We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marmot Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marmot Lodge to your Saves list
Marmot Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stony Plain, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Looking for business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were east bound from Vancouver heading to Edmonton. When we hit Jasper we thought we might stay for the night rather than drive on in darkness. We called for the last minute specials at a few hotels. Knowing this was the quiet time of year we expected some good results to our search. We called the Fairmont and the best rate for the night was almost 300 dollars! We asked if that was the best they could do and that was it. I thought it peculiar that they would rather have the room sit empty for the night. We then tried the Marmot. It was obvious from the onset they were looking for business. When I told Derek from Poland at the front desk that we were considering staying the night in Jasper if we could get something reasonable, you could see the gears go into motion. Derek hooked us up with a wonderful room with a king bed at better than their regular rate and much lower than the Fairmont. We needent search anymore. Derek wanted rooms filled and understood the opportunity of giving a bargain.
We proceeded to unpack and dropped a 100 bucks in the lounge on dinner and drinks, where we were served by a young fellow from England (sorry but the name escapes me). He and his girlfriend both worked at the hotel. She did painting and he did lounge and restauraunt service.

After that we retired to our room, which included a living room, seperate bedroom, full bathroom, microwave and fridge. In addition there were flat screen T.V's in both the bed room and the living room. The next morning we had the hot tub and pool all to ourselves before we left.
The room was clean, the pool was clean, the staff were great and the attitude for business brought us in the door. Bravo!

Room Tip: The King rooms are recently renovated. They have seprate air conditioning in the bed room and the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine M, Manager at Marmot Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear DaleandAngela
Thank you very much for your kind words towards our staff member Derek.
He takes pride in everything he does and I am very proud to hear how he has gone out of his way to make your stay memorable.
We will certainly be rewarding Derek for a job well done.
Thank you
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    228
    88
    40
    15
See reviews for
113
246
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located about 3 or 4 blocks from the "action" of Jasper townsite, this motel was convenient and decently appointed for our needs. The staff were pleasant and prompt with our small requests. The pool was clean, warm for the kiddies and had a non icky hotel hot tub. We had a kitchenette and a separate room with a double and a single in it plus a fold out which was fantastic for our small family. There was a $15 pet fee which seemed reasonable. Over all, we would come back as this was a clean (except for some shower mold in the caulking) and well appointed hotel in an otherwise expensive town for what you get when it comes to a resort motel.

If I had cons, I would apply it to a few hotels in this town. The word "tired" in terms of decorations and appointments. I have been coming to Jasper since a kid in the mid 80's and other than the flat screen TV, very little in many of the hotels and motels looks as if it has changed much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

spent two nights here recently while on a Rockies tour with Cosmos. Rooms were clean, comfortable beds, great bathroom. Free internet, handy restaurant on site. Laundry facilities, Swimming pool. Bit far from town - okay if the weather is fine

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a living room, a large bedroom,bath and full kitchen. The view from the hotel was pretty and it was quiet.It was very clean. The restaurant, Embers had an excellent breakfast buffet. There were many international staff at the restaurant and hotel most of whom were pleasant. We were with Rocky Mountaineer and the initial desk staff gave incorrect information about when our bus would depart.They seemed aloof and insulting about exchange rates. There was no A/C in our rooms, but there were fans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This lodge is situated as you come into the town of jasper, it is a long walk to the center of the town. Our room was newly renovated and it showed. The bathroom has a large shower (no bath tub) and is bright and clean. There is a 40-inch flat screen tv, microwave and mini fridge. Two queen sized beds and two comfy chairs and small round table. The beds were very comfortable. We only stayed one night but you could be very happy staying here for many nights. We didn't go to the pool/hot tub and did not eat at the restaurant that was on site. My only disappointment was that we didn't stay more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night on rockies tour. Does not look much but its ok. The room had everything you wanted it was clean and well equipped. The bathroom had just been refurbished and looked good.
Next door is a restaurant called Embers, where i had the best steak for many years, we also used it for breakfast the next morning.
Only fault i found was that it was quite a walk into town, but do not let that deter you its worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is a little walk from the railway station and shops but convenient to all. If travelling by train you may need a taxi depending on how much luggage you have.
We had a room at the back of the hotel upstairs away from the pool, ice machine and drinks dispenser! It was well equipped with a fridge and microwave with tea/coffee making facilities. We had two comfy double beds, two comfy chairs and a small verandah with table and chairs. Shower was excellent and plenty of toiletries .
The walk along the main strip into town to the shops and eateries is lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel, upstairs away from drinks and ice dispensers. Apparently the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmot Lodge

Address: 86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Jasper
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marmot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Marmot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmot Hotel Jasper
Marmot Lodge Jasper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmot Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.