We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been skiing hard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marmot Basin Ski Area

Marmot Basin Ski Area
Marmot Basin Rd | (via Highways 93 & 93A ,19 km south of Jasper), Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
780-852-3816
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 30 Activities in Jasper
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marmot Basin, located in Jasper National Park, Alberta provides unparalleled skiing and snowboarding for all ages and all abilities. Nestled in the heart of the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Marmot Basin offers a family friendly, laid back, crowd free experience with stunning views. The nearby town of Jasper offers a friendly welcome to all with hotels, bars and restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets. As well as an unforgettable snow sports experience, there are also many other activities available, including shoe-shoeing, cross-country skiing, dog sledging, winter wildlife tours, canyon walks and much, much more! Once visited, never forgotten, come see us for an authentic Rocky Mountain experience. We look forward to seeing you! Your friends at Marmot Basin.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Been skiing hard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We had another great trip, there has been little to no line up to get on a lift so ripped lots of runs in the last 2 days. I worked her in 2000/01 ski season and was surprised by all the new lifts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    63
    12
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Skiing in Jasper!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice mountain, nice ski resort! Nice runs in a small ski resort. the Scenery was fantastic!
A place to be visited.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Never a let down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been here many times and always seem to have the best luck for conditions. We go on the greens to the blacks. The setup is pretty good and easy to get around

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ålesund
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Skiing is fun, a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Jasper with Marmot Basin is a great place, I have been here two times, powder condition a few years ago. This time we had 5 days since fresh snow, also very good condition for skiing.

First time I went with my wife, we enjoyed powder conditions. This time I went with friends, we are quite advanced skiers, a lot of places to go down with challenging terrain, also some powder snow in the forrest, early March.

Marmot Basin has a lot of local visitors, it is not a tourist machine like Lake Louise or Sunshine in Banff. About 3+ hours from Edmonton to Jasper. If you do not have a car, I guess http://magicbus.ca is the best choice for a day trip or weekend stay in Jasper.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great snow in March! First run is easily met with shuttles from hotels. Diverse hill that accommodates family, including snowshoers - lots of fun!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmot Basin Ski Area also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Marmot Basin Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmot Basin Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.