We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patricia Lake Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patricia Lake Bungalows
Save
You added Patricia Lake Bungalows to your Saves list
Pyramid Road | 5 km from Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in a chalet there in the summer and really enjoyed it. I would not call it luxurious but it was very clean and functional. A couple of cooking items were missing from the kitchen and as soon as I pointed this out to the staff, the matter was sorted.
We made the most of the hot tub and were pleased that the chalet was cleaned every day, we had not realised that this would be the case but it meant that we had more time to relax.
The location was beautiful with peaceful Patricia lake and Pyramid Mountain behind it. There are some armchairs by the lake to sit down and enjoy the view but don't forget your insect repellent if you go there first thing in the morning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    214
    59
    19
    13
See reviews for
230
357
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Flooding kept us from our intended destination of Banff, but this unexpected stop could not have been better. Rented bikes as well as canoes during our short stay and realized we could (should) have stayed a week in this beautiful area.Great alternative to the standard chain hotels and motels and it was priced moderately.Hope we can make it back for another stay soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the Spruce suites which are part of the newer cabins in early September. They're spacious one-bedroom suites, fully appointed, each with its own BBQ grill and patio and with views of the lake. There's a feeling of remoteness but it's just a few miles outside of town. Patricia Lake, with its view of Pyramid Mtn is stunning. If you want to eat in, the kitchen is well stocked but there are plenty of good restaurants in Jasper (the Bear Claw...or Paw has amazing baked goods).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Lake Patricia Bungalows are a nice relief from the typical chain hotel, but they are showing their age. This long-time family-owned resort made up of small single units of varying age (new to 45 or 50 years old) is tucked away about 3 miles outside of downtown Jasper on the shores of beautiful Lake Patricia, and about one mile away, Pyramid Lake And iit's Lodge and restaurant that has a nice breakfast overlooking the lake at sunrise. The bungalows, grounds, and facilities are clean; the hot tub is excellent; D.J., the front desk person was an outstanding source of information about the area and restaurants, etc.; the beds and bedding were fine, but the furniture again is old as is the paint, especially on the outside of the buildings -- overall "Good".

Room Tip: Book at least 6 months early, and ask for one of the new units if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patlake, Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Jhoffman

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are always delighted when guests use Trip Advisor to let us know how we are doing and if we are on the right track to make guests stay enjoyable and memorable.

As you have mentioned we are small family owned business. As such, we are constantly striving to achieve the best in both service and lodging. Understandably, as the summer seasons are busy with no opportunities to close down units and the winters here in Jasper are cold, we have a very small window of opportunity to fix up the interiors of our cabins. However, during your stay you might have noticed that the exteriors of many of our units were in the process of being painted or completely restored. In off season from November till April, our property is in constant construction. Myself and the owners also revise comments from guests underlining any upgrades or changes that need to be done. We would be more then grateful to have some of your comments in regards to your particular units. Please contact me directly at juliepatlake@gmail.com for any feedback.

Thank you so much for mentioning DJ. She will be thrilled to see that she made it on Trip Advisor! She is an outstanding employee and it will be gratifying for her to see a comment that she made a memorable impression on your stay.

Julie Des Becquets
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Cavell Suite, which was surprisingly spacious and fitted out to a modern specification, with good air conditioning.

Although the prices are pretty high, for us this was justified by the location. The lake was unspoilt and just on our doorstep. It is 'off the beaten track' enough to be quiet, but only a 5-10 minute drive into Jasper. We hired a kayak and had a paddle about on the lake, and watched the sun go down whilst sat on the jetty. Which was only a short stroll from our cabin. Beautiful. We even had a visit from a female elk grazing near the cabins, who was obviously used to the comings and goings, and gave us a nice photo opportunity!

The staff were pleasant, and they called by around 9pm to check we had everything we needed, which was a nice thought.

We only wish we could have enjoyed it a bit longer, although my purse is glad we had to move on!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patlake, Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear JR22000

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Cavell suites. The Cavell suites offer everything and more. They are a perfect unit if you are looking to eat out or make a simple meal during your stay with their modern flare. We are happy that the Cavell suites suited your needs! Furthermore, it is wonderful that you were able to utilize our boats on the lake and had a visit from the elks. The lake is such a peaceful and spectacular place.

The night service is an added touch of comfort for our guests. As we do not have telephones in the units, this service is available nightly to ensure that if anything was missed or added amenities are required, the staff are always available to assist. Truth be told, this is their favourite job as it allows them to chit chat with the guests!

I would be delighted to hear from you in regards to our rates. If there is a rate that you feel would be more appropriate for your unit please let me know.

To contact me personally please email juliepatlake@gmail.com

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the Canadian Rockies

Julie Des Becquets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here four nights in August 2013 with my wife. We're 65 year-olds. Beautiful cabin with an incredible view of Patricia Lake. The cabin had a main living area with stone gas fireplace as its heating system, comfortable over stuffed chairs, coffee table, sitting table/chairs, and a kitchen with all the basic amenities. The bathroom was well done and very functional. The separate bedroom had a queen bed which was quite comfortable. The cabin was in great shape and had obviously been updated in the not too distant past (as, it appeared, all or many others had also been done). At the office area is a hot tub, laundry, and computer room. The focus on service was on the level of a major hotel, complete with a personalized late evening stop by an employee to ask if everything was OK and whether we needed anything. It was only a few minutes outside of Jasper on a drive where we twice stopped on separate occasions to take pictures of elk grazing by the road. If I go back to Jasper, I'll check here for availability first.

Room Tip: Try for a lake-view, but don't turn away if none are available. They're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patlake, Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Rickster-n-sue

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Patricia Lake Bungalows! We are very touched that you enjoyed the quaint and coziness of our cabins and property. As you have noted we do have everything that you need to make your stay enjoyable with the added attractions of wildlife every so often!
As we are a small seasonal hotel we aim to always achieve the highest level of service possible. Our staff always enjoy viewing comments such as yours about their hard work to make your stay as memorable as possible.
We look forward to having you as our guest in the future in the Canadian Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great location- just far enough from town. We stayed in a log cabin the first night #21-very nice-remodled, lake front. Then we stayed in the Groves D3/upper level for three nights, new condo like, very nice, plenty of room. It was nice having the kitchen and a grill/patio. (there are grocery stores in town) It was great being by the lake, we hung out on the dock area in the early evening meeting people and talked about our adventures in the park that day. Star gazing was amazing. You could see the stars reflecting in the water.
The smoke detector in the Groves unit went off twice from unit down stairs, which are hard wired to our unit. The owner was very accommodating and seems committed to working on the problem.
We would stay there again!

Room Tip: All the units are close to the lake. Take advantage of the late afternoon to dark sitting on the dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patricia Lake Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Lake Bungalows

Address: Pyramid Road | 5 km from Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patricia Lake Bungalows is a cozy cabin resort located in the Canadian Rocky Mountains on the banks of beautiful Patricia Lake, Jasper National Park. Family owned and operated, we offer clean, comfortable, and charming cottages hidden at the end of a private road and nestled in a secluded forest setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patricia Lake Bungalows Hotel Jasper
Patricia Lake Hotel
Patricia Lake Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patricia Lake Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.