We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper
Save Saved
You added Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper to your Saves list
Highway 93A North | 2 km south of Downtown Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Sturgeon Falls, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our home away from home....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We are going back this year for our fifth visit....it has now become our home away from home. It's not just the beauty, it's not just the accomodations, staff, service, and cleanliness....we go for the vibe of Jasper. And to us, there is no better place to stay in this lovely place than at Alpine Village.
I can honestly say we've never been let down. Could they have bigger beds like one of the reviews mentioned? Maybe. It really doesn't matter. When we leave after our stay, we return o another beautiful place to live. We are lucky. Yet, when we come back to Jasper, we always feel like we are so welcome.
We HIGHLY recommend this place....give it a try!!

Room Tip: If you are gluten-free like we are, or have special dietary requirements, the fact that there is a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    111
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
115
327
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is such a lovely place to stay but it comes with one problem...the bed. The deluxe family cabin we booked came with a double bed ( 4ft 6inch). We spent two nights at the Alpine Village and were very tired when we left due to lack of sleep. We went and checked into a motel in town for a decent night's sleep before we continued our trip. The young adults who slept in the roof area were fine but my husband and I struggled. I have not even seen a double bed in maybe twenty years and didn't think they were manufactured anymore. The bed aside, this is a nice place to stay. The setting is just gorgeous, right on the river. The resort itself is everything you could want and the cabins have a comfortable lounge/kitchen area and great bathroom facilities. Stay here but make sure you get a room with a queen (or bigger) bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have come back to Alpine Village every year for 22 years. We stay in a "heritage" one bedroom cabin that is one of the original cabins on the property. We don't come for a flat screen tv (have one at home), a high tech kitchen (have one at home, though I love my 3-burner original gas stove/cooktop that's in the cabin), a hottub (have one at home, though my husband enjoys the hottub every evening and it does have bubbles despite reviews that it doesn't!!), or WIFI (I own a very successful business and make a point of trying to stay away from my computer and cell phone while relaxing - it's called a vacation from my busy work life). What we do come for is the natural beauty of Jasper, the incredible hospitality of Chris and Rena Allin (the proprietors), the incredible housekeeping staff who accommodate our every need, the elk and other wildlife that inevitably wander onto the property, the charming cabin that affords every necessity after a long day of hiking, the peaceful atmosphere, the gorgeous views of Mount Edith Cavell, chopping wood to get some exercise, and the joy of knowing that every year things will be the same and as exceptional as the previous year. We choose to stay in a heritage cabin for its charm. Our friends stayed in one of the executive one-bedroom cabins where we spent a fabulous evening having dinner together. They loved the cabin with its upscale amenities, new appliances, flat screen tv, etc. The great thing about Alpine Village is that you have choices to either get a cabin that has "old world historic charm" or one with more modern amenities. Whichever type of accommodation you choose, you will have top notch service, be able to walk into town and enjoy the natural beauty of Alpine Village and its surroundings. For my husband and me, there is no more tranquil place to be for 3 weeks. We live a hectic life with many stressors - it all melts away the minute we drive onto the grounds and know that we are "home".

Room Tip: There is no on-site restaurant but many good ones in town that offer casual to fine dining. Book in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Bay Area
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We came to the idea of touring the Canadian Rockies a little late, so by the time we made reservations, there was only the Deluxe Bedroom Suite available, one of the newest buildings. Darn! We ended just having to spoil ourselves! After the slightly cramped quarters of Deer Lodge @ Lake Louise, this was the place to stretch out! The king size bed was the most comfortable of all the beds on the trip.

We were in a duplex cabin, but I barely ever heard anyone on the other side of the wall. The place was super clean, and the bathroom was tremendously spacious, with plentiful drawers to stash our toiletries (other properties have failed to realize how valuable this is). The heated floors were hardly noticeable. I just have to mention that the water pressure in the shower was so intense, I felt like I was being exfoliated! It was a little harsh, but I'd prefer that over a dribbling shower.

It was too warm to take advantage of the fireplace. But if we did, we had the option of purchasing firewood from the front office, or getting free firewood if we chopped it ourselves (clever inn keeper!). There are a few simple groceries for sale from the front office. There are no laundry facilities on this property, but the office can direct you to a laundromat in town.

I was disappointed that we never saw any wildlife around the property, although it seems ideal for it. I did hear elk bugling during the night, though.

It's a quick drive into town, but I was glad it was not right in town, so we could enjoy the peace and quiet.

We had a bit of fun when we took the tram up Whistler's mountain. From the summit, with some strong binoculars, we could see Alpine Village's red truck out front! Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked directly with the resort in ultra low season (October when the whole town shuts down) and it turns out the resort were only letting out several of their properties while they slowed down before shutting the next weekend.

We were asked via email what our choice of accomodation was so we went high with a deluxe chalet which was $220 per night, even in low season, thinking this would give us the quality we needed in order to fully relax. We were told our first choice was available and thus we checked in some days later.

It turns out that many properties were unused, including some much newer ones with new mod cons such as a large flat screen TV. Many of these would have been cheaper than ours, but we were not offered these options.

Our chalet was built 23 years ago and many furnishings did not seem to have been changed since then. The kitchen was OK but the fridge was old and deafening, and the bedroom had only half a wall so the fridge had to go off at night - goodbye perishable food. The TV was a small old cathode ray rube TV with the tube so far gone that even the satellite channels were unwatchable (the main channels were understandably poor reception in the mountains). The WiFi kept breaking down, we had been warned it was slow, but it went down completely several times, causing us problems in terms of future planning online, or watching online movies. The communal hot tub was nice but there were no jacuzzi jets working even when we set the timer.

The chalet was also peppered with lots of lectures about what we were not allowed to do. A big sign in the kitchen said we would be fined $25 if we did not wash and dry our dishes. Lots of things were extra charges, including firewood (unless you chop your own), decaf coffee and a DVD player. That felt a bit like leg lifting considering what we paid. There was also a basic maid service for low season so no making the beds or giving us new sheets in 5 days but no price reduction.

The staff were friendly enough and the chalet was fairly cosy and quiet, but considering the premium price paid it felt like we were taken advantage of, especially as better and cheaper chalets were available but unused on the resort, which when staring at the flickering TV and listening to the loud fridge left us fuming. When most activities in resort have shut down, these home comforts become more important.

If you are to pay a premium price, you expect a premium service, so there are much better options on this basis.

Room Tip: Ensure you get one of the new properties on the north east side of the resort, unless you want a riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A very quiet, peaceful stay on the outskirts of Jasper with a view of the river and surrounding mountains. The traditional log cabin was very good but a couple of things could make it even better. The kitchen area could do with an update. The fridge and oven are very dated and as a result the fridge was very loud at all times. We had to switch it off at night. Update these, the taps and the old style TV to flatscreen with DVD included (this should be standard and not extra) and I'd have given it an excellent. WIFI was better than most places in the mountains but don't rely on it. The real fire was a bonus, don't pay for logs go and get your own from the on site woodpile. You may see elk there later on. Hot tub was great although the bubbles weren't working. I'd recommend this place, but it is over priced. I'd return if the things suggested were implemented.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a view of the river or mountains, some chalets are woodland views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have such great memories of Jasper and part of that was staying in a sleeping cabin at Alpine Village! Clean and well groomed property! Professional staff! Nice entrance and cabin where you check in and can gather information about the area...some small grocery needs on site but larger grocery store in town...Just a five minute drive into the main area of Jasper! Cabin was all we needed with two double beds and well stocked with nice bathroom/shower, mini fridge and coffee maker. Loved to sit on the porch in mornings with coffee. Best of all enjoyed the adirondack chairs provided at the river edge. Enjoyed evenings there with some bug spray of course...took a glass of wine and relaxed! The most wonderful outdoor hot tub onsite with views of the mountains as you soak...found that to be most relaxing after a day of hiking...Used it every night before dinner to unwind. Many chances of seeing wildlife around the area...had elks on property, moose and bears in immediate area so never walk alone or without making noise...We dream of going back!

Room Tip: We were a family of three with our 12 year old son...Sleeping cabin was more than adequate for our n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper

Address: Highway 93A North | 2 km south of Downtown Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a beautiful wooded area of the Canadian Rockies, Alpine Village Cabin Resort is ideally situated across from the sparkling Athabasca River in Jasper National Park. 50 rocky mountain style log cabins are spaciously set in a natural pine forest of 11 acres located 2km south of downtown Jasper. Alpine Village Cabin Resort boasts a panoramic view of the Athabasca River with Mount Edith Cavell towering in the background. Ideal for honeymoons, family vacation and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper Hotel Jasper National Park
Alpine Village Jasper National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.