We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimchi house

Kimchi house
407 Patricia Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 79 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: (780)8525022
Orpington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Was packed when we arrived so they apologised about the wait for food, which was still served quickly. Our first visit to a Korean restaurant and the owner, who is a bit of a legend in Jasper, advised us to have the set menu. It was very good food and very good value. Limited wine choice but relatively cheap for Canadian prices.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    49
    12
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best food in Jasper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed around Jasper for 5 days and we visited kimchi house for 3 lunches in a row. Woo doon is tasty, daily special is in good value! Service is good and they open all day long, so whenever you want some hot spicy food just go Kimchi house!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, AB
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“delicious food and lovely environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

we visited this restaurant for the first time looking for good value for a good price. the hostess/owner made us very comfortable, helped us with our selections, and was always available. We had the deep fried dumplings which had been only lightly fried , were not greasy, very good. I had the squid and beef on a hot cast iron platter which kept the food warm the whole time. A side order of homemade Kimchi was enjoyed as well, a bit mild but very palatable. My wife had a seafood platter which she enjoyed. I would definitely recommend this retaurant for a meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper National Park, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Eats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great Family meal! Tasty and fun. My son and I love the number 27 (jab chae bap) while my wife enjoys the 19 (be him bap) Thanks!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Cute hosts, Tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Gorgeous old school restaurant run by Korean family. Clean place with super fast service and tasty clean food. Might not be "proper" Korean - but this is Jasper, not a major city. If you need the real deal, stay in a big city. My wife and i had a very nice night here and wouldn't hesitate to eat there again if ever in Jasper.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimchi house also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Kimchi house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimchi house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.