We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this trip!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maligne Canyon

Maligne Canyon
Maligne Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
780-852-3583
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$49*
and up
Jasper City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #2 of 42 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic limestone canyon with waterfalls and walking trails.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not miss this trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Was recommended this as a must do whilst in jasper, and this is definitely true. Albeit a short tour (2 hours) I am so glad we did it. Outstandingly beautiful ice falls and waterfalls, our guide, Alicia, was excellent; hugely knowledgable, fun and accommodating with our photography requests. The equipment they provide is great and definitely needed. Requires moderate fitness for the swift walk up to the start of the canyon, but not difficult at all. Would love to do this again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    407
    72
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Picked up early at JPL, for the short but beautiful drive up to the canyon. Our guide strapped ice cleats over our waterproof boots (supplied if you don't have any) and we were on our way. He stopped suddenly, motioned for us to stay put and followed a set of pawprints up the path....upon is reurn telling us that it was an adult cougar, and that they were fresh! We continued on, listening intently to the information supplied, and then descended into the frozen river below....amazing. Absolutely breathtaking, and an experience I am glad we all did, including our 6 and 8 year old children. Never did see that cougar (thankfully) but sure did see some magical natural splendour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful frozen canyon walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went with Sundog Tours. The frozen water was beautiful and definitely not to be missed. Our guide Alisha made it a pleasant and fun trek.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wildlife paradise and awesome geology”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Waterfalls, narrow river gorges, huge lakes surrounded by mountains, wildlife everywhere, scenic hiking trails all over - what more can you ask for?

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maligne Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Beatiful and unbelivable art of nature. Can' t belive until you see for yourself the force at which the glacier water gushes in canyon resulting in carving the canyon.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maligne Canyon also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Maligne Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maligne Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.