We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lakeside Resort in Jasper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patricia Lake Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Patricia Lake Bungalows
Save Saved
You added Patricia Lake Bungalows to your Saves list
Pyramid Road | 5 km from Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Boat & Bike rental
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Lakeside Resort in Jasper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Patricia Lake Bungalows are a set of cabins and suites located on the shores of Patricia Lake just north of the town of Jasper, in Jasper National Park. The staff is unfailingly kind, and the accommodations are clean and well-equipped. We rented Suite A which has two bedrooms, one bath, a living room and well-equipped kitchen with dining area. While most (all?) units lack air conditioning, it is not needed most days. We did have one day where Jasper hit 33 degrees Celsius (92 Fahrenheit) during our stay, which is unusual, and that day was a bit warm in the suite. Otherwise, the suite was perfectly laid out, well-maintained, and very comfortable. The resort has some boats for rent to explore the lake. The resort also has a swimming platform on its shore. The lake water is fairly cold (lake is fed by snow melt), so first time visitors should be aware. As many mountain lakes do, the water gets deep very quickly as you step away from shore. Nonetheless, on the warmer days, we and several other guests used the waterfront recreation area. The resort is a short 4-5 minute drive to the Jasper town center, and is a great jumping off place for many of the local attractions. The resort is not open year round, but a staff member is available to manage reservations during the off season. For prime units at the peak of summer, reservations at least 3-6 months in advance are suggested. Overall, we loved our stay, and we will likely be back.

Room Tip: Each suite/cabin is unique. Check the web site for specific layouts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    213
    58
    19
    13
See reviews for
229
355
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of a Rocky Mountain belated honeymoon. We stayed July 7 and 8, 2014 and it was by far our favourite place out of everywhere else we stayed, both in the area and in Lake Louise/Banff. The cabins are so comfortable and homey and the lake is fantastic. The grounds and accommodations are very clean and tidy yet you don't feel like you can't walk on the grass :) I would highly recommend Patricia Lake Bungalows for a romantic retreat, a family vacation or even just a night away. It is family owned and operated and you can tell that they love it and take pride in it. Super friendly and just an all-around great place to be!

Room Tip: Lakeview cabins are spectacular but all accommodations looked great. We stayed in #15 and it was rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in the Grove at the Douglas Fir for two nights. This is a newer apartment type facility. It was very nice and really better than I expected. It's not lakefront or whatever but you can still see the lake and what not. This room has a fireplace, two tvs, queen size bed and a hide-a-bed sofa. It also has a small A/C unit and regular heat. The bathroom was really nice and even had a towel warmer. This also had a nice sized kitchenette even with a small dishwasher. I doesn't really have an oven except a convection oven/microwave thing which we didn't know how to use. You also have a patio with a table and chairs and a propane grill. We used the grill one night and cooked breakfast and walked down to the pier one morning for breakfast. I wish we could have stayed here longer but they were booked up. We used the onsite laundromat which had 4 washing machines and two huge dryers. The internet was terrible but you could check email and stuff. The place seems really setup for kids with the lake, games, and playground but it was still peaceful for us honeymooners. We were gonna chill on the pier one evening but it was getting cloudy and a little chilly so we took advantage of the free movies at the office and snuggled up next to the fire!

My only complaint is the website/booking. It took me a lot of time to figure out what is what on the website since there are so many different types of cabins. It would be useful to have a map of the place beforehand too. I called to reserve our room and answer a couple questions I had. The two people we interacted with at the front desk were very helpful and friendly as well. If you need something off the beaten path that's peaceful but also great for the kids. I would give this a try. I want to go back soon but it's just a little too far for us!

Room Tip: newer suites, the grove
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I will NEVER stay there again !

The bungalow was NOT what was in their pics:
a. There was a musty old carpet which caused my kids an allergic reaction.
b. There was no AC that was promissed. And the mosquito nets were torn - so we had to suffocate during 35c!
c. The mattresses were very creeky. We did not get any sleep...
d. We were greeted by the spectacular site of CAUTION tape all around the entrance to our bungalo, leaving us with the special crime scene feel.
e. The rooms were so tiny I kept banging my head on the hanging lamps - I am 5'9".
f. The 1950's furniture wasn't what they show in their pics.
g. Contrary to what the clerk said over the phone - it wa not a 30 second walk to the water from our bungalow.

The lake itself is beautiful and the service was ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patlake, Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Kerenurson

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Patricia Lake. We would love to speak to you about your experience to improve on our services and know which room in particular that you are referring to. In addition, if we are aware as to which unit you were in, we would be able to ensure that this unit has not been missed in our photo gallery on our website.

We try to give all of our guest as much information about what they will be receiving before they arrive. We want to be as transparent as possible therefore we have made a youtube video showing our property and a photo gallery on our website. We strive to make everyone feel like they are receiving the service and room that they are paying for. We welcome any type of constructive and negative criticism to improve our website as we try to describe our property and services adequately.

We would like to thank you for listing your comments very clearly. I would like to elaborate on your comments using the same format.

a. We would like to know which unit you were in to have the carpet cleaned immediately.
Upon check-in we have a statement we tell all of our guests: If something is not up to standard we ask our guest to come to the desk during their stay so that we have the chance to improve their experience and fix the issue .

b. The only units that offer air conditioning is the Grove suites and the Cavell suites. Air conditioning is not listed as a amenity on our website for these units or any of our units. We are sorry that you understood otherwise.

c. We have additional mattresses that we could have easily switched for you in your unit.

d. The tape is around the sod where the new grass is growing. We tape off the area to ensure there is no traffic on this new grass so that it may grow properly

e. We would be very grateful to know which unit you are referring to in order fix the hanging lamp.

f. All of our units have been refurbished since they were originally built in the 1960's. The units are decorated with a mountain flare, meaning that we have a lot of refinished wood, wildlife pictures and checkered patterns. We are constantly changing and upgrading our units. ie: we changed all of our pull out couches last year in our larger units: deluxe 2 bedrooms and the deluxe king suite; mattresses in the cottages; painted inside and out of units etc. This style of decor might not suit everyone's taste and we do understand it is all about personal preference

g. We will no longer say 30 second to the lake as this can be inconsistent depending on how fast you walk. We have measured the distance from our furthest unit on the property. It is 250 feet away from the lake (that is the size of 6 Greyhound buses).

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience. We hope we will be able to have you as our guest in the future and improve your perception of our property. We invite you to write us if you have any further comments to improve our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just had a 3 night stay at this property and I would thoroughly recommend it. We stayed in a non lake view type 4 cottage and found it to be very well equipped and just a stone's throw from the lake - we could actually see it from our cottage. Very clean and plenty of facilities if you wish to cater for yourself. Patricia Lake is a beautiful setting just a few km from Jasper Town Centre, which we preferred to actually being in town. The internet was a bit hit and miss but you don't go on holiday to be on the internet all the time. There is a little room just by the office where you have the use of two computers if you really need it. We had a wonderful time in Jasper - visiting Maligne Canyon and Lake and saw lots of wildlife - bald eagle, elk, bighorn sheep, and lots of black bears! If you want to see bears go down the highway 93A - usually about 5 pm and you have a great chance of seeing bears!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in May for 2 nights in a Lake view Cabin, The Cabin was on the smaller side with what I would say is a mini kitchenette area but was clean and tidy . Bathroom was a little cramped. This wasn't there doing this is what I picked and next time I would go to a larger one, We had no major problems, on the first night the fireplace wouldn't start but when we notified the desk of this they sent someone straight away to fix the problem. Wifi sometimes .The view of the lake is beautiful and on a calm morning the mirror reflecting is just awesome. Definetly stay again

Room Tip: Larger cabin even for 2 people
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patlake, Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Wendy2051958

Thank you very much for your comments!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned our cottages are on the smaller size. They are all 360 sq feet making them cozy with a mountain decor. These units are all equipped with a kitchenette and a fireplace. The kitchenette has everything you may need to make a simple meal but without an oven. On our property we have a BBQ area for your enjoyment as well as additional amenities such as a hot tub and boat, bike rentals.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here for a week as part of our honeymoon and we are so pleased with our choice.
The setting on Patricia lake is spectacular, we booked a lakeside Grove suite and had stunning views of the lake - great to wake up to every morning.
The room was well appointed with everything you may need to self cater, with lots of space and a patio with a BBQ and table/chairs over looking the lake. The was a separate bedroom and bathroom along with a open plan kitchen/lounge with fireplace and TV.
PLB is located about a 5-10 minute drive from downtown Jasper, where there are plenty of places to eat out and in the area there is loads to do from hiking (lots of different trails - Cottonwood Slough is a great place to see Beavers) biking, boating and horse riding.
You simply can't beat the peacefulness of the place - one of our favourite moments was heading down to the lake front just after 10pm to listen to the Wolves howl, magical.
The only negative as all other reviews state is the Wifi internet - it's rubbish - it takes about 10 minutes to load a basic internet page such as BBC news, and often it would fail - only good for Facebook or emails really and even then it is very slow - shouldn't be important but be aware.
Unlike some other reviews the service we received was very friendly and polite for our whole stay.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms are the best appointed with their own BBQ facilities, other rooms could use communal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Patricia Lake Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Lake Bungalows

Address: Pyramid Road | 5 km from Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patricia Lake Bungalows is a cozy cabin resort located in the Canadian Rocky Mountains on the banks of beautiful Patricia Lake, Jasper National Park. Family owned and operated, we offer clean, comfortable, and charming cottages hidden at the end of a private road and nestled in a secluded forest setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patricia Lake Bungalows Hotel Jasper
Patricia Lake Hotel
Patricia Lake Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patricia Lake Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.