We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SKI FOR FREE
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bracknell
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

For two middle-aged women who needed a break, a three day stay here was the perfect answer. We managed three trips but here were so many activities we could have taken part in and many other things for younger people to do. The sort of place that a regular stay of 3 - 4 days would amply reward. Different things for different moods, different ages and/or seasons of the year. The massage facility alone was worth the stay. Those views!! As a frequent visitor to Canada I saw more wild life in the three days here than I'd seen in all my previous trips. The meal at the Moose's Nook was superb and the room-delivered food was of equal high quality. I can definitely envisage another visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    457
    406
    307
    155
See reviews for
505
909
41
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
saskatchewan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Beautiful mountain setting and friendly staff. Very over-priced ($8 for a mini bag of chips and can of pop...really??). NO AIR CONDITIONING...hot in the room all night - even with the windows open - which also meant people could see you sleep, not that I did - too hot!! Parking not remotely close to room. Grounds were not well maintained - goose poop all over sidewalks and lots of weeds in the flower beds. If you want to prove that you are so rich you don't mind spending a fortune simply for a view, this is the place for you. For $300 /night I was hoping for a little luxury. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Though we usually stay at bed and breakfasts, small inns or small hotels we decided that while we were in the Canadian Rockies we would splurge and go for the best views. And so we did! Jasper Park Lodge s located right on a beautiful lake with a view of the surrounding mountains. It is a very peaceful location. The British Royal Family stays here when in the area. Most of the accommodations are in cabins/chalets spread throughout the property. Price is influenced by how close to the lake it is. We stayed in the main building, in one of the older rooms, but it had a beautiful lake view and a large balcony with table and chairs. The room itself was a typical hotel room, clean, not overly large, a little dated but very adequate and gave us a great view without totally breaking the travel budget. There is a shuttle to town ($5.00 per person each way) but it doesn't run late enough in the evening to be useful for dinner. Taxis are expensive so we ate at the hotel the two nights we were there. Prices at the hotel restaurants are very high but we found that the pub had reasonably priced food and a decent selection of items plus nightly specials. You begin to accept the fact that $15.00 plus for a burger and fries is reasonable!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This place is nice and located right in the middle of Jasper National Park, so location is what is going for it. On a beautiful lake, Lake Beauvert which is breathtaking. Has a nice pool and hot tub and nice restaurants. Reminds me of the resort in Dirty Dancing (the movie). The grounds are impeccable albeit spread out. Lots of elk on site in the evenings. It is away from everything else in Jasper so you'll need a car if you are staying here. The negatives....rooms are small, lots of bugs (remember you are actually in the forest) and NO AIR CONDITIONING. Plus some of the rooms can be a 10 min walk away from the main reception. If you are going to spend a week here, I guess it's Ok but we were just there for one night (and got a great rate of $139 per night) and would probably have been better off at the Sawridge, all rooms have a/c and it's right near the main street. The other problem is there is not enough parking for the number of cabins they have which is a real pain when you've got all this luggage and cannot park near your cabin which is 10 min away from the front desk!!! Overall, cute little place but would not stay there again. To me A/C is important when it is 30C outside and you're on vacation with your little ones! BTW, if you go to Jasper make sure you eat at the Jasper Pizzeria, it is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed at the JPL for four days during July and had a very nice experience. The property is beautiful, with MANY activity options both on-site or in the very immediate area. In the relatively short time we were there, we did alot of hiking, golf, canoeing, whitewater rafting, fishing, sightseeing, saw lots of wildlife, and had some nice meals both at the JPL and in town. The staff was very responsive and friendly. I will say that the JPL seems like it's probably due for some updating. Only noticed minor things due to normal wear and tear, like tiles missing in the pool, etc., but it felt abit more "used" than you would normally expect at this price range. That said, our accomodations (we had a Junior Suite) were comfortable and clean (though my wife thought the bathroom was too small). Definitely a good place to stay with kids, though we also very much enjoyed just sitting quietly by the lake and relaxing in the evening. The JPL had offered us a nice package, which included free breakfasts (which were wonderful and actually obviated the need for lunch on most days as well), free upgrade to the suite and we received one night free, so that made the total cost more or less in line with what I would expect to pay. Had we paid normal price, I would have given it lower marks for value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We arrived in Jasper after a wonderful stay at the Fairmont in Lake Louise. We could not have been more disappointed when we opened the door to our room at the Farimont Jasper Lodge. As described by many others, the rooms at the property are worn, tired and need of updating. It was recommended that we stay in the lodge itself - not the cabins. Unfortunately, they did not have our request in the reservation and did not have a room for us in the lodge. After much complaining, we were moved to a lodge room the second night. The cabins are certainly not worth the price. The property itself is beautiful and we were glad we made the trip to Jasper. The side trips to the glaciers and lakes were outstanding. Hope the Fairmont gets the message and updates the property!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

If $360 per night is chump change for you, by all means stay at Jasper Park Lodge.

We stayed in Room 305 and had a fantastic view of .........Room 205. Similar to a lot of other reviews we found the room (and especially the bathroom) unbearably small and in real need of updating. And then there was the man hole for the sewer that is positioned under the window.....close your eyes and tell yourself that you're in the outdoors now.

I understand that the hotel is going for the whole "quaint cottage in the woods feel", I get that. But I think that they have really taken advantage of the word "rustic". Rustic does not mean that you have worn blue carpet from the 70's with a mismatch of furniture and a bathroom that looks like a DIY (while I was on the toilet pondering life I could not grasp what had happened to cause a massive bulge in the wall and how on earth the tiles managed to cling on to it despite the curve.....if anyone stays in the same room, please let me know what your thoughts are).

The big questions is, am I a Fairmont snob with unreasonable expectations? I have thought about this long and hard as I have stayed at a lot of Fairmont properties over the years.

I think that if you are a Fairmont President's Club member, you have been through Jasper before and you are not staying in one of their specialised Cabins you will be disappointed. However, if you are on a bus tour that started at a Super8 Motel in Edmonton with 50 other tourists, you have never been to the Rockies and are paying under $200 per night ..............well, you are going to LOVE this place!

In all seriousness it really does depend on your background and what you end up paying on this one. It is in a fantastic location and beats all other hotels in town for that reason. However, check out the other lodge type accommodations before you book this one. Pyramid Lake Resort has an outstanding view, very reasonable cabins and an outstanding restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.