We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Filia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Filia Inn
Save
You added Filia Inn to your Saves list
6 Pyramid Lake Rd. | Upper Floor, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suites starting at $89
Ranked #22 of 65 Jasper B&B and Inns
Southampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in a small room here in 2011 and enjoyed the stay. The Filia rates are more competitive than most in Jasper.
This time our stay was disappointing and uncomfortable. It was a different room , we knew it would be small but unfortunately it was cluttered with unnecessary furniture. making it feel even smaller. Temperatures were very warm in the afternoon and at night, the stand alone mobile A/C unit was not adequate to make the room comfortable to sleep in. The vent pipe of the A/C unit acted as a heater so we were unable to sleep in comfort. The room backed on to a rather grubby back-ally with many A/C vents creating a constant drone, it was necessary to keep windows closed at night. Sorry to say we did not enjoy our stay in this particular room.
A great pity as the owners are conscientious hard working people who Im sure strive to keep up standards. Probably a built in A/C unit would solve the problem.I fully expect there are better rooms in this Hotel, make sure you get one.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms away from the back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a Euro-style Inn with 7 rooms located upstairs over a restaurant and convenience store. I have stayed here twice and found it clean and comfortable. This recent trip I was in Rm 2 which is not large but is spacious enough. Rm 7 was my previous stay and it is a tight squeeze but if you don't need a lot of room, it is still comfortable.
Pros: Windows open and let in lots of natural light. Very close to restaurants and shops. Olive Bistro below is a great restaurant. Roof top patio for guests only. Economical.
Cons: Long steep set of stairs to haul your stuff up. Check in is at the bar in the restaurant which doesn't open until 5 pm. so if you arrive by train or bus you have nowhere to store your stuff while waiting to get into your room. All but 2 rooms have a less than pleasant view of the back alley. Less spacious than typical hotel/ motel rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The inn is just off the main street above an excellent restaurant, Olive Bistro. Though catering is the main business, the rooms were well taken care off. They were clean during our stay and there were nice personalised notes from the staff. The wifi was also strong and reliable.

Guests get a 15% discount dining at the Olive Bistro restaurant. The food there is amazingly good and reasonably priced. Do try the lamb shank there - it's out of this world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Ontario
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Most places in Jasper are in the $200+ night...this was quite a bit less for my wife and son and I...plus, we got a free room upgrade when we checked in so my son got his own bed instead of a cot, plus I guess the room was larger.
The Olive Bistro downstairs is the main business for the owners...that was clear from check-in to throughout the stay...you checked in at the bar of the restaurant because there aren't that many rooms. It also means that no ice machine - which we really missed in a July visit - when bar was open they would give you a bit of ice in a bucket but no luck filling up our waterbottles in the morning with ice and water. Tiny fridge in room was okay but with no ice machine, a larger fridge with a little freezer and ice cube trays would be really a welcome addition.

Parking was in a dirty back alley and not overly impressed...had to wait almost 20 minutes to leave one morning because of delivery trucks to the inn's restaurant and adjacent restaurants were blocking our way. Our view was over the building room and patio with the roof mounted airconditioners...of course if you could ignore that, nice mountains in the background. Room was very clean, beds comfortable. Nothing special at all, a little cramped, small TV on wall, clean bathroom.
An old school computer station provided free internet. Quaint hallways.

So a very average place where the expensive restaurant downstairs seems like their management's first priority. but for value in an expensive town, very adequate.

Room Tip: We got a free upgrade to a bigger room, and it wasn't very big so if you get the smaller room, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This property was over priced, although very clean, was very noisy due to roof top air conditioners on adjacent buildings, was very hot even on a rather cool day I would not like to be in this room on a very hot day. In room air conditioner was large and took up space and did not cool the room. Also noise from other rooms was a concern. The Olive bistro and Lounge which is part of this property was a redeeming factor as the service was excellent and the food was very good.

Room Tip: Jasper Hotels in summer Are grossly overpriced, so travel here in spring and fall are a better value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste Marie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Recently stayed at the Filia Inn in Jasper. It wasn't fancy but was very clean, neat and had everything we needed for a relaxed time in Jasper. The location is great. (Almost, but not quite, right downtown). This made it walking distance to everything. There was a computer available to check email. It sits above a terrific bistro (The Olive). The owners were very accommodating when we had another guest join us. Best of all,it was less expensive than any other place we considered. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Filia Inn is one of the cheaper alternatives in this expensive town. It is on a quiet street within easy walking distance of all shops and restaurants. My room was bright and clean. Everything appeared new. The room included a mini fridge, cable TV, heated bathroom floor (nice). The room has WiFi but no telephone. Some rooms have mountain views (mine overlooked the parking lot).

There is a public computer in the hall and a second floor patio with nice views.

The only odd thing is that the Filia Inn has no lobby. You check in at the restaurant on the first floor, so you are limited to the restaurant's hours.

http://jasperfiliainn.ca/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Filia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filia Inn

Address: 6 Pyramid Lake Rd. | Upper Floor, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, the Filia Inn is one of Jasper's best kept secrets. Enjoy majestic mountain views in peaceful surroundings. We are located in downtown Jasper within walking distance from restaurants, shops and the Jasper train station. We also feature a breathtaking second story patio with one of the best views in town. This summer we will update our patio to include a BBQ and new patio furniture. We also feature: -Free High-speed WIFI -Room service from our on-site restaurant The Olive Bistro -Air-conditioning -Heated bathroom floors -Cable TV -Refrigerators -Hair dryers ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.