, and this time in the the Lodge rather than a cabin/cottage. The Lodge rooms are lovely, comfortable, and very clean. We had a room with a view of the mountains and even with a low cloud ceiling we sat in awe of the view as the sun rose over the mountains. The perfect get away.

I would not book a lodge room during the weekend when there could be a wedding, it could get a bit noisy given the closeness of the rooms to the outdoor patios and decks. If we came back on a weekend would surely book one of the cabins.

Meals are always a treat at the Overlander Lodge.

Room Tip: We did not mind the drive to the Lodge after a day in the park - we were treated with a photo opport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Due to me not booking a place to stay until a couple days before the long weekend, we got to stay in a different room at the Overlander each of two nights, which was fine by us.
The first night we stayed in the Miette room, it is in a building away from the main lodge with 5 other rooms. The room was a nice size, with a fireplace, a high ceiling and a view of the parking lot & the cabins across from it. The bed was quite firm and the chairs were hard, like new memory foam, but it was quiet, comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.
The second night was spent in one of the Mountain View rooms is the main lodge. This is also a very nice room, with more comfortable furniture and a veranda facing west with a wonderful view of the mountains & river surrounding Jasper & the park. Due to the highway, the noise is noticable while on the veranda, but not once inside the room. All in all, a good place to stay for a get away. A couple of notes:1) it is about a 25 minute drive to Jasper. 2) There are no TV's and very poor wifi, so be prepared to feel isolated (not a bad thing but different).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Although the Overlander offers a splendid view given it's location in the mountains, it's nearness to the Yellowhead highway means that the Noise coming from the highway is very noticeable. Add that to a loud wedding party directly beneath the room, and you end up with a very poor nights sleep.
We definitely felt like we were inconveniencing the staff when we attempted to make a dinner reservation. However dinner in the restaurant was very good, the food quality was exceptional!
In the photographs posted, the mountain view room looks a lot bigger than it actually is. However the private patio that looks over the mountain is very nice.
My suggestion is to make sure there are no large parties booked at the hotel if you are planning on staying in one of the rooms in the main lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed couple of nights during august long weekend and it was a great stay. Staff was really friendly and service was good.
It is located outside the park towards Hinton,AB and in a nice location over looking the park from the west side of the lodge.
Rooms were nice and comfortable, only thing is the garden view room got really hot by evening with the sun set. Stayed in two different rooms since it was a last minute booking the staff moved our luggage and everything.
When it came to food, we tried out couple of dishes and specially the pasta dish was amazing better than what you get at some top class restaurants in the city.
The drive from jasper after doing quite abit things during the day can get into you but its a nice drive to the lodge and lots of wildlife along the way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed at the Overlander Mountain lodge for two nights while visiting the Jasper National Park. The lodge is located about 50km from Jasper and therefore the drive is not too onerous, however, despite being in what seems to be the middle of nowhere the proximity to the main road means that the traffic noise prevents the place being as tranquil as it might be.

Our accommodation was not in the main hotel but in a separate building. The rooms were small and with limited facilities, in particular the bathroom was tiny and dingy, however, at c.$189 for the night compared to the $400 per night price tag for the Fairmont in Jasper it was adequate enough. The weekend we were there the temperatures were around 30c and we were worried the rooms would be too hot, particularly as when we arrived the ceiling fan was broken and there was no air conditioning. On mentioning this to reception we were provided with a separate fan for the first night and by the next afternoon the ceiling fan was fixed, however, we also slept with the windows open which provided a cooling breeze and despite what another reviewer mentioned we did not note any noise that kept us awake at nights.

The lodge has a fantastic bar and restaurant area and patio which we were able to make use of both nights due to the hot weather. However, this is also the area where it let's itself down the most. Despite being the recipient of a Wine Spectator award the service at the restaurant is incredibly slow, in fact it ranges from being over attentive when you first sit down to becoming almost non-existent. I would certainly advocate that if you are looking to drink any wine you allow at least 30 minutes before expecting to receive it. The wine cellar appears to be on a different floor and staff only make infrequent trips to receive bottles so you can be left gasping at times. Furthermore, this was on two nights where the restaurant was not busy at all so I dread to think what it would be like if full. What is even more surprising is that this is a complete contrast to the breakfast which whilst a buffet service the waiter there would bring toast, juice, food, etc to the table while you waited and one waiter was able to do this for the same number of guests that three staff on the evening appeared unable to look after.

The food in the restaurant is a bit hit and miss. The starters were all great, well presented and tasty. However, the main courses all appear to come with either mashed potato or rice and are a bit lacking in imagination. As the lodge is not near any other restaurants you really are forced to eat their unless you want to drive to Hinton or Jasper.

Overall, however, the trip was satisfactory. We were not looking for luxury accommodation and didn't expect a fine dining experience so the Overlander met our requirements. If they could just improve on the restaurant service in the evenings then it would make the experience just that bit better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Overlander Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overlander Mountain Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 6118, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T7V 1X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Overlander Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the edge of Jasper National Park, 50 km outside Jasper Town-site, overlooking the majestic Rocky Mountains, sits the Overlander Mountain Lodge. This jewel in the Canadian Rockies offers spectacular views, gourmet dining and ultra comfortable lodging. Warm hospitality and a casual yet cozy atmosphere are combined here in a mountain setting of unique natural beauty. Our chalet vacation rentals can serve as your home away from home while exploring all the park has to offer.The Overlander Mountain Lodge provides a variety of accommodation for the perfect Mountain Getaway, where televisions and telephones have been excluded to ensure a peaceful and relaxing stay. When it is time to celebrate, look no further than this cozy Rocky Mountain retreat as an ideal setting for social gatherings, weddings and business groups. The Overlander Mountain Lodge is committed to providing some of the best lodging, food and hospitality in the Canadian Rockies.we offer different room types from cabins to rooms with mountain views, kitchenettes and complete vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Overlander Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overlander Mountain Hotel Jasper National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overlander Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.