We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outskirts of town, but worth it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marmot Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marmot Lodge to your Saves list
Marmot Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outskirts of town, but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Have stayed here on business numerous times. Some of the rooms are rather dated, but the hotel is currently remodeling, so hopefully you'll get the 'new' rooms. They are a big surprise and well worth it! The staff is always friendly, and the adjacent restaurant very good! The only downside is the location - it is almost the last hotel on the main road, so walking to the town's center is a bit of a hike - though Jasper is quite a small and walkable place. But if it's just for dinner, stay in the hotel restaurant and enjoy the fireplace and the excellent food there.This place never lets me down.

Room Tip: Go for the refurbished units! Well worth t!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    218
    86
    39
    15
See reviews for
107
242
21
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Upon arrival at Marmot Lodge, we were greeted by a friendly reception and checked in quickly. We weren't expecting this to be the best accommodation on our travels (just had a feeling - no particular reason). How wrong were we!!!!

The room (244) was huge and looked newly refurbished. The lounge had a large flat screen tv, sofa, dining table and fire. This then led through to a well equipped kitchen which we weren't expecting then a bedroom with a very comfy king size bed and another large flat screen tv.

We were a honeymoon couple and the hotel had kindly left a card and champers and choccies in our room which was a simple yet effective gesture and gratefully received.

The only downside (if we had to be picky) is the location as it isn't right in the centre so be prepared for a little walk to the restaurants/shops. This however wouldn't put us off from booking this accommodation or recommending it in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Although we had fantastic serivice from the restaurant staff and the facilities were good we were let down at the end by househkeeping as we left a pillow that my wife can't sleep without and were told that it wasn't found. We definitely left it there and it was a very expensive pillow. My advice - stay here but check room thoroughly before you leave. (I wonder if the person who left their camera behind got it back as i saw it hanging off the trolley as i walked past).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We are travelling through The rockies by car we stayed here for 2nights excellent location beautiful rooms I cannot fault this hotel as a honeymoon couple we where given a free up grade and a bottle of champagne in the room very friendly and helpful staff there was a laundry on site and indoor pool/ hot tub which hit the spot after hiking and sightseeing well worth a soak.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here one night in July 2013. We were 2 large families traveling together and had reserved 3 rooms of different types. We arrived late in the evening to find that the 3 rooms were spread very far apart from each other. The staff were extremely helpful relocating us in 2 adjacent rooms of different types than those we had reserved (at a lower price altogether !!!).

The rooms were large and clean with a fully equipped kitchen.

Jasper of course is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Based on previous reviews, we had asked for a newly renovated room and,to be quiet, at the back. We had booked a two double bedded room on the grounds of cost, and had an amazing unit. There was a very large room with queen bed, table and four chairs, good storage space, a fireplace, and full kitchen facilities eg full oven. There was a good and well designed modern bathroom. And finally a smaller bedroom with a king bed, good storage, and a/c. The bed was a little soft for us. Both rooms had big flat screen TVs which worked well.
There was free wi fi on site. Also parking outside the rooms. No elevator to upper floors though.
We ate at and enjoyed dinner at Embers, on site, our first evening - enhanced by the elks roaming by....swiftly chased by the rangers!
Town is a 5 - 10 minute stroll to the start. Attractive laid back feel to town.
We saw a lot of wildlife during our time in Jasper and had magnificent scenery on our drive in via the Icefield Parkway, and departure west on the Yellowhead Trail.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room. And a quiet room at the back if you do not want disturbing by the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stay here on the 28/8/13 we had a swim then the hot tub then went for dinner at 730pm and were still waiting for the main to come out at 840pm the staff totally forgot us. By now my husband was so tied after the 18hour train trip from Vancouver that he paid $28.00 for nothing not happy the room was nice clean .but up two flights of stairs

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmot Lodge

Address: 86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marmot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marmot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmot Hotel Jasper
Marmot Lodge Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmot Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.