We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance of access and seclusion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patricia Lake Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patricia Lake Bungalows
Save
You added Patricia Lake Bungalows to your Saves list
Pyramid Road | 5 km from Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect balance of access and seclusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The view over the lake is fantastic. The cabins are well appointed with everything you need. The staff was super helpful for the things we just did not bring with us. The drive up to the lake from Jasper we saw two Elk, one female and one male. You really feel like you are on a vacation. Great atmosphere with the built in fireplace. The hot tub was nice and hot, just the way we like it. Too bad it closes so early in the night. Stars and hot tubs are just a great combo. Especially given there was limited attendance as we were there the week after Thanksgivng. The only down fall was the manager or owner that was manning the desk when we arrived. She was really rude to my wife and cousin. Then later in the night as we were bringing in the food from the BBQ (nice for making your own food) she was again very rude about the fact that we were holding the door open to let our cook (cousin) back in. Regardless of her bad temperament, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    214
    59
    19
    13
See reviews for
230
357
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to stay out of downtown Jasper. You have your own bungalow. Paid extra for a fireplace which turned out to be a mistake. The fireplace is really a heater, and heats the place up unbearably. So much for the atmosphere. Otherwise, it was fine. No breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzios, RJ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The bungalows are very charmful in a peacful place. Just five minutes by car from Jasper, very easy to be there. All the property is a must. Quiet and cozy. You can see the other guests but is big enough for you to be in peace.
The lake just tremendous. We woke up very very early to take picture of the reflection. I want to be back.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms has kitchen on it, our no so..the only problem is not to have the breakfast around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

During a tour around the area, we stayed here for two nights following a short trip to Banff.

Unfortunately due to such high demand (surprising for early October) we had to spend each night in a different cabin. However, this was little inconvenience as the staff took it in their stride to make our stay as straightforward and relaxing as possible, moving our belongings to our new cabin.

I can’t echo some of the earlier comments complaining that the cabins were too small with few amenities – the cabins were well furnished, clean and well maintained. If you’re looking for a relaxing break or somewhere to stay between taking in the Canadian wilderness, then this is the ideal spot for you.

We spent a lot of time hiking and on one occasion rented bikes to venture to another nearby lake. This is my only small gripe with my time at the bungalows; since the bike I rented wasn’t in the best condition (it kept skipping gears).

In all, Jasper and the bungalows were my highlight of Western Canada. The area is beautiful – these cabins are the ideal place to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you cant secure a lake side cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pr
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is my second time staying at Patricia lake and is a very tranquil setting.First time I stayed was three years ago and was surprised at the increase in price in that time.I was also surprised at the upcharge for additional people over two when you are staying in a two bedroom bungalow.I did find the staff to be very friendly and accomadating.I did end up breaking a bone in my foot as staff does not take off the cover on hot tub abd so I slipped when I was taking it off.The beds are great and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

There is no doubt that the 'Standard cottages' are 1) small and 2) getting on in years. However for our puposes (just an overnight stay), neither was a great problem. I don't think this is the type of place where you would want to spend a lot of time in your room, and at least our cottage had been updated inside as much as reasonable without a total re-build.

We requested on-line a Lakeside standard cottage (only), Type 3 first preference, Type 2 second preference. The 'confirmation' came back as Type 2. What we didn't notice at the time was that it was a non lakeside room. I don't really see how they can 'confirm' a reservation when the single choice of 'Lakeside' was apparently not available. 'Non Lakeside' was written there in the e-mail I got back, so I was advised up-front (and could have cancelled, with no charge), but it seems a strange practice to 'confirm' something that was not requested.

The Type 2 has an extra bed in the main living area. This makes the latter rather cramped, with no 'easy' chairs, only the kitchen table chairs to sit on.

I think all the cottages around us were occupied, and there were a number of families in these, but we heard no noise at all after dark.

The area itself is very scenic and relaxing. Full marks there.

We had one unfortunate experience. On going to bed, when we turned down the bed, we found a yellow mark/stain, about the size of a hand, in the middle of the white bottom sheet. It could have been an iron scorch mark, but we weren't inclined to investigate closely! As by this time it was late, we simply went to the other bed. We mentioned this when we checked out, and the lady was suitably mortified. Put it down to a housekeeping oversight, not a systemic fault, but obviously reflects some 'casualness' in the housekeeping at the time.

So, an uneven experience; the reservation type was notified to us in advance, albeit not what we were expecting; prepared to forgive the sheets thing as a one-off (we hope). The location and ambience is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

To call the unit we were in "deluxe" is a joke. When we asked what made the unit deluxe we were told that it was due to it being a "2-bedroom unit with a kitchen" and nothing else. To add insult to injury we were charged 20 dollars per person extra per night for the 2 so called extra people in our foursome. This is a 2 bedroom unit. Would you not expect 4 people to be in it? On our trip to western Canada we stayed in some really amazing places. This one was an over-priced, under- deluxe very basic unit. There were no staff on after 10PM, and the staff we did speak to at other times were unfriendly and made us feel as if they were doing us a favour by renting us the accomodation in the first place.I will most certainly NOT be recommending this place to others.

Room Tip: there is no good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patricia Lake Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Lake Bungalows

Address: Pyramid Road | 5 km from Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patricia Lake Bungalows is a cozy cabin resort located in the Canadian Rocky Mountains on the banks of beautiful Patricia Lake, Jasper National Park. Family owned and operated, we offer clean, comfortable, and charming cottages hidden at the end of a private road and nestled in a secluded forest setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patricia Lake Bungalows Hotel Jasper
Patricia Lake Hotel
Patricia Lake Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patricia Lake Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.