We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of the Triple Crown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Part of the Triple Crown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

Just returned from a week in the Canadian Rockies and stayed at all three Fairmont properties. Let's get the obvious issue out of the way first: yes, they are ridiculously priced. If one is going to dwell on price, may I suggest that you stay elsewhere or camp. The reason to stay at these properties is for their historic value and unrivaled locations. That said, this is probably the least spectacular of the properties. Don't book a room online. Speak to someone who can explain the differences between the rooms, their setting and cost. Our party booked rooms at two different price levels (a 50% difference). Both were comfortable and clean. The pricier rooms were larger with a small sitting area and closer to the lake (but with no view). The units are spread out (no high rises here). You may not find parking near your room, but at least they don't hit you for a $30 a day parking fee(as in Lake Louise and Banff). We drove around and around looking for the room and parking, only to realize afterwards that we were but a two minute walk from the main lodge. There is no air conditioning here, and on a hot day the rooms can heat up. But who is going to spend the day in their room in Jasper? At night, we slept comfortably with the windows open. An important tip here: join the Fairmont President's club. It costs nothing to join and you will not have to go check in. Your key and a map will be waiting for you curbside as you drive up to the main lodge. Staff was mostly helpful and friendly, with the noticeable exception of one server at breakfast who appeared uninterested and overwhelmed when we ordered breakfast a la carte instead of partaking in the buffet. At $25 a head, the buffet is a waste unless you are a big eater. It was actually cheaper to order coffee, bacon and eggs and toast a la carte - assuming you are willing to wait to get get it. Dinner was expensive, but actually quite good. The menus here hightlight items that are "organic, local and sustainable." The venison was excellent and the tenderest I have ever eaten, albeit not very gamey. The BC salmon was also well prepared. All the Fairmont properties seemed to try hard to offer healthy meals - a pleasant surprise. One complaint: the concierge had no clue what restaurants were available at their Lake Louise property. In any event, there is a dining reservation desk with more knowledgeable personnel, so no real harm done. Overall, the cosiest of the three properties.

  • Liked — Cosy lodgelike feeling
  • Disliked — Overpriced (but you know that in advance)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    487
    432
    315
    164
See reviews for
544
969
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

We had a group of 20 (all family) and stayed at Milligan Manor. It is a beautiful home on the golf course with 8 bedrooms - 4 on each wing. Six rooms have kings, and 2 have 2 doubles. Rooms were large and comfortable. Beds were awesome! Small kitchen with a refigerator to store drinks, etc. We had the catering department prepare dinner the first night at the house, and it was top notch! Lots to do for the kids. Recommend renting bikes for the entire stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good food.

Fortunately for us, the guests before us purchased portable air conditioners for each room! Made it very comfortable.

Beautiful place and very accommodating for our large crowd, though there was more than one mix up on reserved activities. Double check all plans made through concierge just in case.

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings
  • Disliked — Remote location (long trip)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

What a lovely place this is. On our very short list of places we would return to. I would call it a cross between a National Park Lodge and a top of the line resort. The combination of low-key with elegant finish perfectly fit the bill for us. Completely unlike the high rise Fairmonts in Banff (think "The Shining") or Lake Louise (think Bellagio - Las Vegas - crossed with San Quentin). The Jasper property is a perfect place to relax and worth every penny. The one drawback is the service which suffers from the same amateurishness that plagues most summer resorts with a need for large numbers of temp employees.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,Alberta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at JPL on business. This was the third year in a row and most likely the last. The beds in the Fairmont rooms are extremely hard and uncomfortable. To eat your meals there is also very expensive; never mind the accommodation. The scenery, of course, is outstanding with the mountains, lakes and wildlife right close by. Time to try somewhere else in Jasper.

  • Liked — Beautiful scenery
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Transferred to our Fairmont Room (standard room) by golf cart - standard for all guests! The Fairmont JPL is set in fantastic grounds, very well maintained. When arriving at out room we were greeted with a double bed, when we had asked for two separate beds (mother and 17 year old son!). Luckily, we were then upgraded to a Deluxe Room with Sitting Area (with two double beds!). This had a lake view (superb) and had recently been refurbished, with a brand new bathroom suite. On the first night we sampled in-room dining, which could not have been more exquisite. Yes, it's expensive - but then that's the Fairmont brand. Based on our experience, you truly get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Room, View, Location, Quality
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

We booked this hotel with some trepidation after reading the reviews. However, we got a good last-minute rate and decided to take a risk for one night. We were quite pleasantly surprised. Check-in was a breeze - we are Fairmont club members, and were met at the curb by a friendly bellman who checked us in. We were upgraded to a lakefront suite - a pleasant surprise as we had not booked one. The room had a very comfortable King bed and the bathroom had been recently renovated. There was a small adjoining wood-panelled sitting room which afforded a wonderful view of the water. We had drinks on the patio - overpriced but romantic. We did not eat in the restaurant. Be warned that, like most hotels in the area, there is no a/c - it can get hot in the middle of summer, but cools down at night. I would recommend this property if you can get a decent rate.

  • Liked — grounds,location
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

I just returned from a 2 night stay in a Lakefront Suite and it was the most over-priced hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world. 900 dollars a night did not include breakfast or golf or even the use of a canoe. The setting is lovely (simliar to Banff and Canmore though) but the hotel itself is very average. On the first evening we ate in the Emerald lounge where the service was extremely slow (1 hour for food) and in the Meadows restaurant on the second night where both the food and service were mixed at best. The 900 dollar room was small and had no separate bedroom - shutters around the bed provide little privacy. No aircon.

Overall the Jasper Park Lodge is a very average hotel with tired accomodation and struggling staff. Its name and location keep it fully booked but you would be much better off spending some money at the Rimrock or Springs in Banff and then staying somewhere cheaper in Jasper.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.