We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marmot Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marmot Lodge to your Saves list
Marmot Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Burnham, Essex
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent three nights here and found it clean and comfortable. The first two nights, Wednesday and Thursday, were very quiet, but on Friday the hotel became much busier and we started to experience the usual problem of motel-type accommodation (because that's what it is)- noise from adjacent rooms. As a result, I'm not sure that I would choose this hotel in high season. The restaurant and bar are very good, but, strangely, they were only open morning and evening. The staff, both in the hotel and restaurant/ bar, were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    222
    87
    39
    16
See reviews for
111
244
21
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Marmot Lodge is at the end of Town but walking distance as Jasper is only a small village walking up one side and back the other..The Lodge was clean and spacious enough for one or two nights but if you were spending more time would have liked it a little bigger. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was very nice and reasonable price wise. Except for sightseeing in a bus there is not a lot to see in Jasper itself the ski run was closed so cant comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night with our dog and were impressed. For a great price we got a decent room with nicely renovated touches. Good mattress, new TV, new bathroom-just nice all around. Will definitely be back for the value and quality!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After driving all day, being totally exhausted and not really knowing Jasper, I stopped at the Marmot Lodge. It was not the restful stay I needed. The room was cramped, hot and stuffy.
I think it's time for this hotel to have some updating or renovating. The room was not any different than the "average" motor inn. The price you pay for a room here must be due to some "past glory" or "location" because it certainly was not for anything special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine M, Manager at Marmot Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello WEJ2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and my sincerest apologies that your stay was less than adequate. We make every effort to insure all guests enjoy their stay with us. Of our 107 rooms, our recent renovations include standard room washrooms (49 rooms), completed Dec. 2011, all deluxe rooms completely renovated (27 rooms) completed May of 2012, and currently we are completely renovating 14 of our kitchen rooms. We are committed to providing a superior product and hope that you will consider us again when coming through Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you're looking for a clean and comfortable place to crash after skiing this is a great choice. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was quite nice and reasonably clean. The cleaning wasn't great, though, which is the reason for 4 stars instead of 5. Still a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms - the are much nicer than the photos I've seen of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Marmot Lodge to get a good night's sleep after a terrible experience at another establishment. We got a great sleep in a very comfortable room. The motel is near the train line but we did not hear the train during the night. Goods beds and good facilities are what a traveller needs and the Marmot provides both of these. the Marmot is walking distance to restaurants. We had the bonus of having the elk grazing outside the motel during our stay. I would stay here again if I am back in Jasper and I certainly hope to be. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Check in was simple and easy. The ground floor room with parking immediately in front of the door make for unpacking of the family vehicle a pleasant experience. The 2 queen bed room was outfitted and i'm guessing recently renovated. The room has a large bathroom with a large shower, flat screen tv, microwave, and a mini fridge. The beds were very comfortable and over all the room was great. We usually stay at the Tonquin Inn, but are on the verge of crossing the parking lot for the Marmot Lodge for our next ski trip.

We did not use the out door hot tub or the pool, but it looked great (and clean).

Some will find the hotel far from amenities but we enjoy the walk with the kids to wear them down before bed!

Room Tip: We were in Room 133 and really enjoyed the ground level and parking directly in front of the room do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmot Lodge

Address: 86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marmot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marmot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmot Hotel Jasper
Marmot Lodge Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmot Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.