We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good possibilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marmot Basin Ski Area

Marmot Basin Ski Area
Marmot Basin Rd | (via Highways 93 & 93A ,19 km south of Jasper), Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
780-852-3816
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Attractions in Jasper
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Skiing, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Marmot Basin, located in Jasper National Park, Alberta provides unparalleled skiing and snowboarding for all ages and all abilities. Nestled in the heart of the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Marmot Basin offers a family friendly, laid back, crowd free experience with stunning views. The nearby town of Jasper offers a friendly welcome to all with hotels, bars and restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets. As well as an unforgettable snow sports experience, there are also many other activities available, including shoe-shoeing, cross-country skiing, dog sledging, winter wildlife tours, canyon walks and much, much more! Once visited, never forgotten, come see us for an authentic Rocky Mountain experience. We look forward to seeing you! Your friends at Marmot Basin.
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good possibilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

So my fiancée won us a trip to Jasper for two days, so we had to ride Mammut while we were there.
Unfortunately they had had a bad few weeks with very little snow and the mountain was rock hard.
Looking around we could see the possibility for some great tree runs with plenty of space to choose your route if only they had some fresh.
I also unfortunately suffered a sever concussion while riding halfway through the day, even though I was wearing a helmet.
There is a lot of potential on the mountain and access was good from the lifts but as stated it just needed some fresh.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    60
    12
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Challenging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Challenging terrain and high speed chairs. This is my preferred destination for taking skiers to hone their skills. Fast chairs and incrementally increasingly difficult terrain. Most Excellent Lodges very good value.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbston, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty ski hill, good for intermediates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Marmot Basin is in a scenic location. There is a lot if pleasant but non challenging skiing including tree runs. The challenge is timing your visit for when there is a reasonable amount of snow as it can be intermittent and the runs pretty hard packed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No waiting - More skiing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just spent a couple of days skiing at Marmot. What a well thought out hill! Super fast lifts, means practically no waiting in line. Lots of variety in the runs from black to green. The younger kids loved the "bushwhacking" opportunities and the older ones, loved the moguls. It's got something for everyone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Secluded Playground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We weren't too sure what to expect as we had just come from Whistler and had a blast. So driving up to Marmot Basin, we felt maybe it won't be that big, or as well laid out as Whistler. Wrong, it is a large ski area with many different runs and we always had an incredible time even if the weather wasn't best. Half-way down a run there's a cabin so you can re-fuel otherwise make it to the base which has a generous selection of services and foods. The quaintness I feel matches Jasper, very enjoyable area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmot Basin Ski Area also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Marmot Basin Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmot Basin Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.