We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marmot Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marmot Lodge to your Saves list
Marmot Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Burnham, Essex
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent three nights here and found it clean and comfortable. The first two nights, Wednesday and Thursday, were very quiet, but on Friday the hotel became much busier and we started to experience the usual problem of motel-type accommodation (because that's what it is)- noise from adjacent rooms. As a result, I'm not sure that I would choose this hotel in high season. The restaurant and bar are very good, but, strangely, they were only open morning and evening. The staff, both in the hotel and restaurant/ bar, were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Marmot Lodge is at the end of Town but walking distance as Jasper is only a small village walking up one side and back the other..The Lodge was clean and spacious enough for one or two nights but if you were spending more time would have liked it a little bigger. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was very nice and reasonable price wise. Except for sightseeing in a bus there is not a lot to see in Jasper itself the ski run was closed so cant comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianna742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night with our dog and were impressed. For a great price we got a decent room with nicely renovated touches. Good mattress, new TV, new bathroom-just nice all around. Will definitely be back for the value and quality!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandLifeis4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After driving all day, being totally exhausted and not really knowing Jasper, I stopped at the Marmot Lodge. It was not the restful stay I needed. The room was cramped, hot and stuffy.
I think it's time for this hotel to have some updating or renovating. The room was not any different than the "average" motor inn. The price you pay for a room here must be due to some "past glory" or "location" because it certainly was not for anything special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wej2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine M, Manager at Marmot Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello WEJ2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and my sincerest apologies that your stay was less than adequate. We make every effort to insure all guests enjoy their stay with us. Of our 107 rooms, our recent renovations include standard room washrooms (49 rooms), completed Dec. 2011, all deluxe rooms completely renovated (27 rooms) completed May of 2012, and currently we are completely renovating 14 of our kitchen rooms. We are committed to providing a superior product and hope that you will consider us again when coming through Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you're looking for a clean and comfortable place to crash after skiing this is a great choice. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was quite nice and reasonably clean. The cleaning wasn't great, though, which is the reason for 4 stars instead of 5. Still a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms - the are much nicer than the photos I've seen of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slapshot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Marmot Lodge to get a good night's sleep after a terrible experience at another establishment. We got a great sleep in a very comfortable room. The motel is near the train line but we did not hear the train during the night. Goods beds and good facilities are what a traveller needs and the Marmot provides both of these. the Marmot is walking distance to restaurants. We had the bonus of having the elk grazing outside the motel during our stay. I would stay here again if I am back in Jasper and I certainly hope to be. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Check in was simple and easy. The ground floor room with parking immediately in front of the door make for unpacking of the family vehicle a pleasant experience. The 2 queen bed room was outfitted and i'm guessing recently renovated. The room has a large bathroom with a large shower, flat screen tv, microwave, and a mini fridge. The beds were very comfortable and over all the room was great. We usually stay at the Tonquin Inn, but are on the verge of crossing the parking lot for the Marmot Lodge for our next ski trip.

We did not use the out door hot tub or the pool, but it looked great (and clean).

Some will find the hotel far from amenities but we enjoy the walk with the kids to wear them down before bed!

Room Tip: We were in Room 133 and really enjoyed the ground level and parking directly in front of the room do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkjwoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#9 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#13 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmot Lodge

Address: 86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marmot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, Low Cost Holidays and Priceline so you can book your Marmot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmot Hotel Jasper
Marmot Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing